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BOARD OF SOCIAL WORKER LICENSURE

Chapter 12:
APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE

Summary: This chapter describes the board's application procedures.

1.
Applications


All applications for licensure must be made on the forms provided by the board. Requests for these forms may be addressed to:



Maine State Board of Social Worker Licensure



35 State House Station



Augusta, Maine 04333




or downloaded from



http://www.maineprofessionalreg.org/
2.
Education Completed In A Foreign Country


1.
Social Work Program


A graduate of a social work program at a college or university outside the United States shall submit his or her transcript to the Foreign Equivalency Determination Service of the Council on Social Work Accreditation for evaluation. Upon receipt of the evaluation, the board shall determine whether the degree program of the applicant is the substantial equivalent of a bachelor degree and whether the program attended by the applicant is sufficiently related to social work or social welfare so as to qualify the applicant for an LSW-Conditional license pursuant to Chapter 13, section 1(1)(A) of the board's rules.


2.
Non-Social Work Program


A graduate of any other program at a college or university outside the United States shall submit his or her transcript to World Education Services, Inc., Center for Educational Documentation, Inc. or other transcript analysis service that has been approved by the board, for evaluation. Upon receipt of the evaluation, the board shall determine whether the educational qualifications of the applicant are the substantial equivalent of a bachelor degree and whether the program attended by the applicant is sufficiently related to social work or social welfare so as to qualify the applicant for an LSW-Conditional license as aforesaid.

3.
License Progression


A licensee applying for a higher category of license (e.g., a licensed master social worker - conditional clinical applying for licensed clinical social worker) shall submit a new and separate application to the board.

4.
Timeliness of Submissions


All material pertaining to an application must be received by the board within a span of no more than 1 year or such shorter time as specified by the board. Applications which remain incomplete for more than 1 year shall be regarded as lapsed and will be discarded. Candidates whose applications have lapsed must submit new applications in order to pursue licensure.

5.
Examination


An applicant for licensure as a licensed clinical social worker, licensed master social worker or licensed social worker must pass the ASWB examination required by the board for the appropriate category of licensure.

6.
Fees


All applications must be accompanied by an application fee and required license fee as set forth in Chapter 10 of the rules of the Department of Professional and Financial Regulation, Office of Licensing and Registration ("Establishment of License Fees").
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