State of Maine
Bureau of Motor Vehicles
Application for Trailer Transit License
Reference Title 29-A §462-8

Please print and use blue or black ink only. Please provide proof of insurance

Application fee: $150.00

License fee: $150.00

Plate fee (per plate): $20.00
Number of plates being requested:

Legal business name:

DBA (if applicable):
Physical address:

Street City/Town/State Zip
Mailing address:

Street/PO Box City/Town/State Zip
Shipping address:

Street City/Town/State Zip
Phone number: Fax number:
Email (if applicable): EIN/SS#
Is your business a: [] Individual —[] Partnership [ Corporation State of incorporation:
Please list below the name, phone number, date of birth, and title of each owner, partner, or officer in your business.
Name Phone No. DOB Title
Name Phone No. DOB Title
Name Phone No. DOB Title

Primary contact person:

Full name (please print)

Please list any other location(s) where business will be conducted under the same license:

Contact phone number

Street City/Town/State

Zip

Street City/Town/State

Zip

I hereby make application for a Trailer Transit License and plate(s) and affirm that I have received a copy of the rules issued by the
Secretary of State, Bureau of Motor Vehicles. I understand the rules provided, and I am able to comply with all applicable laws

and rules.

If representing a company, I further certify that I have been authorized by the company to sign on their behalf.

Signature of authorized person Printed name
MVD-354 Rev 10/2019

Official title Date
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State of Maine
Bureau of Motor Vehicles
Application for Trailer Transit License
Reference Title 29-A §462-8

Payment Information

Please make check or money order payable to Secretary of State and send to: Bureau of Motor Vehicles,
Dealer Licensing, 101 Hospital Street, 29 State House Station, Augusta, ME, 04333.

Or payment may be made by credit/debit card. Please complete the section below if you choose to pay by
credit/debit card.

If you have any questions, please contact Dealer Licensing at (207) 624-9000 ext. 52143.

Credit/Debit Card Number:

Expiration Date:

Name as it appears on the credit/debit card:

Signature of card holder:

MVD-354 Rev 10/2019
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29-250

DEPARTMENT OF THE SECRETARY OF

BUREAU OF MOTOR VEHICLES

Chapter 158: ADMINISTRATION OF TRAILER TRANSIT PLATES

SUMMARY: This rule establishes the requirements for the use of trailer transit plates pursuant to 29-A
M.R.S.A. Section 462, sub-section 8.

A DEFINITIONS

In the regulation of users of trailer transit plates, the following words, terms and phrases shall be
defined as follows:

1.

2.

The term “Secretary” shall mean the Maine Secretary of State.

The term “mover” shall mean any individual, firm, co-partnership, corporation,
association or company, or lessees, trustees or receivers thereof, operating or causing the
operation of storage trailers, light trailers, and mobile homes.

The term “temporarily in the custody of the licensee” shall mean a mobile home, o
storage trailer, or light trailer which is not owned by the mover but is entrusted to the
mover for movement. In the case of storage trailers, the owner may be deemed to be
“temporarily in the custody” if the storage trailer is leased to another party for thirty (30)
days or more, and the storage trailer is not generally in the owner’s direct control. The
term “application” shall mean original application and renewal application for trailer
transit plates.

The term “application” shall mean original application and renewal application for trailer
transit plates.

The term “highway” shall mean all public ways, roads, including the Maine Turnpike,
streets, avenues, alleys, boulevards, parks, squares, ferries, and bridges and approaches
here to within the State.

The term “trailer transit” shall mean a mobile home, er storage trailer, or light trailer
temporarily in the custody of the licensee.

The term “mobile home™ shall mean a vehicle owned by a manufacturer, dealer, or
consumer being moved from point to point or site to site. Mobile home in this context
shall include travel trailers, fifth wheel travel trailers, park trailers, office trailers, portable
classroom trailers, but not folding camper trailers.

The term “storage trailer” shall mean an empty trailer or semitrailer which is moved
infrequently over the highways to and from its business location and sites for stationary
storage use.
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9. The term “license” shall mean a document of the Secretary’s design that specifies the
location of the place of business by the trailer transit mover for posting the place or
business of the mover.

10. The term “registration certificate” shall mean a document that specifies the location of
the place of business occupied by the trailer transit mover which shall be carried in the
power unit.

11. The term “light trailer” shall mean a trailer or semitrailer with an unladen weight of 3,000

pounds or less, provided that the load is owned by or in the custody of the transporting
business.

COMMUNICATIONS

1. All written communication and documents should be addressed to the Secretary of State,
Bureau of Motor Vehicles, Dealer and Agent Services, 29 State House Station, Augusta,
Maine 04333. All communications and documents are deemed to be officially received

only when delivered at the offices of the Secretary of State in Augusta, Maine.

2. Every license holder in addressing communications to the Secretary must use the name
shown upon the holder’s license.

3. Telephone number is (207) 624-9000 Extension 52143.

ADDRESS, CHANGE OF

A change in the address of the principal place of business of any carrier must be immediately

reported to the Secretary of State.

REMITTANCE

1. Remittances to the Secretary may be by credit card, or money order or bank draft,
payable to the Secretary of State or the Treasurer of the State of Maine. Personal checks
will be accepted subject to collection. Canadian checks should be drawn on a United

States Bank.

2. Remittances in currency or coin are wholly at the risk of the remitter. The Secretary
assumes no responsibility for loss of currency or coin sent by mail.

3. All remittances must be paid in United States Currency.

APPLICATIONS

Original applications and renewal applications for licenses shall be made upon forms respectively
prescribed and furnished by the Secretary.
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THE FOLLOWING FEES PROVIDED BY TITLE 29-A, M.R.S.A., SECTION 852 MUST
BE PAID IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE PROVISIONS THEREOF.

1. Original application ~ $150.00
2. Renewal application ~ $150.00
3. Plate $ 20.00

LICENSE AND REGISTRATION

The license shall be displayed in a prominent location at the place of business of the mobile
home, ef storage or light trailer mover. The registration certificate shall be carried in the power
unit when moving mobile homes, of storage or light trailers.

PLATE DISPLAY

While on the highways the plate shall be displayed at the rear of the storage trailer, mobile home
or light trailer and the validation sticker shall be displayed on the lower right side of the plate.
ISSUING PERIOD

The licensing period for trailer transit plates shall be from January 1 through December 31.
Application for additional plates applied for during the period between the first day of September
and the last day of December in any year will pay half the normal plate fee. It shall be lawful to
use and display on mobile home, storage and light trailers the number plates issued for the next
succeeding year on or after December 1st.

MISUSE

Only residents as defined in Title 29-A Section 101 (62) may participate in the program. Any
violations of 29-A M.R.S.A. Section 462 or of these rules could result in the cancellation of the
license and registration certificate(s).

MUNICIPAL FISCAL IMPACT

This Rule will have no fiscal impact on Municipalities.

PROPERTY TAX PAYMENTS

Mobile home movers must provide us with proof, if not exempted, that the property taxes and sewage fees
have been paid. This may be done by facsimile or other reasonable means.
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EFFECTIVE DATE:
August 14, 1991 (EMERGENCY)

EFFECTIVE DATE OF PERMANENT RULE:
December 31, 1991

AMENDED:
August 9, 1994

EFFECTIVE DATE (ELECTRONIC CONVERSION):
May 4, 1996

NON-SUBSTANTIVE CHANGES:
December 20, 2000 - converted to MS Word, formatting

AMENDED:
July 5, 2009 — filing 2009-290
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