No matter where you work across Maine state government, you find employees who embody our state motto—"Dirigo" or "I lead"—as they provide essential services to Mainers every day. We believe in supporting our workforce's health and wellbeing with a valuable total compensation package, including:

Work-Life Balance

Rest is essential; take time for yourself!

  • 13 Paid Holidays
  • 12 Days of Sick Leave (accrue 96 hrs. per year)
  • 3+ Weeks of Vacation Leave

Vacation leave accrual increases with years of service, and overtime-exempt employees receive personal leave.

Health Insurance Coverage

The State of Maine pays 85%-100% of employee-only premiums ($9,893.52-$11,057.52 annual value), depending on salary. Use this chart to find the premium costs for you and your family, including the percentage of dependent coverage paid by the State

Health Insurance Premium Credit

Participation decreases employee-only premiums by 5%. Visit the Office of Employee Health and Wellness for more information about program requirements.

Dental Insurance

The State of Maine pays 100% of employee-only dental premiums ($350.40 annual value).

Retirement Plan

The State of Maine contributes 14.53% to 19.63% of pay to the Maine Public Employees Retirement System (MainePERS), on behalf of the employee, dependent upon Position and Bargaining Unit.

Gym Membership Reimbursement

Improve overall health with regular exercise and receive up to $40 per month to offset this expense.

Health and Dependent Care Flexible Spending Accounts

Set aside money pre-tax to help pay for out-of-pocket health care expenses and/or daycare expenses.

Public Service Student Loan Forgiveness

The State of Maine is a qualified employer for this federal program. Visit the Federal Student Aid office for more information.

Living Resources Program

Navigate challenging work and life situations with our Employee Assistance Program.

Parental Leave

Parental leave is one of the most important benefits for any working parent. All employees who are welcoming a child—including fathers and adoptive parents—receive four weeks of fully paid parental leave. Additional, unpaid leave may also be available, under the Family and Medical Leave Act

Voluntary Deferred Compensation

Save additional pre-tax funds for retirement in a MaineSaves 457(b) account through payroll deductions.

For More Information

Learn about additional wellness benefits for State employees from the Office of Employee Health and Wellness.