Maine's History Teacher of the Year

The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History, Preserve America and the History Channel annually recognize outstanding American history teachers at the state and national levels. Nominees may be any full-time educator of grades K-12 who teaches American history (as a separate subject or through social studies, reading, language arts and other subjects). State winners receive a $1,000 prize and an archive of classroom resources. One national winner receives a $10,000 prize. More information can be found at the Gilder Lehrman National History Teacher of the Year home page.

Previous Maine winners include:

2023: Ethan Brownell, Maine Central Institute

2022: Geoffrey Wingard, Bangor High School, Bangor

2021: Michelle Strattard, Gray-New Gloucester High School, Gray

2020: Sarah Bailey, South Portland High School, South Portland

2019: Shana Goodall, Orono High School, Orono

2018: Kate Kennedy, James F. Doughty School, Bangor

2017: Karen Doughty, Hall-Dale High School, Farmingdale

2016: Shane Gower, Maranacook Community High School, Readfield

2015: Cynthia Broyer, New Suncook Elementary School, Lovell

2014: Janice Eldridge, Noble High School, North Berwick

2013: Janet Ventrella, Livermore Elementary School, Livermore

2012: Marsha Newick, Frank Harrison Middle School, Yarmouth

2011: Jayne Perkins, Eric L. Knowlton School, Berwick

2010: Della Martin, Blue Hill Consolidated School, Blue Hill

2009: Cynthia Stevens, W. G. Mallet School, Farmington

2008: Diana Dionne-Morang, Gardiner Regional Middle School, Gardiner

2007: Barbara Judge and Marilyn Philbrook, Harrison C. Lyseth Elementary School, Portland

2006: Nancy Ponzetti, Catherine McAuley High School, Portland

2005: Dennis Edmondson, Mt. Ararat High School, Topsham

2004: Gail Lamb, Monmouth Academy, Monmouth