Welcome to Public Preschool in Maine. In Maine, it is a local decision for School Administrative Units (SAUs) to develop and implement a public preschool program (also called a public Pre-K). Children must be 4 years old on or before October 15th of the school year to be eligible for enrollment. Currently, public Pre-K in Maine is not universally available for all 4-year-olds. The Early Learning Team here at the Maine Department of Education is happy to offer the following support and information to SAUs who currently house public pre-k programs and to those who are looking to implement a program.
Public Preschool Resources
- Chapter 124: Basic Approval Standards for Public Preschool – the governing document for public preschool programming statute
- Pre-K Guidebook: A guide to high-quality publicly funded preschool in Maine
- Pre-K Program Self-Assessment Tool: A continuous quality improvement tool to assess publicly funded preschool programs
Public Pre-K Annual Survey: Please click here to complete the annual SAU public pre-k data survey
Establishing a Program
Start here with information and resources to support the implementation of new and expanding public pre-k programs and community partnerships.
Curriculum & Instruction
Review and compare evidence-based curricula that are designed to serve preschool-age children.
Resources for formal assessment tools that are aligned to the Maine Early Learning & Development Standards
Technical Assistance Program
Find information on our tri-annual and ongoing technical assistance program for public pre-k programs.
Maine Early Learning & Development Standards (MELDS)
Find information about our state's early learning development continuum.
Public Pre-K Consultant
Office of Innovation