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Disclaimer: The information contained in this chapter is not intended to be used as legal advice. Please
refer to the most current specific state statutes and your own legal counsel when warranted. Statutes may be
referred to throughout this chapter.

FEDERAL REQUIREMENTS

There is no federal law which mandates a specific retention period for health records. Hence, retention
schedules for health records are governed by state laws, requirements of regulatory agencies, the statute of
limitations, and the healthcare provider's own needs.> The State of Maine has no laws regarding record
retention, although retention of hospital records is covered in the Department of Health and Human Services'
hospital licensing regulations.

HOSPITAL LICENSING REGULATIONS
The Regulations for the Licensure of General and Specialty Hospitals in the State of Maine state:

XII.B. Records Maintenance
Records shall be maintained for each person receiving service at the hospital
or its extended service sites.

XII.B.1. Records shall be preserved, either on paper or by other
electronic/optical means, for a period of seven (7) years.
If the patient is a minor, the record must be retained for

at least six (6) years past the age of majority.

XII.B.2. Records must be secured in a manner that provides
protection from unauthorized access, use, or damage.

These regulations do not apply to healthcare providers other than hospitals. In particular, there is no
state law or regulation covering retention of physicians' office records. However, if the physician’s office is
now owned by a hospital or is somehow under the hospital’s administrative control, it must follow the
hospital’s record retention policies. MeHIMA recommends that facilities other than hospitals follow the
Hospital Licensing Regulations listed above.

! AHIMA Position Statement on Retention of Health Information, June 2002.
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EXCEPTIONS TO RETENTION RATES

1. State of Maine regulations require that radiology reports be maintained permanently.
2. Medicare Secondary Payer Questionnaires (MSP forms) are to be kept for 10 years.

REGULATORY AGENCIES

Medicare's Conditions of Participation require that health records be retained for at least five years, or longer
if required by state or local laws. The Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations does
not mandate a specific retention period.

It should be noted that employee health records are covered by an extensive and complex set of regulations
issued by the Occupational Safety and Health Administration. These require that records of any employee's
occupational exposure to blood-borne pathogens must be retained for the duration of employment, plus 30
years. The manager of the healthcare facility's employee health service should be familiar with this and other
OSHA requirements.

STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS

Each state has a statute of limitations which specifies the period of time during which malpractice litigation
may be initiated. The statute is important to health information professionals because once the time period
has expired, a patient's health records are no longer needed for defense against litigation, although they may
well be needed for continuing care or for research. Maine's statute of limitations is as follows:

Actions for professional negligence shall be commenced within 3 years after the cause of action
accrues. For the purposes of this section, a cause of action accrues on the date of the act or omission
giving rise to the injury. Notwithstanding the provisions of Title 4 8853, relating to minority,
actions for professional negligence by a minor shall be commenced within 6 years after the cause of
the action accrues or within 3 years after the minor reaches the age of majority, whichever first
occurs. This section does not apply where the cause of action is based upon the leaving of a foreign
object in the body in which case the cause of the action shall accrue when the plaintiff discovers or
reasonably should have discovered the harm. For the purposes of this section, the term "foreign
body" does not include a chemical compound, prosthetic aid or object implanted or permitted to
remain in the patient's body as a part of the health care for professional services . . . If the provision
in this section reducing the time allowed for a minor to bring a claim is found to be void or
otherwise invalidated by a court of proper jurisdiction, then the statute of limitations for professional
negligence shall be 2 years after the cause of action accrues, except that no claim brought under the
3-year statute may be extinguished by the operation of this paragraph. (24 MRSA 82902)

Thus, from the standpoint of legal defense, health records of adults should be retained for a minimum of six
years, and those of minors should be retained until the minor reaches age 21. This applies to records of all
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healthcare providers, including physician office records.

NOTE: HAD quaisai municipalities have a different statute of limitations. The patient has six months after
the date of the incident to notify the hospital that they intend to bring a claim against the facility. The patient
then has two years to file suit.

PROVIDER’S NEEDS

Finally, the needs of the individual healthcare provider should be considered in developing a record retention
schedule. If the provider's records are fully computerized and can be easily archived to optical or magnetic
media, the records should probably be retained on a permanent basis. If the provider's records are paper-
based, but the technology is available to store them on optical disk or to microfilm them, then permanent
retention would also be advisable. When the resources are not available to convert paper records to other
media, but space limitations prohibit permanent retention of records, providers must weigh the advantages
and disadvantages of several different options. Inactive paper records could be stored off-site; inactive
records could be thinned, destroying less important documents but retaining the vital ones; or inactive
records could be destroyed in toto.

Examples of some records that facilities may want to consider saving are summaries of care for
genetic reasons or for criminal investigations and possibly immunization records. In any case, retention
and destruction protocols or procedures should be clearly documented in each facility’s policies.

AHIMA POSITION STATEMENT

The American Health Information Management Association issued a Position Statement on Retention of
Health Information in March 1994, Rev. June 2002. The following is an excerpt from that statement:

Patient health information must be available to meet the needs of continued patient care, legal
requirements, research, education, and other legitimate uses.

Each healthcare provider should develop a retention schedule for patient health information that
meets the needs of its patients, physicians, researchers, and other legitimate users, and complies with
legal, regulatory, and accreditation requirements. Providers should develop guidelines that specify
what information should be kept, the time period for which it should be kept, and the storage
medium (paper, microfilm, optical disk, magnetic tape, or other).

In the absence of specific state requirements for record retention, providers should keep health
information for at least the period specified by the state's statutes of limitations. A longer retention
period is prudent, since the statute may not begin to run until the potential plaintiff learns of the
causal relation between an injury and the care received. If the patient was a minor, the provider
should retain health information until the patient reaches the age of majority (as defined by state
law) plus the period of the statute of limitations, unless otherwise provided by state law.
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Unless longer periods of time are required by state or federal law, the American Health Information
Management Association recommends that patient health information be retained for the following
minimum time periods:

Patient health records (adults) 10 years after the most recent encounter
Patient health records (minors) Age of majority plus statute of limitations
Diagnostic images (such as x-ray 5 years

film) 10 years

Disease index 10 years after infant reaches age of
Fetal heart monitor records majority

Master patient index Permanently

Operative index 10 years

Physician index 10 years

Register of births Permanently

Register of deaths Permanently

Register of surgical procedures Permanently

Radiology reports Permanently

DESTRUCTION OF RECORDS

When medical records are to be destroyed, it is important that everyone involved in the process be
committed to protecting patient confidentiality. If the records are to be processed by an independent
contractor, the health information manager should ensure that protection of confidentiality is emphasized in
the service contract. Require a certificate of destruction from the contractor. Note: A business associate
agreement is required with any independent contractor who has access to PHI. (See the manual chapter on
HIPAA.) If a contractor is not used, maintain a log of what records were destroyed, how they were
destroyed, and when.

FACILITY CLOSURE

When the decision is made to close a healthcare facility, the governing board should give careful thought to
preserving and protecting the facility's health records. Ideally, records would be transferred to another
healthcare facility, where they would be made available to patients and their healthcare providers and where
they would be subject to the same retention schedule as the facility's own records. If such an arrangement is
not possible, protection of access should be made a part of any other record disposal plan.

It is recommended to post a notice in local newspapers to notify patients of the plan to destroy records. This
notice should give ample time for the patient to respond before the records are destroyed.
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