Temporary Nurse Agencies

What is a Temporary Nurse Agency?

A Temporary Nurse Agency (TNA) is a business entity or subdivision thereof of a business entity that primarily provides nurses, certified nursing assistants and other qualified staff to another organization on a temporary basis within the State of Maine. A TNA does not include an agency licensed in the State of Maine as a home health care services provider.

Maine Statutes Related to TNAs:

Effective October 25, 2023, there were changes to Maine Statutes related to TNAs, including an increase in the annual registration fee from $25.00 to $1,000.00, new employee assurance requirements, new mandatory annual reporting, and prohibition of predatory recruitment of healthcare workers from Maine healthcare settings. See Maine Statutes below:

TNA Registration Rules:

The Temporary Nurse Agency Registration Rule, 10-144 Code of Maine Rules, Chapter 111, is finalized and became effective on March 31, 2024. To download the rule in PDF, please click here.

Registration Requirements:

To operate a Temporary Nurse Agency (TNA) in Maine, prospective TNAs must fulfill specific registration requirements. Below is a summary of the essential requirements for both initial and renewal registrations:

  1. Agency Details: Name, physical and mailing addresses, email, and direct contact numbers
  2. Fees: $1000.00 for initial or renewal registration, payable via check or money order to “Treasurer State of Maine.”
  3. Ownership Information: Owner’s details, type of incorporated entity (e.g., limited liability company, partnership, corporation, non-profit), and employer identification numbers (EIN).
  4. Person in Charge: Name, email address, and direct phone number.
  5. Employee and Setting Types: Expected or past types of healthcare professionals and settings.
  6. Declaration: Certification by the Person in Charge or Owner that all provided information is accurate.

These are the essential elements for registering a TNA in Maine. All information provided must be accurate and complete to avoid delays during the registration process. To download the latest version of the PDF application, please click here.

Application Submission Process:

For initial applications: All applications will be reviewed for completeness and the required fee. If questions arise, our office will email the email addresses on the application. Issuance of the initial registration usually is completed via email within ten business days.

For renewals: TNAs are responsible for monitoring the expiration date of their current registration. A complete application and the required fee must be submitted and received by DLC at least 30 days before the registration expiration date. Applications will be reviewed for completeness and the required fee and if any questions arise, our office will email the email address on the application. A renewal application will not be processed more than 30 days before the expiration date.

All TNAs must send their materials to:

Department of Health and Human Services
Division of Licensing and Certification
Attention: Temporary Nurse Agency Staff
41 Anthony Avenue
11 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0011

Agency Information Changes:

Within the registration period, TNAs in Maine can use the Agency Changes Notice form to notify the Department about changes in the agency name, address, or person in charge (requiring a $10.00 fee). Changes to email addresses, permanent or temporary closures do not require a fee. For more information, please click here.

Annual Reporting:

TNAs must submit an annual report to the Department, detailing employee placements, charges to healthcare facilities, wages and stipends paid to the employees. The report must also include proof that the employee has valid licenses, certifications, and has completed required training and background checks. The Department is currently developing a portal for TNAs to submit these reports online using assigned credentials. The portal is expected to be live before the reporting period begins. To obtain more details about the reporting requirements, please click here to see the Temporary Nurse Agency Registration Rule.

Compliance and Enforcement:

The Temporary Nurse Agency Registration Rule, 10-144 Code of Maine Rules, Chapter 111, or the Maine Statutes related to TNAs allows any individual to report allegations of non-compliance to the Department; or the Department may identify non-compliance based on document review and/or interactions with TNAs. If a TNA is operating in non-compliance, the Department will issue a statement of deficiencies (SOD) and the TNA will be required to submit an acceptable plan of correction (POC). Additionally, the Department may also impose financial sanctions for non-compliance such as TNAs operating without an initial registration or a renewal registration. Please see Section VII Enforcement of the rule for details.

Stay Connected:

Stay connected with Division of Licensing and Certification for updates and support by checking for updates on this website or emailing us. You can reach us at:

Department of Health and Human Services
Division of Licensing and Certification
41 Anthony Avenue
Augusta, Maine 04330-0011

Phone: (207) 287-9300
TTY Users: Call 711 (Maine Relay)
Email: TNA.DLC@Maine.Gov