ESEA Federal Programs



The Maine Department of Education (DOE) is responsible for the oversight and monitoring of programs and activities carried out under the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA), as amended by Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA).

The Maine DOE has adopted a consolidated approach to the ESEA federal funding application and performance report The consolidated approach allows ESEA Federal Programs to ensure required compliance with federal laws, support the effective implementation of local programs and provide regional support. Districts submit an annual application for ESEA funds, which is reviewed by the regional ESEA Program Manager. The following programs are included within the Maine DOE’s consolidated ESEA program application and monitoring systems: Title IA, Title IC, Title ID, Title II, Title III, Title IV, and Title V.


The mission of the ESEA Federal Programs Team is to ensure that ESEA Federal Programs in Maine provide all children significant opportunity to receive a fair, equitable, and high-quality education and close educational achievement gaps.


The ESSA Advisory Committee advises the Maine DOE is carrying out its responsibilities under Every Student Succeeds Act of 2015. It operates to identify issues across regions of the state and facilitate two-way communication between Maine DOE and the preK-12 education community throughout Maine. 

ESSA Advisory Members

Contact Information

Cheryl Lang

ESEA Federal Programs Director

Phone: 207-441-8059

Email Cheryl

Jessica Caron

Title I Program Coordinator
Aroostook & Kennebec

Phone: 207-458-0334

Email Jessica

Rita Pello

Title I Program Coordinator
Hancock & York 

Phone: 207-530-6469

Email Rita

Ryan Reed

Title II Program Coordinator
Midcoast & Washington

Phone: 207-530-2129

Email Ryan

Travis Doughty

Title IV Program Coordinator
Penquis Region

Phone: 207-624-6709

Email Travis

Daniel Weeks

Title III & Title V Program Coordinator 
Cumberland & Western

Phone: 207-816-2163

Email Daniel

Tyra Corson

Management Analyst II


Email Tyra 

Renee Reilly

School Improvement Coordinator


Email Renee