Electricians' Examining Board - Master Electrician, Senior Master Electrician (over 70 years of age)

A Master Electrician is a qualified individual engaging in, or about to engage in, the business of installing electrical wires, conduits, apparatus, fixtures and other electrical equipment.

How to apply


  • License fee of $150.00 for Master Electrician, $20.00 for Senior Master Electrician (over age 70)
  • SBI Report fee of $21.00


  • Two years from date of first licensure

Apply Now


Online applications for examination and reciprocity are now available. To apply online, click here


  • Examination - Complete at least 4,000 hours of service as a journeyman electrician or at least 12,000 hours of experience in electrical installations, as defined in section 1101, and complete a program of study comprising 576 hours consisting of 45 hour courses each in Electricity I, Electricity II, Electronics I, Math I, Controls I, Controls II, Motors, Blueprint Reading/Drafting, Transformers and a current National Electrical Code course and 126 hours of degree-related courses as approved by the Electricians' Examining Board or from an accredited institution .
  • Reciprocity - The Electricians' Examining Board shall issue a license to any person who files a sworn application, is licensed by another state or territory of the United States that has a reciprocity agreement with the State of Maine, who has passed a written examination from the reciprocating state and is actively engaged in work as an electrician for a minimum of six years. The State of Maine presently has reciprocity agreements with New Hampshire and Vermont.

Renewal fees and information


  • Biennial renewal fee of $150.00 for Master Electrician
  • $20.00 for Senior Master Electrician (over age 70)


  • Two years based on first licensure date

Renew Now

The Department must verify that you have met all the conditions for renewal before your license is renewed. Online submission of your renewal application should not be construed as automatic renewal of your license.


  • Continuing Education - 15 Hour current National Electrical Code course as adopted by the board. The current National Electrical Code update schedule (PDF) is based on an assumed 3 year code cyle and subject to actual publication dates by the National Electrical Code.
  • A late fee of $50.00 is assessed for licenses renewed up to 90 days after the license expiration date.
  • Any person who submits an application for renewal more than 90 days after the expiration date but not more than 2 years may reinstate by paying the $150 license fee and $100 penalty fee.