For more information, visit our section for Portable Electronic Device Vendors.
How do we print our license?
The current process is for us to email a copy of the initial license to the primary/business email address provided at the time of application. The email will generally be sent within 24-72 hours after license approval and will come from email@example.com.
Duplicate licenses can be downloaded or emailed by visiting https://licensing.web.maine.gov/cgi-bin/online/licensing/begin.pl?board_number=1040. You will need your Maine license number and Access Code.
Renewals can be processed via the ALMS Online service on our website at https://licensing.web.maine.gov/cgi-bin/online/licensing/begin.pl?board_number=1040. If you prefer to renew manually, please wait to receive your renewal invoice via email and follow the instructions on the invoice. Invoices are emailed 90 days prior to the renewal due date. Licenses cannot be renewed more than 90 days prior to the renewal dates. Renewal Dates and Fees can e found here.
Address/Contact information can be changed 1 of 2 ways from our website here.
- Electronically via ALMS Online with an access code. This will change your information for Maine only.
- Via paper form which can be faxed, emailed or mailed. This will change your information for Maine only.
Access Codes are printed on the license for all new licenses. If you do not have your access code, please submit your request via email at firstname.lastname@example.org or call 207-624-8475 and request Producer Licensing.
Applications can be submitted by paper only and can be found on our website here. Once completed, you may submit by email, fax or regular mail.
The initial license fee for both resident and non-resident portable electronic device vendors is $1,000.
Must each individual working on behalf of the portable electronic device vendor hold an individual producer license?
No. At the time of application, you must provide information for a Responsible Contact person who is the owner and/or employee of the vendor.
There is no fee -UNLESS you want a new license printed- the fee is then $10. If, however, there is a change to the FEIN, it is considered a new entity and you must go through the application process.
Only if more than 50% of its revenue is derived from the sale of portable electronic device insurance. If so, please provide in writing the Name, Title and Address of each officer/partner/director with 10% or more interest or voting interest.
No, however you must provide us with a complete listing of all physical locations in Maine where coverage will be offered. To update the locations associated with the license, please complete an Update Authorized Locations Form (PDF).
At every location where portable electronic device insurance is offered to customers, brochures or other written materials must be made available to a prospective customer. Please review M.R.S. 24-A §7003 for specific requirements: http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/24-A/title24-Asec7003.html
"Supervising entity" means a business entity that is a licensed insurance producer or insurer. The insurer issuing the PED insurance must either directly supervise or appoint a supervising entity to supervise the administration of the sale of insurance, including development of a training program for employees and authorized representatives of the PED vendor.
To designate a new supervising entity, the insurer should complete a Change of Supervising Entity form (PDF).
The responsible person is an employee or officer of the vendor who is designated by the vendor as the person responsible for the vendor's compliance with Maine's insurance laws and rules.
To change the responsible person or the current responsible person's contact information, complete a Responsible Person Change form (PDF).