How to Get Certified/Recertified/Reinstated in Erosion Control Practices

Video: "How to Get Certified in Erosion Control Practices by Maine DEP"

New Certification Process

Step #1: Complete Introductory Certification Course

To become certified in ESC, completion of an 8-hour training course, Basic and Advanced Erosion Control Practices, is required. Courses are offered in-person or online through our Training Schedule and Courses.

Step #2: Appropriately select and install at least 2 Best Management Practices

Proper installation of erosion and sedimentation control BMPs is critical to their function and effectiveness. Not every BMP is appropriate for every site and the conditions presented at each location will be unique. Consider the information provided in the training and utilize the Maine DEP Erosion Control Field Guide for Contractors regarding the selection and installation of erosion and sedimentation control BMPs.

To be considered properly selected and installed, the BMPs chosen for review must meet the following conditions:

  • BMPs selected for review must be 2 different practices, preferably both an erosion control and sediment control practice (e.g. two silt fences do not count as two BMPs)
  • Practices must be a BMP found in the Maine DEP Erosion Control Field Guide for Contractors
  • Installation must be done in accordance with the details and conditions outlined in the Maine DEP Erosion Control Field Guide for Contractors
  • For any instance of deviation from the conditions or instructions set forth in the Maine DEP Erosion Control Field Guide should be adequately described in the project narrative and include the reasoning and principles behind the decision to show competency (as opposed to simple improper installation).

Step #3: Submit Certification Application, Photos & Narrative

Applicants for Certification in Erosion Control Practices must demonstrate competency in the proper selection and installation of at least two different Best Management Practices used on an active site with soil disturbance. NOTE: Maine’s Erosion Control law requires the installation and maintenance of erosion and sedimentation control practices anywhere soil is disturbed in Maine, not just near the protected natural resources.

Certification application packages can be submitted by email to or by mail to:

John Maclaine
Nonpoint Source Training Center
Maine Department of Environmental Protection
State House Station #17
Augusta, ME 04330-0017

Please allow 14 days for review of the submitted materials and any follow-up.

Option A (for Erosion Control Installers & Contractors)

  • Submit at least 6 photos of a site of where the applicant had participated in the installation and maintenance of erosion and sedimentation control Best Management Practices on a construction site of the applicant’s choosing.
    • Photos required: 2 Photos showing proper installation of each BMP, 2 photos of the site with controls in place to determine grades and proper siting of controls.
  • The applicant may also request an in-person site visit for the inspection of the site, consistent with the intent of Requirement #2.
  • Submit a brief narrative explaining the applicant’s role on the site and with the installation or maintenance of the site’s Best Management Practices. The narrative should also briefly explain the strategy in selecting the site’s Best Management Practices.

NOTE: We recommend selecting a site outside the Municipal Shoreland Zone to obtain initial certification. By choosing a site within the Municipal Shoreland Zone for initial certification, you may need to have DEP-certified individual present and responsible for erosion controls to comply with local regulations. Check with the local Code Enforcement Officer for more information.

Option B (for Erosion Control Inspectors)

  1. Submit the certification application
  2. Submit at least one Inspection Report generated from a site where the applicant participated in the inspection of the site’s Best Management Practices. The report must include a minimum of 6 photos of BMPs installed on the site, a description of the proper installation of each respective BMP, and include recommendations for any installation problems or maintenance needs documented.

Active CPESC Certification

Due to the rigorous training and standards associated with the nationally-recognized Certified Professional in Erosion and Sedimentation Control (“CPESC”) program, Maine DEP will grant certification to those who have obtained and maintain this certification. Individuals with an active CPESC Certification may request Maine DEP Certification in Erosion Control Practices by submitting an application and proof of CPESC active status. In order to maintain certification beyond the initial certification period, provide proof of active CPESC Status for a 3-year extension.

Recertification Process

Once certification is achieved, it is initially valid for 3 years (expiring on December 31 in the third year of certification.

After the initial certification period, certification is maintained by completing Continuing Education Hours (“CEH”) either in-person or online. Each Continuing Education Hour completed will equal one year of re-certification. Online courses will each be worth one CEH and in-person classes will be assigned the number of qualifying Continuing Education Hours on a case by case basis.

Grace Period

There is a 6-month grace period for re-certification (i.e. certifications expiring on 12/31/20 have until 6/30/2021 to complete at least one CEH and maintain active status. Once the grace period has passed, individuals must go through the process outlined below for re-instatement of the expired certification.

Reinstatement of an Expired Certification (New!)

Expired certifications that were not renewed within the 6-month grace period can have their certification re-instated if they expired within the previous 5 years. To become reinstated, additional Continuing Education Hours will be required and afford you certification until December 31 of that calendar year (see table below for required credits, grace period applies). Once reinstated, individuals must maintain certification through the normal re-certification procedure. NOTE: Additional CEHs (online or in-person) must be applied to continue certification beyond the initial reinstatement period before the 6-month grace period has expired.

Length of Expiration Credit Hours for Reinstatement
Expired less than 1 year (*since end of 6 month Grace Period) 1
Expired more than 1 year, less than 3 years* 2
Greater than 3 years, less than 5 years* 3

Certification Revocation

Under certain circumstances, certification can be revoked. Revocation is likely if a formal enforcement action is taken against a certified contractor whose failure to employ satisfactory erosion and sediment control practices results in sedimentation of waterbodies or wetlands.

NOTE: Certification would not be revoked as a result of sedimentation resulting from unusual storm events, flooding or other conditions beyond the control of the contractor. However, appropriate measures must be taken to stabilize the site and re-establish all controls to working order as soon as possible following any storm event.