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Medical Fee Schedule Training for Adjusters 
 

The Board has scheduled a medical fee schedule training session for Friday, July 31, at 

the SafetyWorks Training Institute at the Department of Labor, 45 Commerce Drive in 

Augusta (the same place the Board now holds open training).  The training is scheduled 

from approximately 10:00 am to 3:00 pm.  There is no charge and materials will be 

provided.   
 

If you would like to attend this session or the Board’s next open training (scheduled for 

October 29-30), please email Anne Poulin to reserve a spot as seating is limited.     
 

New Bangor Hearing Officer 
 

The Board recently welcomed David Hirtle, Esq. as the Board’s new Hearing Officer 

(Garry Greene’s successor). David “Dave” came to Portland, Maine from Western 

Massachusetts, to attend college at the University of Southern Maine (USM).  At USM, 

he majored in philosophy.  Dave went on to attend law school at the University of 

Maine School of Law, where he was on the moot court team and came to enjoy 

appellate argument. 
  

In January of 2008, Hearing Officer Hirtle began practicing at MacAdam Jury Law 

Offices in Portland. He has represented clients in all aspects of workers’ compensation 

litigation, including mediation, formal hearing, and appeals. He has had four Law Court 

arguments and several cases that were decided on briefs. He has appeared before the 

Appellate Division on a number of occasions.  
 

His practice consisted of approximately 80% workers compensation, 15% Social 

Security, with the remaining 5% being a catch-all of civil suits, Maine Public 

Employee's Retirement System appeals, and Maine Human Rights Commission 

complaints. His experience will serve him well at the Board and has allowed him to hit 

the ground running! 
 

 

The Appellate Division  
 

Appellate week was held May 18th through May 22nd. Oral arguments were presented 

on May 20th and 22nd.  The next session is scheduled for July 20 through 24, 2015.  
 

On May 27, 2015, a decision was issued in the case of Parker v. Frito Lay, WCB No. 

15-16. Pepsico, Inc. (Frito-Lay) appealed the decision of hearing officer Jerome 

awarding Mr. Parker total incapacity benefits from February 3, 2012, through December 

11, 2013, based on Frito-Lay’s violation of the “fourteen-day rule,” Me. W.C.B. Rule, 

Ch. 1, § 1.  
 

The sole issue on appeal was whether Frito-Lay had a duty to file a notice of 

controversy (NOC) within fourteen days of Mr. Parker’s filing of his Petition for 

Restoration, when it had previously filed an uncontested, 21-day notice of 

discontinuance on the same date of injury. See 39-A M.R.S.A. § 205(9) (Supp. 2014). 

The hearing officer’s decision was affirmed.  
 

Appellate Division decisions are available in their entirety on the Board’s website. 

http://www.maine.gov/wcb/Departments/appellate/appellatedecisions.html 
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The Legislature & Workers’ Comp  
 

LD 1119, An Act To Amend the Laws Governing the Filing of Wage Statements and 

Other Laws under the Maine Workers’ Compensation Act of 1992 was passed through 

the House and Senate. On June 29, 2015, the Bill was vetoed by Governor LePage. On 

June 30, 2015 the veto was over-ridden by the Legislature and will become law. 
 

In summary: 
 

(1) The title “hearing officer” is changed to administrative law judge;  

(2) Within 180 days of the insolvency of an insurer, the Board shall meet with the 

Maine Insurance Guarantee Association to review its adjusting responsibilities 

regarding the insolvency;  

(3) Wage statements may be filled out consistent with an employer’s pay cycle (e.g. 

– weekly, bi-weekly, monthly, etc.)  

(4) An employer does not have to report lost time for medical appointments if an 

employee has passed the 14 day waiting period, attends a medical appointment, 

and is paid regular wages for the time spent traveling to and from and attending 

the exam,  

(5) The Board must prepare a report on the Section 312 IME Program.  The report 

will focus on all matters that can be quantified within that program. 
 

From the Office of Medical/Rehabilitation Services 

Attention Providers: Medicare Set-Asides 
 

If a health care provider is treating an employee for a work injury and that employee has 

a Workers’ Compensation Medicare Set-Aside (WCMSA) based on the Maine 

Workers’ Compensation Medical Fee Schedule, the provider must bill the employee 

directly using the billing procedures outlined in Board Rules Chapter 5.  This means 

that bills must specify the date and type of service, the appropriate procedure codes, 

the condition treated, and the charges for each service.   
  

A WCMSA allocates a portion of a workers’ compensation settlement for all future 

work-injury-related medical expenses that are covered and otherwise reimbursable by 

Medicare. Employees with a WCMSA based on the Maine Workers’ Compensation Fee 

Schedule are required to pay for treatment related to the work injury pursuant to the 

Maine Workers’ Compensation Medical Fee Schedule.   
 

Health care providers may wish to establish a separate financial class for employees 

with a WCMSA to facilitate the billing process.  If a health care provider mistakenly 

bills Medicare or other insurer for treatment related to the work injury, the provider is 

responsible for refunding any payments received for that treatment.  
 

Improved WCB Website 
 

The Board launched a new website on July 13, 2015. The site has a new look and 

provides navigation options that make information more accessible to users. 
 

While the main website address remains the same (www.maine.gov/wcb), all other 

WCB webpages have new web addresses. Note: any links that users may have saved 

previous to the launch will no longer work. 
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