Maine law states that certain people must report suspected abuse, neglect or exploitation of an adult if they believe the adult is incapacitated or dependent. Maine law also states that certain people must report to the Department if they know or have reasonable cause to suspect that a child has been or is likely to be abused or neglected. The training links below are to on-line self paced training covering all aspects of mandatory reporting in Maine for children and adults.
To report child abuse or neglect:
Deaf/Hard of Hearing Call Maine Relay 711
The Maine Child and Family Services line is staffed 24-hours a day, 7-days a week.
Adult Protective Services:
To report abuse, neglect or exploitation, call:
Nationwide 24-hour, toll-free 1-800-624-8404
TYY In State, Maine Relay 711
TTY Out-of-State (after hours) 207-287-3492
- Hotlines - List of some of the hotlines in Maine
Mandated Reporting Statutes
- Statute for adults - includes a listing of mandated reporters
- Statute for children - includes a listing of mandated reporters
- Mandated Reporter Training for suspected adult abuse and neglect
- Mandated Reporter Training for suspected child abuse and neglect
If you haven't found what you're looking for, visit our pages for: