
 

SUPPLEMENT TO WITHHOLDING TABLES BOOKLET 
2013 MAINE INCOME TAX WITHHOLDING 

PERCENTAGE METHOD 
 
 
Changes impacting 2013 withholding:  Tax laws enacted during the last two legislative sessions result 
in lower Maine income tax withholding for most taxpayers beginning in 2013.  In particular, three law 
changes directly impact the calculation of 2013 Maine income tax withholding amounts: 
 

1) The number of Maine tax rate brackets are reduced from 4 (2%, 4.5%, 7% & 8.5%) to 3 (0%, 
6.5% & 7.95%).  Note that the new rate structure includes a 0% bracket and that the top rate is 
reduced from 8.5% to 7.95%. 
 
2) The 2013 Maine standard deduction amounts conform to the 2013 federal standard deduction 
amounts.  Thus, in accordance with current federal law, the 2013 Maine standard deduction 
amounts are $6,100 for single taxpayers and $10,150 for taxpayers filing married joint. 
 
3) The 2013 Maine personal exemption amount conforms to the 2013 federal personal exemption 
amount.  As such, the 2013 Maine personal exemption amount is $3,900. 

 
These changes are reflected in the 2013 withholding tax rate schedules and calculations contained in the 
pages that follow.  If you have any questions about the 2013 schedules and calculations, please call 207 
626-8475 (press 1, option 4) or email withholding.tax@maine.gov.  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 



 

SUPPLEMENT TO WITHHOLDING TABLES BOOKLET 
2013 MAINE INCOME TAX WITHHOLDING 

PERCENTAGE METHOD 
 
 Following are percentage method instructions and rate schedules for weekly, biweekly, 
semimonthly, monthly, and daily or miscellaneous payroll periods. 
 
Step 1 – Multiply amount from table below by the number of allowances the employee claims: 
 
 Payroll Period    Amount Per Withholding Allowance 
 
 Weekly        $  75.00 
 Biweekly        $150.00 
 Semimonthly        $162.50 
 Monthly        $325.00 
 Daily or Miscellaneous      $  15.00 
 
Step 2 – Subtract the result of Step 1 from the employee's gross wage. 
 
Step 3 – Adjustment for Nonresident Aliens. If the employee is a nonresident alien, increase the wages 
by the amount indicated below for the applicable payroll period. Do not make this adjustment for 
employees who are a resident of the United States. 
 

Payroll Period      Add Additional 
       
  Weekly   $117.31   
  Biweekly   $234.62   
  Semimonthly   $254.17   
  Monthly   $508.33   
  Daily or Miscellaneous $  23.46   
   
 
 
Step 4 – Compute the withholding amount using the following tax rate schedule for the appropriate 
payroll period and marital status. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Rev. 10/12 
 
 



 

 
FOR SINGLE TAXPAYERS 

 
 
 

WEEKLY 
If the wage is 
at least:     The tax is: 
$        0.00 but less than $    162.50            0.00% 
$    162.50 but less than $    464.42            6.50% of excess over $    162.50 
$    464.42 or more   $  19.63 plus 7.95% of excess over $    464.42 
 
 

 
BIWEEKLY 

If the wage is 
at least:     The tax is: 
$        0.00 but less than  $    325.00            0.00% 
$    325.00 but less than $    928.85            6.50% of excess over $    325.00 
$    928.85 or more   $  39.25 plus 7.95% of excess over $    928.85 
 

 
 

SEMIMONTHLY 
If the wage is 
at least:     The tax is: 
$        0.00 but less than  $    352.08            0.00% 
$    352.08 but less than $ 1,006.25            6.50% of excess over $    352.08 
$ 1,006.25 or more   $  42.52 plus 7.95% of excess over $ 1,006.25 
 

 
 

MONTHLY 
If the wage is 
at least:     The tax is: 
$        0.00 but less than  $    704.17            0.00% 
$    704.17 but less than $ 2,012.50            6.50% of excess over $    704.17 
$ 2,012.50 or more   $  85.04 plus 7.95% of excess over $ 2,012.50 
 

 
 

DAILY OR MISCELLANEOUS 
If the wage is 
at least:     The tax is: 
$        0.00 but less than  $      32.50            0.00% 
$      32.50 but less than $      92.88            6.50% of excess over $      32.50 
$      92.88 or more   $    3.93 plus 7.95% of excess over $      92.88 
 
 
 



 

 
FOR MARRIED TAXPAYERS 

 
 
 

WEEKLY 
If the wage is 
at least:     The tax is: 
$        0.00 but less than  $    341.35            0.00% 
$    341.35 but less than $    945.19            6.50% of excess over $    341.35 
$    945.19 or more   $  39.25 plus 7.95% of excess over $    945.19 
 
 

 
BIWEEKLY 

If the wage is 
at least:     The tax is: 
$        0.00 but less than  $    682.69            0.00% 
$    682.69 but less than $ 1,890.38            6.50% of excess over $    682.69 
$  1,890.38 or more   $  78.50 plus 7.95% of excess over $ 1,890.38 
 
 

 
SEMIMONTHLY 

If the wage is 
at least:     The tax is: 
$        0.00 but less than  $    739.58            0.00% 
$    739.58 but less than $  2,047.92            6.50% of excess over $    739.58 
$  2,047.92 or more   $  85.04 plus 7.95% of excess over $ 2,047.92 
 
 
 

MONTHLY 
If the wage is 
at least:     The tax is: 
$        0.00 but less than  $ 1,479.17            0.00% 
$ 1,479.17 but less than $ 4,095.83            6.50% of excess over $ 1,479.17 
$ 4,095.83 or more   $170.08 plus 7.95% of excess over $ 4,095.83 
 
 
 

DAILY OR MISCELLANEOUS 
If the wage is 
at least:     The tax is: 
$        0.00 but less than  $      68.27            0.00% 
$      68.27 but less than $    189.04            6.50% of excess over $      68.27 
$    189.04 or more   $    7.85 plus 7.95% of excess over $    189.04 
 
 
 


