Skip Maine state header navigation

Agencies | Online Services | Help

Skip navigation

-->
Department of Public Safety - Maine State Police
Maine Crash Reporting Online Search & Ordering Service

Home > FAQ

Frequently Asked Questions

  1. WHO CAN GET A COPY OF A CRASH REPORT?
  2. MY INSURANCE COMPANY WANTS ME TO GET A COPY OF MY CRASH REPORT. HOW DO I GET A COPY OF THE OFFICERS REPORT OF MY CRASH?
  3. WHY DO I HAVE TO PAY $10 FOR A COPY OF MY REPORT? SHOULDN’T I HAVE RECEIVED ONE AT THE SCENE OF THE CRASH?
  4. WHAT IS A REPORTABLE CRASH?
  5. CAN YOU FAX ME A COPY OF MY CRASH REPORT?
  6. MY INSURANCE COMPANY RECORD LISTS AN “AT FAULT” CRASH. I DO NOT FEEL THAT I WAS AT FAULT. CAN YOU CHANGE THIS?
  7. I RECEIVED A COPY OF MY CRASH REPORT AND IT IS NOT CORRECT, CAN YOU CHANGE THIS FOR ME?
  8. HOW FAR BACK DO YOUR RECORDS GO?
  9. WHAT IS THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN THE DRIVER REPORT FORM AND THE CRASH REPORT?
  10. THE REPORT I SEARCHED FOR WAS NOT FOUND. WHAT SHOULD I DO?
  11. HOW LONG DOES IT TAKE TO RECEIVE A CRASH FROM THE INFORME DATABASE?
  12. HOW LONG WILL IT TAKE TO GET MY CRASH REPORT THROUGH THE MAINE STATE POLICE TRAFFIC DIVISION?
  13. WHERE DO I GET A COPY OF A NON-REPORTABLE CRASH?

1. WHO CAN GET A COPY OF A CRASH REPORT?

Anyone who would like to purchase the report can do so.

2. MY INSURANCE COMPANY WANTS ME TO GET A COPY OF MY CRASH REPORT. HOW DO I GET A COPY OF THE OFFICERS REPORT OF MY CRASH?

You may search for your report and purchase it online, or use the request form from the homepage to mail to the Maine State Police Traffic Division.

3. WHY DO I HAVE TO PAY $10 FOR A COPY OF MY REPORT? SHOULDN’T I HAVE RECEIVED ONE AT THE SCENE OF THE CRASH?

Pursuant to Maine Motor Vehicle Statutes, Title 29-A, crash reports are for the purpose of statistical analysis and crash prevention. Upon appropriate request, a photocopy or electronic copy may be furnished by the Maine State Police at the expense of the person making the request. The fee for the crash report helps to defray costs associated with the processing and furnishing of the report. Crash reports are not provided at the scene. The police officer investigating the crash collects the information necessary to furnish a copy of the driver information for all vehicles or units involved in the crash. They may be able to print this at the scene or at a later time you should be able to get it from the investigating agency.

4. WHAT IS A REPORTABLE CRASH?

A reportable traffic crash is defined as any unintended event caused by a motor vehicle in motion that results in any injury, death, or property damage to the apparent amount of $1000.00 or more and which occurs on a traffic way.

5. CAN YOU FAX ME A COPY OF MY CRASH REPORT?

If you do not have email capability at the time your crash report is found you can request the report be sent via fax. It is preferable that you utilize email if possible.

6. MY INSURANCE COMPANY RECORD LISTS AN “AT FAULT” CRASH. I DO NOT FEEL THAT I WAS AT FAULT. CAN YOU CHANGE THIS?

The State of Maine does not enter “at fault, or “not at fault”, on an insurance record. Your insurance company determines fault. It is the role of the law enforcement agency investigating the crash to establish factors that contributed to the crash. Any crash you are in will be place on your driving record, regardless of fault.

Should you have questions regarding your driving history the Bureau of Motor Vehicle may be contacted at (207) 624-9000.

7. I RECEIVED A COPY OF MY CRASH REPORT AND IT IS NOT CORRECT, CAN YOU CHANGE THIS FOR ME?

No. You must contact the investigating officer. The officer is the only person who can make changes to the report.

8. HOW FAR BACK DO YOUR RECORDS GO?

1976 thru 2002 are on microfilm and are available by making a written request with payment to the Maine State Police, Traffic Division, State House Station #20, Augusta, Maine 04333-0020. The request form is available on the home page.

If you would like to pay via credit card/debit card to InforMe you may click the email link to Maine State Police Traffic Division and provide the requested information necessary for us to perform a hand search of the crash. The crash report, if found, can be sent via regular mail or in a PDF format via email.

9. WHAT IS THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN THE DRIVER REPORT FORM AND THE CRASH REPORT?

The Driver Report Form is a form that includes driver, vehicle, crash location, and investigating agency information. The investigating officer may print this form for each driver at a crash scene if they are equipped with an in-car printer. If the officer does not have the capability to print this form in the vehicle the involved driver should request the crash information from the officer or the investigating agency.

The Crash report is the report the investigating officer completes and sends to the Maine State Police, Traffic Division.

10. THE REPORT I SEARCHED FOR WAS NOT FOUND. WHAT SHOULD I DO?

There are several reasons your crash may not be found.

  • The investigating agency may not have submitted the crash report to the Maine State Police Traffic Division. Try again in a few days. Reports are downloaded daily.
  • If your crash was less than $1000 combined damage, and no personal injury was reported at the scene, then your crash was NON-REPORTABLE. Non-reportable crashes are not maintained in this system.
  • If your crash occurred in 2002 we may not have it in the database. Not all crashes were available in the database until January 1, 2003.
    • You can print a crash request form for pre January 1, 2003 crashes from the web page and send it with payment to the Maine State Police, Traffic Division, State House Station #20, Augusta, Maine 04333-0020.
    • If you would like to pay via credit card/debit card to InforMe you may click the email link to Maine State Police Traffic Division and provide the requested information necessary for us to perform a hand search of the crash. The crash report, if found, will be sent via regular mail or in a PDF format via email.
  • If your crash involved an ATV or snowmobile and was covered by the Maine Warden Service the crash will not be in our database. You will need to contact the Maine Warden Service at (207) 287-2766.

11. HOW LONG DOES IT TAKE TO RECEIVE A CRASH FROM THE INFORME DATABASE?

If the information you provide regarding the crash is correct and the report is in the database you should receive the crash report within 24 hours of the search.

12. HOW LONG WILL IT TAKE TO GET MY CRASH REPORT THROUGH THE MAINE STATE POLICE TRAFFIC DIVISION?

If the information you provide is correct and the crash report is in our microfilm database you may receive the crash report in five days or less. If you do not receive the crash report in five days please contact Maine State Police Traffic Division at (207) 624-8939.

13. WHERE DO I GET A COPY OF A NON-REPORTABLE CRASH?

Please contact the department called to the scene. An incident report should be on file at that office.

Questions about this Service? Contact Maine State Police Traffic Division at:(207)624-8939 or Email: mcrs_response@maine.gov