River Flow Advisory Commission

The Maine River Flow Advisory Commission is composed of representatives from eight major river basin management operations, seven state agencies, two federal agencies and the University of Maine.

The Commission was originally formed after the spring floods of 1983 to improve the exchange of hydrologic information collected by the members, to review the data, and to provide information to emergency action agencies and the public. It was created in statute by the Legislature in 1997.

Current Year



Title Date pdf rtf other
River Flow Advisory Commission Report March 3, 2023 10571790-RFAC 2023 Report




No meetings scheduled at this time









River Flow Advisory Commission Membership

RFAC Membership is dictated by the terms of Maine statute:

Current membership includes:

  • USGS, New England Water Science Center, Maine Office (co-chair)
  • Maine Emergency Management Agency (co-chair)
  • Department of Environmental Protection
  • Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry: Maine Geological Survey
  • Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry: Maine Floodplain Management Program
  • Department of Marine Resources
  • Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife
  • Department of Health and Human Services
  • A member of the public
  • Representatives from private commerce and industry, including, but not limited to, the major hydroelectric power generators
    • Brookfield Renewable Energy
    • Domtar, Inc.
    • Sappi, Ltd.
  • National Weather Service Forecast Office, Caribou
  • National Weather Service Forecast Office, Gray
  • Senator George Mitchell Center for Sustainability Solutions