Training Materials
Training Video
To download, start video, right click, then click "save video as", choose the location on your computer you would like to save the video and the click "save".
Municipal and Agent Services
The Team

WENDY GILPATRIC

KATINA CASSIDY
Electronic Lien Titling
Maine's Electronic Lien Titling (ELT) Program allows BMV and lenders to exchange lien and title information electronically through a third-party service provider. This means participating lenders will receive an electronic title record in lieu of a paper certificate of title. After a lender releases a lien electronically, BMV will print a paper title and mail it to the vehicle's owner.
Lender participation in this program is optional.
Click below to find more information for:
Title Fees
| Fee | Service |
|---|---|
| $100.00 | Application for Certificate of Title for a tiny home |
| $100.00 | Application for Certificate of Title for manufactured housing |
| $40.00 | Application for warranty title for antique auto, antique motorcycle, horseless carriage, or classic vehicle |
| $33.00 | An assignment of a Vehicle Identification Number ( |
Death of an Owner
Once a vehicle owner has passed away, the process for transferring the car title of the deceased person varies. Answer the following question(s) to find the correct process for your situation.
If you are a Maine resident:
Types of Title Certificates
Certificate of Title
Further details, definitions, and laws can be found here:
Frequently Asked Questions - Titles
- Are Title Applications (MVT-2) online?
- No, the MVT-2 is a carbon copy form and can only be found at your local BMV Branch, Town Hall or Municipal office.
- I just received my title from my bank, with a letter to contact my BMV to get a clean title. What do I need to do?
- Nothing.
