Holiday Schedule

The 2019 Holiday Schedule is issued under the provisions of Chapter 11 of the State of Maine Civil Service Rules and the Benefit Package for Confidential Employees.  The 2020 Holiday Schedule is available here.

HOLIDAY DAY, DATE OBSERVED
New Year's Day Tuesday, January 1, 2019
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Monday, January 21, 2019
Washington's Birthday/President's Day Monday, February 18, 2019
Patriot's Day Monday, April 15, 2019
Memorial Day Monday, May 27, 2019
Independence Day Thursday, July 4, 2019
Labor Day Monday, September 2, 2019
Columbus Day Monday, October 14, 2019
Veterans' Day Monday, November 11, 2019
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 28, 2019
Thanksgiving Friday Friday, November 29, 2019
Christmas Day Wednesday, December 25, 2019

To be eligible for holiday pay, employee must be in pay status on the normal workday immediately preceding and the normal workday immediately following the day and date on which the holiday is observed.

An employee who is required to work on any of these days will be granted compensatory time off at the mutual convenience of the employer and employee. If the holiday falls on a normal day off, an alternative compensatory day will be granted. Cash payments shall be made only in the instance of departmental policy established in conformance with Chapter 11, Section 1, of State of Maine Civil Service Rules.

*For Maine State Government, holidays that fall on Saturday are observed on the preceding Friday; holidays that fall on Sunday are observed on the following Monday. For calendar year 2019, no holidays fall on Saturday or Sunday.