You can now apply online! or follow the instructions below.
Before you can become licensed in the state of Maine to practice optometry, you must meet the requirements to take the Maine State Board of Optometry examination. The exam is conducted four times a year, in February, May, August, November and by appointment.
The Application (DOC) and all supporting information, including your National Board of Examiners in Optometry official scores, must be received by the Board at least thirty (30) days prior to the examination date. No applications will be considered unless accompanied by all transcripts, supporting information, and the $300.00 application fee. See Instructions for Filing Application.
The Board recognizes and accepts the value of the National Board of Examiners in Optometry (NBEO) examination and requires that all applicants for the Maine State Board of Optometry examination must have passed all three Parts of the NBEO examination, including all sections of the Treatment and Management of Ocular Diseases (TMOD) examination.
Approved schools of optometry shall be those schools approved the American Optometric Association Council on Optometric Education.
If you need assistance or have questions, you may contact us at (207)624-8691 or email.
Please note: According to Maine Law, when you pass the exam, you are given an active license if you practice in Maine, a non-active license if you do not. Within three years, the non-active license can be converted to an active license upon request, if you are practicing in Maine. After that time, you will have to retake the exam in order to obtain an active license again.
Instructions For Filing Applications For Examination
You may apply online, or follow the instructions below.
Applicant must be a graduate of a school of optometry approved by the Maine Board of Optometry.
Application with all supporting information must be filed with the Maine Board of Optometry at least thirty days prior to the examination date.
Exams are held four times a year, in February, May, August, November and by appointment. The exam may include any aspect of the practice of optometry and the Maine Law. Applicants will have 30 minutes to complete the exam.
The non-refundable $300.00 examination fee must accompany application.
Application shall be typed or neatly printed, except for signatures. All items must be completed.
The following checklist may be helpful:
- Application form completed, signed, and notarized.
- Check for $300.00 payable to the Maine Board of Optometry.
- Transcript of undergraduate college.
- Transcript of optometry school.
- Transcript of National Board Examination, Parts I, II, III, and TMOD. You must authorize the National Board of Examiners to send these records to the Maine Board of Optometry.
- Applicants who graduated from an approved school of optometry before October, 1996 must have completed the following on or after October 1, 1996:
- The "Lancaster Course" or a Board-approved equivalent course of at least 25 hours devoted primarily to the study of pharmacology and glaucoma;
- 3 didactic hours of a Board-approved course in pharmacology dealing solely with antiglaucoma agents; and
- Passing the TMOD component of the National Board of Examiners in Optometry examination on or after July 1, 1991.
Receipt of completed application will be acknowledged. Persons with incomplete applications will be notified, in writing, along with requirements necessary for completion of the application.
If you do not receive acknowledgment within 30 days of the examination date, please contact Tina Carpentier, Board Secretary, at the Maine Board of Optometry, 113 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333-0113, Tel: (207)624-8691 Fax: (207)624-8692, or via email: Tina Carpentier