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BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS

Chapter 11:
REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE AS DENTAL HYGIENISTS

Summary: This rule establishes the requirements for licensure as a dental hygienist in the State of Maine.

I.
Standard Licensure. To be licensed, candidates for dental hygiene licensure in this category shall meet the following requirements:

A.
Have received, at least, an associate degree from a dental hygiene program accredited by the American Dental Association (ADA) Commission on Dental Accreditation (CODA) or its successor organization and provide a notarized statement under seal from the Office of the Dean of the school affirming that the applicant has met all applicable degree requirements;

B.
Have completed with a passing grade the National Board Dental Hygiene examination or the successor to that examination;
C.
Provide the Board or Subcommittee on Dental Hygienists with documentary proof of current certification in CPR;
D.
Have completed with a passing grade all parts of: (1) the Northeast Regional Board (NERB) Dental Hygiene examination or its successor; (2) any other U.S. state or regional dental hygiene examination, so long as all modules are passed; or (3) a national dental hygiene examination approved by the Board;
E.
Have successfully completed with a passing grade of 90 percent, the jurisprudence examination given by the Board; and

F.
For any applicant who has completed NERB or its successor examination more than one year prior to application for licensure in Maine, have successfully completed a personal interview before the Subcommittee. The personal interview may be waived at the Subcommittee’s or the Board’s discretion; however, the applicant shall still submit to an interview by other means as determined by the Subcommittee or the Board.

II.
Licensure by Endorsement. To be licensed, candidates for dental hygiene licensure in this category shall meet the following requirements: 

A.
Have graduated from an accredited dental hygiene program. For the purposes of this section, an accredited dental hygiene program is one that is accredited by the American Dental Association (ADA) Commission on Dental Accreditation (CODA) or its successor organization;

B.
If the candidate was graduated subsequent to 1964, have completed with a passing grade the National Board Dental Hygiene examination or its successor examination if such examination was required;
C.
Provide the Board or Subcommittee with documentary proof of current certification in CPR;
D.
Furnish proof, satisfactory to the Board or Subcommittee, that the candidate has been duly licensed to practice dental hygiene in another state or Canadian province after full compliance with the requirement of its laws;

E.
If the candidate was graduated subsequent to 1970, have completed with a passing grade the Northeast Regional Board Dental Hygiene examination if such examination was required;

F.
Have engaged in active clinical practice for a minimum of three years prior to application;

G.
Have completed with a passing grade of 90 percent, the jurisprudence examination given by the Board; and

H.
Have successfully completed a personal interview before the Subcommittee on Dental Hygienists.

I. The Board may at its discretion waive the NERB exam or the successor to that examination if all other requirements have been met.
III.
REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE WHEN RE-ENTERING THE PROFESSION OF DENTAL HYGIENE
If an applicant has not been in active practice within the preceding five years, he/she must meet all of the requirements in section I above.
IV.
REQUIREMENTS FOR DENTAL HYGIENE FACULTY LICENSE
Individuals who are issued faculty licenses by the Board will be limited to practice only within the dental, dental hygiene, or denturism school settings, including any satellite locations approved by the Board. To qualify for licensure in this category, applicants must meet the following requirements:
A.
Provide the Board with an original letter of recommendation from an employing school of dentistry, dental hygiene, or denturism stating why the Board should consider the applicant to be qualified under criteria established by these rules;

B.
Provide the Board with documentary proof of the following credentials:
(1)
Degree/Certificates Awarded (including dates); and

(2)
Previous employment experience relevant to the subject to be taught (including dates).

C.
Submit a completed application and fee; and

D.
Provide the Board with letters of good standing from any state or province where the applicant holds or has ever held a license, and demonstrate to the satisfaction of the Board, full compliance with the requirements of that other jurisdiction’s dental/dental hygiene laws and rules.

V.
TEMPORARY DENTAL HYGIENE LICENSES
A.
Six (6) Month Temporary Licenses

Temporary licenses issued pursuant to this section of the rule are valid for six (6) months from the date of issuance, and may be renewed one (1) time for an additional six (6) months if the applicant meets all of the requirements of this rule. To qualify for a temporary license pursuant to this section and Title 10 §8003 (5)(G), the applicant must:

(1)
Provide the Board with documentary proof of current, valid and unrestricted licensure in another state;
(2)
Submit a completed Board-approved application and fee; and
(3)
Successfully pass with a grade of 90 the Board’s jurisprudence examination.

Either the Board or the Board President acting on behalf of the Board may waive the requirements of (1) and (3) above for good cause.
B.
Charitable or Social Organization Temporary License
Temporary licenses issued pursuant to this section of the rule are valid for no more than one (1) year from the date of issuance. To qualify for a temporary license issued pursuant to this section and 32 M.R.S.A. §1098, the applicant must:
(1) Provide the Board with an official request for the dental hygienist from a charitable or social organization within the State indicating the purpose of the permit is to provide free dental hygiene care for the public when resident dental hygiene service is not available;

(2)
Submit a completed Board-approved application form;

(3)
Provide the Board with documentary proof of valid licensure from another state or Canadian province

(4)
Provide the Board with the application fee; and

(5)
Provide the Board with documentary proof of current CPR certification.

C.
Clinical Education Temporary License
Temporary licenses issued pursuant to this section of the rule are valid for no more than seven (7) days (from the date of issuance) in any calendar year. To qualify for a temporary license issued pursuant to this section and 32 M.R.S.A. §1098, the applicant must:
(1) Submit a completed Board-approved application; and

(2) Provide the Board with the application fee.
vI.
Waiver of Interview for License Reinstatement

The Board or Subcommittee may at its discretion waive an interview for reinstatement of a license to practice dental hygiene if it has been two (2) years or less since the lapse of their license.
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