
STATE BUREAU OF IDENTIFICATION 
 

45 COMMERCE DRIVE, SUITE 1 
STATE HOUSE STATION #42 

AUGUSTA, MAINE 04333 
 
 
 In accordance with provisions as set forth in Title 16 M.R.S.A. Sec. 611 et seq., the 
State Bureau of Identification is authorized to disseminate adult, conviction data to anyone 
for any purpose and other information as authorized by law. 
 
 To obtain this information you must put your request in writing on letterhead 
stationery, if available, clearly identifying the following: 

 
 
1. NAME OF PERSON INQUIRED UPON AND ANY OTHER NAMES USED                           

PREVIOUSLY, i.e.; MAIDEN NAME, OTHER MARRIED NAMES, ALIASES  

2. COMPLETE DATE OF BIRTH 

3. PURPOSE OF REQUEST, i.e.; EMPLOYMENT, VISA 

4. INQUIRER’S NAME, ADDRESS AND TELEPHONE NUMBER 

5. FEE OF $31.00 ($41.00 if notarized copy is required) FOR EACH PERSON 
INQUIRED UPON, DUE AT THE TIME THE INQUIRY IS MADE.   (Make check 
payable to:  TREASURER, STATE OF MAINE.  

 
6. MAIL INQUIRY TO ADDRESS LISTED AT TOP OF THIS NOTICE. 
 
(The fee is required of all persons, non-governmental agencies, out-of state government agencies and federal 
government agencies. Public Schools within the State of Maine are exempt from the fee. Governmental agencies 
within the State of Maine, for licensing purposes where a fee is charged for the license and the record check is 
NOT mandated by law, are subject to the fee of $31.00.  Government agencies within the State of Maine,  for 
non-licensing purposes or for licensing purposes where no fee is collected or record check is mandated by law, 
are exempt from the fee.) 

 
 

If you have questions, please call (207) 624-7240. 
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