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Application for State of Maine Identification Card 
     (Please Print Clearly)                                                 FEE $5.00  

 
To obtain an identification card you must provide proof of legal presence in the United States and 

documentation of Maine residency. 
 

 
Name: ________________________________________________________________________________________________________________                  
                               First                                                   Middle                                                           Last 
 
 
Mailing Address: ______________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 
Physical Residence: ___________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 
Date of Birth: ____/____/____       Sex:   Male     Female              Social Security Number: __________________________________ 
 
 
Height: ________Ft. ________In.       Weight: ________ lbs.    Hair Color: _____________    Eye Color: _____________ 
 
Telephone Number: _______________________    
 
Are you now on active duty with the U.S. armed services and declaring Maine as your legal residence?   YES 
 

If you wish to be an organ and tissue donor, check box to consent to organ and tissue donation.    YES 
 
 

By checking “yes” above, you are consenting to organ and tissue donation. Your consent to be an organ and 
tissue donor will then be clearly indicated on the front of your identification card with a small red heart. For 
additional information on organ and tissue donation, you may contact the Maine Transplant Program (207-871-
2000), the National Kidney Foundation of Maine (207-772-7270) or New England Donor Bank (1-800-446-
6362) or visit our website at www.maine.gov/sos/bmv/organ.htm   It is important to discuss your decision with 
your family.  
 
 

Social Security Number Disclosure Statement 
This statement is made in accordance with the Federal Privacy Act of 1974, Section 7(b). Disclosure of your 
social security number is required by 29-A MRSA §1301(5) and (6) to apply for or renew a driver’s license or 
non-driver identification card. Your social security number will be used solely for identification purposes and 
will be kept confidential. 
 
“I understand that knowingly supplying false information on this form is a Class D crime under Title 17-A, 
punishable by confinement of up to 364 days or monetary fine of up to $2000.00 or both” 
 
 
 
__________________________________________________________________________                 _____________________________________ 
                                                 Signature in ink                                                                                                   Date 
 

See reverse for acceptable identification documents  



Bureau of Motor Vehicles License Information 
101 Hospital Street, 29 State House Station, Augusta, ME  04333-0029 

207 624-9000 Extension 52114      Maine relay 711 
 

 

Two (2) of the following documents are required for identification 
 

One must indicate your date of birth and the other must bear your written signature. If you are the 
holder of a driver’s license from any state or province, that license must also be produced.  Photocopies 
are not accepted. 

 
 
____ Adoption Record               ____ Draft Card                  ____ Parent/Guardian**  
 
____ Baptismal Record   ____ Driver’s License           ____ Passport 
                                                                                                                                   
____ Birth Certificate   ____ Driver’s Permit    ____ Permanent Resident Card 
 
____ Certificate of Marriage  ____ Employment Authorization Card ____ Resident Alien Card 
 
____ Citizenship Document  ____ Machine Readable Visa               ____ School Record/Transcript  
                                                                                                                                            (Certified) 
 
____ Concealed Weapon Permit ____ Medical Record/Hospital Record  ____ Social Security Card 

 
____ Copy of Marital Application         ____ Military Dependent I.D. Card  
  
____ Court Document   ____ Military Discharge (DD-214)            
 
____ Divorce Papers   ____ Military I.D. Card   
 
                   
         
 **Parent or Guardian must appear in person and prove identity.  This option applies only to minors. 
                                     

                     

NOTE: In addition to an original birth certificate, a certified copy of a birth certificate is acceptable.   
   A document is certified if it has an embossed seal or stamp of the issuing agency.  A photocopy of a 
   certified copy of a birth certificate or an original birth certificate is not acceptable. 
 
 
 
_________________________________________________________________ 
                                           Issuing Official 
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