Skip Maine state header navigation

Agencies | Online Services | Help

Skip First Level Navigation | Skip All Navigation

Home >Legal Affairs, Adjudications & Hearings> Maine Motor Vehicle Franchise Board

Maine Motor Vehicle Franchise Board

The Maine Motor Vehicle Franchise Board was created in 2003 to hear cases under Maine 's Motor Vehicle Franchise Law, Title 10 M.R.S.A., Chapter 204, subchapter 1: REGULATION OF BUSINESS PRACTICES BETWEEN MOTOR VEHICLE MANUFACTURERS, DISTRIBUTORS AND DEALERS. The Board is empowered to adopt rules, review complaints, hold hearings, render decisions and impose penalties and costs on motor vehicle manufacturers and distributors under the Franchise Law.

The Board consists of seven regular members and four alternate members. The Board Chair is an attorney appointed by the Secretary of State.

Board Members:

John McCurry, Esq. was appointed Board Chair by the Secretary of State in December, 2003. The Governor appoints the other ten members; six serve as regular members and four serve as alternate members. All are appointed to five year terms. Three regular and two alternate members must be past or present franchised Maine new motor vehicle dealers. Those regular Board members are Charles Gaunce, Donald Lee, and one regular dealer-member seat is vacant; William Sowles, and Darwin Morrison serve as alternate members. One regular and one alternate member must be past or present employees or representatives of motor vehicle franchisors. The regular Board member is John Knight, and the alternate Board member is Russell McLellan. Two regular members and one alternate member represent the general public. Bill Dowling and Tim Leavitt serve as regular public members and Jill Goodwin serves as an alternate public member.

The Board has developed rules of procedures effective January 2005 to govern hearings held before it.


Mailing Address:
Maine Motor Vehicle Franchise Board
29 State House Station
Augusta , Maine 04333-0029

Office Location:
Department of Motor Vehicles
101 Hospital Street (Route 9)
On the east side of Augusta (across from Riverview Mental Health Facility)

Office Hours:
8:00 AM 5:00 PM
Monday Friday

(207) 624-9131
(207) 624-9113 (FAX)

Contact Information:
John McCurry, Esq. 624-9131

Motor Vehicle Franchise Board Meeting Minutes:
Meeting/Hearing Minutes


Other web sites of interest:

Maine statutes:
Maine Rules of Civil Procedure:
National Alliance of Automobile Manufacturers:
National Automobile Dealers Association:
Federal Trade Commission: