Staff Directory

Employee Title Email Address
Kit Thomson Crossman Executive Director
Barbara Archer Hirsch Commission Counsel
Colin Hurd Deputy Commission Counsel
Michael Whitman Operations Director
Chelsey Krechmer Business Manager
Brittany Munzing Secretary Associate Legal
Jennifer Manzano Ruz Secretary Associate Legal Jennifer
Jane O'Reilly Lead Investigator
Bob Beauchesne Investigator
Alex Brindley  Investigator
Nupur Leva Investigator
Angela Morse Investigator
Carrie McCarter Investigator
General information, filings Information
Intake Intake Questionnaire Materials
Request Records Requests

Organizational Structure

The Commission appointed Kit Thomson Crossman as its Executive Director on November 20, 2023. The Executive Director appoints and supervises the Commission's staff.

The Commission has four major divisions.


The Administration Division is the division responsible for the effective operation of the office. Responsibilities include all personnel functions along with budget and other fiscal duties. Support is provided to other divisions.

The Director of Operations position is held by Michael Whitman.  The Business Manager is Chelsey Krechmer.  Brittany Munzing, and Jennifer Manzano-Ruz are responsible for case processing, and front office support. 


The Investigation Division is responsible for all aspects of case processing from determining whether or not allegations are legally sufficient to constitute a complaint of discrimination within the jurisdiction of the Maine Human Rights Act, to issuing Investigator's Reports which analyze facts and apply the law of discrimination and relevant Court decisions and recommending specific findings to the Commission.

The Commission's Lead Investigator is Jane O'Reilly. The Commission's other Investigators are Robert Beauchesne, Alex BrindleyAngela MorseNupur Leva and Carrie McCarter.


This division is responsible for litigation activity as well as providing legal advice to the staff and Commission. The Commission Counsel assures Investigator's Reports are litigation worthy, provides legal opinions, drafts legislation and proposed regulations, litigates cases and advises the Executive Director on contract matters involving governmental agencies and private parties. Barbara Archer Hirsch was appointed as Commission Counsel in September, 2013. The Deputy Commission Counsel position is held by Colin Hurd.


The Compliance Division is responsible for all settlement efforts of the agency. Lead Investigator Jane O'Reilly oversees Compliance division activities and has direct responsibility for negotiating conciliation agreements after findings of reasonable grounds and conducting both written and on site monitoring of such agreements to insure that terms are met. This division sets overall negotiation strategy, reviews and monitors pre-determination settlement agreements, and facilitates the Commission's Third Party Neutral Mediation Program.

Staff complaint policy.