Welcome to the website of the Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation, an agency within the Department of Professional and Financial Regulation. We appreciate your visit to our homepage and we look forward to assisting you.
IMPORTANT NOTICE: Staff of the Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation is temporarily displaced while the building located at 76 Northern Avenue in Gardiner, Maine is closed for remediation work. During this temporary displacement, only limited staff will be located at 221 State Street in Augusta, Maine so the best way to contact us to resolve your complaints, answer your questions, and continue to deliver high-quality services to consumers and our licensees is by email or by phone or though our online services.
Thank you, and we look forward to hearing from you.
You may follow this link to the Secretary of State's office to view a list of board members. Members of the public should not contact board members with questions or comments. All questions, comments or any other board-related matters must be directed to the Board’s administrator. (Catherine.Pendergast@maine.gov 207-624-8518)
The Maine Board of Real Estate Appraisers was established to protect the public through examination and licensure of persons who wish to conduct real estate appraisals for a fee in the State of Maine as mandated by the federal Financial Institutions Reform, Recovery, and Enforcement Act of 1989.
The primary responsibilities of the Board are to identify qualified applicants for licensure, to issue licenses and renewals to applicants who have met licensure requirements and to promulgate rules as necessary to ensure protection of the public to enforce the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP).
What Consumers Should Know About the Appraisal Process
and Filing a Complaint (PDF)
USPAP Extension (PDF)
Fingerprints are required for any NEW license applications submitted such as applications for Registered Appraiser Trainees, or upgrade applications for Licensed Residential Real Property Appraisers, Certified Residential Real Property Appraisers or Certified General Real Property Appraisers.
Fingerprints are required for any NEW license applications submitted via reciprocity.
Fingerprints are NOT required for Temporary License applicants or license renewals.
Future correspondence from the Board of Real Estate Appraisers will be sent to you by email, so please be sure to keep your contact information current. Follow this link to verify your contact information.
License Renewal Reminder - Have You Completed Your CE?
All Maine Licensed Residential, Certified Residential and Certified General Appraiser licenses will expire on December 31, 2023. Licenses may be renewed up to 60 days prior to expiration; a courtesy renewal reminder will be sent by email on November 1st. As part of the renewal process licensees are required to certify whether or not they have completed 14 hours of approved continuing education during the 2023 licensing term at the time of renewal. Since 2023 is an ODD year renewal, you are NOT required to take the 7 hour USPAP Update Course as part of the 14 hours required to renew a license.
To be in compliance the 2023 renewal requirement, you must have completed the education requirements when you submit your renewal; not that you intend to complete it before the expiration date or any other time after submission of the renewal. Take a moment now to check that you have documentation to verify your continuing education before you renew. If you find you are lacking education hours, you still have time to complete the requirement with any AQB approved or Board approved program.
Additional appraiser continuing education requirement information (PDF)
Link to AQB Approved Courses (Also Approved by the Board)
Maine Board of Real Estate Appraisers Continuing Education Program Approval Application (PDF)
Individual Request for Continuing Education Credit (PDF)
Office of Professional and Financial Regulation - Policy on Veterans Preference - Adopted February 2017 (PDF)
Interested in receiving informational notices and updates from
the Board of Real Estate Appraisers? Simply insert your email address
in the box provided on the top, left side of this webpage to subscribe!
Notice to Review Appraisers
Maine is a mandatory state. If you are reviewing an appraisal of a property located in Maine and "opining" a value conclusion, you need a Maine license.
Notice of Agency Rulemaking - Chapter 220: Educational Course Requirements and Chapter 230: Supervising Appraiser Duties effective September 18, 2022 (PDF)
10 day notification of convictions, discipline, & material changes
The Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria effective January 1, 2022(PDF)
The 2020-2021 Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice
is now available. Click here to order through the Appraisal Foundation.