Trainee real property appraiser means a person licensed by the Department of Professional and Financial Regulation to appraise under the direct supervision of a certified residential real property appraiser or certified general real property appraiser those properties that the supervising appraiser is permitted to appraise.
How to apply
- Application fee: $30.00
- License fee: $380.00
- Annual on date of original license.
- Within the 5 years immediately preceding application for the trainee license, complete a cumulative total of 75 hours of appraiser specific education (PDF) that has been approved by the AQB; AND
- Have completed an AQB approved Supervisory Appraiser/ Trainee Appraiser Course; AND
- Have made arrangements to work under the direct supervision of a certified residential real property appraiser or certified general real property appraiser who meets the qualifications for supervisor.
NONRESIDENT APPLICANTS AND APPLICANTS WHO HOLD A LICENSE IN ANOTHER STATE
- An applicant who is licensed in another state may obtain a license by:
- filing a complete application
- paying the required fees
- submitting a verification of licensure from another jurisdiction
- submitting verification of a supervisor who is licensed in Maine.
- Annual renewal fee is $380.00
- This license renews on the anniversary date of the original license.
- Fill out the online renewal application and submit.
The Department must verify that you have met all the conditions for renewal before your license is renewed. Online submission of your renewal application should not be construed as automatic renewal of your license.
- A late fee of $50.00 is assessed for licenses renewed after the license expiration date.
- An applicant who submits an application for renewal more than 90 days after the license expiration date is subject to all requirements governing new applicants and is required to reapply with original license application, documentation and fees.
- Renewal reminders are emailed to the email address on file at least 30 days prior to the license expiration date. It is the licensee's responsibility to keep the Board informed of current contact information and to see that the license is renewed absent the renewal application. Reminder includes licensee’s access code which, along with license number, is required for online renewal.
- Continuing Education: 14 hours of Appraiser Qualifications Board approved continuing education is required for renewal which must be completed within the current license term. The 7-hour Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP) must be completed in the even year as part of the 14-hour requirement.
A nonresident who is licensed in another jurisdiction may be issued a temporary license to perform appraisals in this state providing the applicant has met the qualifications for the license prescribed by law. A temporary license authorizes the holder to perform the appraisal of real estate or real property in this State as required by a contract for services.
How to apply
- Application fee: $ 30.00
- License fee: $ 90.00
- Duration of project or 6 months, whichever comes first.
- Completed application to include:
- Copy of the contract for services to be performed in Maine which must include address of property to be appraised and contracted completion date.
PLEASE NOTE: Licensure will be verified on the National Appraiser Registry web site
- This license is issued for 6 months and is not renewable, however, the license may be extended for 6 months from the expiration of the original license upon request of the license holder and as necessary to fulfill the terms of the contract for appraisal services.