Request to re-issue a

# **Certificate of Title**

Call to verify information before filing. 207-624-9000 ext. 52138 TTY Users call Maine Relay 711



Please type or print clearly in dark ink.

BUREAU OF MOTOR VEHICLES DIVISION OF TITLE SERVICES 29 STATE HOUSE STATION AUGUSTA, MAINE 04333

Fee: \$33.00

**RUSH REQUEST** Additional \$10.00 Fee

In accordance with Chapter 7, Title 29A M.R.S.A., Section 661, I hereby apply for a replacement Certificate of Title. I (we) state under penalties of false statement, that the original title was: (if destroyed or illegible, remnants of title must accompany this form.)

	LOST		SI	OLEN 🗖	DESTROYED		LEGIBLE		
OWNER INFORMATION	1. NAME(S): LAST, FIRST, MIDDLE INITIAL					2. DATE OF BIRTH A.		3. TELEPHONE # A.	
	A. B.					B.	B.		
	4. OWNER'S CURRENT MAILING ADDRESS - NO & STREET								
	CITY STATE						ZIP CODE		
VEHICLE INFORMATION	5. YEAR	6. MAKE	7. MODEL	DEL 8. VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER			9. BODY TYPE	10. NEW USED REBUILT	
	11. PURCH	ASE DATE	DMI. ACTUAL KM IN EXCES. DO NOT ESTIMATE - NO TENTHS NOT ACTU		IN EXCESS OF MECHAN	MILEAGE S OF MECHANICAL LIMITS UAL - ODOMETER DISCREPANCY		IF NOT ACTUAL: ODOMETER CHANGED ODOMETER BROKEN MUST FILE MVT-32	
LIEN INFORMATION A LIEN RELEASE FORM (MVT-12) MUST BE FILED IF MOTOR VEHICLE RECORDS SHOW A LIEN WHICH HAS SINCE BEEN RELEASED	13 FIRST LIEN HOLDER'S NAME IF VEHICLE FINANCED, IF NO LIEN, STATE "NONE"							14. DATE OF LIEN M/D/Y	
	15. ADDRESS - NO. & STREET				CITY STATE		ZIP CODE		
	16. SECOND LIEN HOLDER'S NAME						14. DATE OF LIEN M/D/Y		
	18. ADDRE	ESS - NO. & ST	REET		CITY STATE		ZIP CODE		
SIGNATURES	19. I(WE) CERTIFY THE ACCURACY OF ALL THE INFORMATION ABOVE A. B. SIGNATURES OF OWNERS AS NAMED IN BLOCK 1. ALL OWNERS MUST SIGN IF MULTIPLE OWNERSHIP						DATE		
PLEASE SEE INSTRUCTIONS	19. LIENHOLDER'S SIGNATURE - IF APPLICABLE NAME				POSITION		DATE		
· · · ·	•		sult of this ap	(our) interest in the above plication to the dealer na	tion for Mailing we vehicle to a Maine license med below. This section no ship (use form MVT-16 to the	t for use by dealers outsi			
21. DEALER'S NAME				22. ADDRES	S		23. PLATE N	UMBER D 🗖 U/C 🗖 M/C 🗖	
NAME			POSIT	TION	SIGNATURI	E	DATE		
				, or documents neces ver sign a blank forn	sary may result in a dela 1.	ay in processing your	application. N	laking a false	

 D
 L
 O
 MV
 APPLICATION RECEIVED: \_\_\_\_\_

 APPROVED BY: \_\_\_\_\_

PTN: \_\_\_\_\_

MVT-8 Rev. 10/2023

#### INSTRUCTIONS

 A duplicate Certificate of Title will contain the legend, "This is a duplicate Certificate and may be subject to the rights of a person under the original Certificate." A duplicate Certificate of Title will be mailed to the owner or, at the owner's request, to a Maine licensed dealer. If a Certificate of Title has been lost, stolen, mutilated, or destroyed or becomes illegible, the first lienholder shown on the certificate may apply for and obtain a duplicate upon furnishing information satisfactory to the Secretary of State.

## If a duplicate Certificate of Title is to be sent to anyone other than the owner or a Maine Dealer, the owner must submit a separate signed authorization.

- 2. The Secretary of State is not required to issue a duplicate until 15 days after the previous title was issued.
- 3. A person recovering an original Certificate of Title for which a duplicate has been issued must <u>promptly</u> surrender the original Certificate to the Title Section of the Bureau of Motor Vehicles.
- 4. Required Fees:

\$33.00- Regular duplicate Certificate of Title

### \$43.00- Rush duplicate Certificate of Title (\$33.00 title fee plus the \$10.00 rush fee.)

#### CHECKS SHOULD BE MADE PAYABLE TO "SECRETARY OF STATE."

#### Please do not send cash

- 5. If the original Certificate is mutilated or illegible, the Certificate or its remnants must accompany this application.
- 6. Failure to provide all signatures, information and/or necessary documents may result in suspension of your application and/or registration.
- 7. If BMV records show a lien against the vehicle, which has since been released, the lienholder must release their security interest on form MVT-12.

**NOTE:** A lienholder cannot create a lien with this form.

## MAINE TITLE SCHEDULE

(Vehicles more than 25 years old are exempt from title.)

As of October 25, 2023 vehicles that are 1997 model year and older are title exempt.

As of January 1, 2024 vehicles that are 1998 model year and older are title exempt.

As of January 1, 2025 vehicles that are 1999 model year and older are title exempt.

As of January 1, 2026 vehicles that are 2000 model year and older are title exempt.

As of January 1, 2027 vehicles that are 2001 model year and older are title exempt.