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18 DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATIVE AND FINANCIAL SERVICES 

 

125 MAINE REVENUE SERVICES 

 

Chapter 205: CERTIFICATION OF ASSESSORS 

 

SUMMARY: Certification of property tax assessors in the State of Maine is the responsibility 

of Maine Revenue Services (“MRS”).  This rule establishes levels of assessor 

certification, governs the nature and timing of the Certified Maine Assessor 

examinations, establishes requirements for annual certification renewal, and 

outlines the enforcement of the continuing education requirements imposed by 

statute. 
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.01 General 

 

Title 36 the Maine Revised Statutes at Sections 310-314 requires MRS to establish and 

maintain an ongoing program for certifying that an individual is qualified to perform the 

assessing function in this State.  This includes an examination of an individual’s knowledge 

of applicable property tax law and techniques of assessing, as well as continuing education 

(“CE”) and certificate renewal.  The Property Tax Division of MRS administers this 

program, including administration of all assessor training and certification activities.  The 

Director of the Property Tax Division may appoint an individual to the position of Chief of 

Training and Certification, who will administer the certification and certification renewal 

processes on behalf of MRS. 

 

For purposes of this rule, “assessing function” means duties related to the valuation of 

property, property tax administration, or the formation or implementation of property tax 

policy. 

 

 

.02 Certification 

 

A. Examination.  To receive a Certified Maine Assessor (“CMA”) designation, an 

individual must pass the CMA examination (“Exam”).  The Exam is composed of 
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five parts and has an eight-hour time limit.  A score of 70 or higher is required on 

each part to pass the Exam.     

 

1. MRS determines the time, place, and procedures for administration of the 

Exam.  Failure to comply with these procedures, including, for example, the use 

of unauthorized reference materials or the exchange or communication of 

Exam-related information between candidates during the Exam, may result in an 

automatic failure of the candidate and may, at the discretion of the Director of 

the Property Tax Division, render the candidate ineligible to sit for future 

Exams. 

 

2. MRS will report Exam results to candidates by first-class mail within 30 days of 

the Exam date.  MRS may also email results to a candidate upon request.  MRS 

may release information in a candidate’s training and certification file only to 

the candidate, unless otherwise ordered by a court. 

 

3. A candidate who fails to pass the Exam, but achieves a passing score of 70 or 

higher on one or more parts of the Exam, will be allowed to carry the score for 

those parts to subsequent attempts to pass the Exam.  For the purposes of this 

provision, any passing score for a single part will remain in effect for a period 

of 18 months from the date the score was achieved.  Within the 18-month time 

period, a candidate need only complete the Exam parts for which he or she did 

not achieve a passing score. 

 

B. Education and experience.  MRS awards advanced certification levels for 

individuals who meet certain criteria in addition to passing the Exam.  These 

advanced certification levels require experience in the assessing field and completion 

of advanced assessor training.  Advanced assessor training includes courses approved 

by MRS as advanced continuing education (“ACE”) plus at least one course from the 

list of International Association of Assessing Officers (“IAAO”) courses under the 

related certification level requirements in subsection C below or an MRS-approved 

equivalent.   

 

C. Certification levels.  MRS offers the following certification levels: 

 

1. Certified Maine Assessor (“CMA”).  The CMA is a certification awarded to 

an individual who successfully completes the Exam, thereby demonstrating that 

he or she possesses the basic knowledge required to perform the assessing 

function for a Maine municipality on a full-time basis. 

 

2. Certified Maine Assessor, Level 2 (“CMA-2”).  The CMA-2 is a certification 

awarded to an individual who has successfully completed the requirements for 

this level, thereby demonstrating that he or she possesses an intermediate level 

of knowledge and abilities required to perform the assessing function for a 

Maine municipality on a full-time basis.  To obtain a CMA-2 certification, an 
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individual must complete the requirements for a CMA certification and the 

following requirements:  

 

a. Perform the assessing function for compensation for one year; and 

 

b. Complete a total of 100 hours of advanced assessor training approved by 

MRS.  Advanced assessor training for this level must include successful 

completion (including any test included as part of the course) of at least 

one of the following courses or an MRS-approved equivalent: 

 

i. IAAO Course 101 – Fundamentals of Real Property Appraisal; 

 

ii. IAAO Course 102 – Income Approach to Valuation I; or 

 

iii. IAAO Course 112 – Income Approach to Valuation II. 

 

3. Certified Maine Assessor, Level 3 (“CMA-3”).  The CMA-3 is a certification 

awarded to an individual who has successfully completed the requirements for 

this level, thereby demonstrating that he or she possesses an advanced level of 

knowledge and abilities required to perform the assessing function for a Maine 

municipality on a full-time basis.  To obtain a CMA-3 certification, an 

individual must complete the requirements for a CMA certification and the 

following requirements:  

 

a. Perform the assessing function for compensation for three years; and  

 

b. Complete a total of 200 hours of advanced assessor training approved by 

MRS.  Advanced assessor training for this level must include the 

requirements for CMA-2 certification and the successful completion 

(including any test included as part of the course) of at least one of the 

following courses or an MRS-approved equivalent: 

 

i. IAAO Course 201 – Appraisal of Land; 

 

ii. IAAO Course 300 – Fundamentals of Mass Appraisal; 

 

iii. IAAO Course 311 – Real Property Modeling Concepts; or 

 

iv. IAAO Course 500 – Assessment of Personal Property. 

 

4. Certified Maine Assessor, Level 4 (“CMA-4”).  The CMA-4 is a certification 

awarded to an individual who has successfully completed the requirements for 

this level, thereby demonstrating that he or she possesses an advanced level of 

knowledge and abilities required to perform the assessing function for a Maine 

municipality on a full-time basis.  To obtain a CMA-4 certification, an 
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individual must complete the requirements for a CMA certification and the 

following requirements:  

 

a. Perform the assessing function for compensation for five years; and  

 

b. Complete a total of 300 hours of advanced assessor training approved by 

MRS.  Advanced assessor training for this level must include the 

requirements for CMA-3 certification plus completion (including any test 

included as part of the course) of at least one of the following courses or 

an MRS-approved equivalent: 

 

i. IAAO Course 331 – Mass Appraisal Practices and Procedures; 

 

ii. IAAO Course 400 – Assessment Administration; 

 

iii. IAAO Course 402 – Property Tax Policy; 

 

iv. IAAO Course 600 – Principles and Techniques of Cadastral 

Mapping; or 

 

v. IAAO Course 601 – Cadastral Mapping – Methods & Applications. 

 

5. Certified Assessment Technician (“CAT”).  The CAT was a certification that 

MRS formerly awarded to an individual who successfully completed the CAT 

examination, thereby demonstrating that he or she possesses the basic 

knowledge and abilities required to perform the assessing function for a Maine 

municipality.  As of August 2017, MRS no longer awards new CAT 

certifications.  An individual previously certified as a CAT may continue to be 

certified as a CAT, provided the certification renewal criteria under section .03 

below are met. 

 

 

.03 Certification renewal 

 

A. Individuals seeking certification renewal.  MRS annually renews certification 

levels pursuant to 36 M.R.S. § 311.  Certification renewal requires the completion of 

the applicable number of hours of approved CE during a calendar year.  The CE 

requirement begins on January 1 immediately following the date on which an 

individual meets the CAT, CMA, CMA-2, CMA-3, or CMA-4 certification 

requirements.  An individual seeking renewal must provide evidence of completion of 

the CE requirement to MRS before a certificate will be renewed.  Individuals must 

attend and satisfactorily complete an approved CE activity to receive credit for the 

activity.  An individual certificate holder who has fulfilled the current year’s CE 

requirement may apply excess hours of CE toward the following year’s requirement.  

Excess hours may not be carried forward beyond the calendar year following the year 

in which the hours were earned. 
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 An individual with a CAT or CMA certification who fails to complete the required 

CE during a calendar year will be notified by MRS on or before January 31 of the 

following year that his or her certificate may be revoked.  Certification may be 

retained if that individual completes the required number of hours of CE for both the 

previous and current years before the end of the calendar year in which the revocation 

notice is received.  If an individual receiving a notice of revocation does not complete 

the required number of CE hours for the current and previous year, that individual’s 

certification will be revoked.   

 

 If a CMA who has earned an advanced certification (CMA-2, CMA-3, or CMA-4) 

fails to attain the required hours of ACE for certification renewal at that level for any 

year, MRS will downgrade that individual’s certification to the level for which he or 

she has qualified.  For the calendar year following the year in which a certification 

downgrade is received, an individual may renew the advanced certification through 

the same process as for CMA certification renewal (completion of ACE for both prior 

and current years).   

 

B. Continuing education and advanced continuing education.  Activities that may 

qualify for CE include courses, seminars, workshops, and teaching assignments.  A 

CE activity must consist of an educational presentation related to property tax, 

assessment, appraisal, or other topic related to property tax administration. 

 

 An individual who wants to present a CE activity must submit a written request for 

approval to MRS at least 30 days before the activity.  A request for approval must be 

in a format approved by MRS.  A CE activity may include homework, classroom 

problems and examinations.   

 

 MRS will designate CE activities that qualify for ACE.  These activities will involve 

concepts that are above an introductory level and are directly related to the municipal 

assessing field.  A list of the currently approved ongoing ACE courses is available on 

the Property Tax Division website.  Other courses may be approved for ACE at the 

discretion of MRS.  MRS may seek written recommendations from professional 

groups and organizations regarding other courses that may qualify for ACE. 

 

C. Required certification renewal training hours. 

 

1. CMA certification renewal.  For certification renewal as a CMA, an individual 

must complete 16 hours of CE during the calendar year.  An individual must 

also complete an approved ethics training course once every three years.  Ethics 

training must be approved by MRS and will count towards the annual CE hours 

requirement. 

 

2. CMA-2 certification renewal.  For certification renewal as a CMA-2, an 

individual must complete 21 hours of CE during the calendar year, including at 

least 5 hours of ACE.  An individual must also complete an approved ethics 
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training course once every three years.  Ethics training and ACE must be 

approved by MRS and will count towards the annual CE hours requirement. 

 

3. CMA-3 certification renewal.  For certification renewal as a CMA-3, an 

individual must complete 28 hours of CE during the calendar year, including at 

least 12 hours of ACE.  An individual must complete an approved ethics 

training course once every three years.  Ethics training and ACE must be 

approved by MRS and will count towards the annual CE hours requirement. 

 

4.   CMA-4 certification renewal.  For certification renewal as a CMA-4, an 

individual must complete 28 hours of CE during the calendar year, including at 

least 12 hours of ACE.  An individual must complete an approved ethics 

training course once every three years.  Ethics training and ACE must be 

approved by MRS and will count towards the annual CE hours requirement. 

 

5. CAT certification renewal.  For certification renewal as a CAT, an individual 

must complete 16 hours of CE during the calendar year.  An individual must 

also complete an approved ethics training course once every three years.  Ethics 

training must be approved by MRS and will count towards the annual CE hours 

requirement. 

 

 

.04 Inactive/retired status 

 

 MRS may grant Certified Maine Assessor-Inactive/Retired (“CMA-I/R”) status to any 

CMA who is not actively performing the assessing function and who submits a written 

request for such status to MRS.  While classified as CMA-I/R, an individual must not 

receive compensation to perform assessing functions.   

 

 While classified as CMA-I/R, an individual advertising or offering services based on his or 

her prior CMA, CMA-2, CMA-3, or CMA-4 certification must properly note his or her 

status as inactive or retired.  An individual classified as CMA-I/R may request 

recertification at any time.  Recertification requires a written request, completion of an 

approved ethics course, and twice the number of CE (including ACE) hours required for 

the associated certification level during the calendar year preceding the recertification 

request. 

 

  

.05 Disciplinary action 

 

 MRS may, for cause, revoke any certificate issued under 36 M.R.S. § 311 after a hearing 

and findings of fact.  If MRS believes that there may be cause for revocation of a 

certificate, a revocation hearing will be scheduled.  MRS will provide the certificate holder 

30-days’ written notice of the time and place of the hearing and the reasons for the 

potential revocation.  The hearing will provide an opportunity for the certificate holder to 

hear any evidence adverse to him or her and to present any evidence or argument.  
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Following the hearing, MRS will determine whether there is cause for revocation of the 

certificate.  Cause for revocation may include, but is not limited to, a determination that 1) 

a certificate holder’s conduct negatively affects that individual’s ability or fitness to 

perform the assessing function for a Maine municipality, or 2) a certificate holder’s 

continued service as an assessor is not in the public interest.   

 

 If, after a hearing, MRS determines that there is cause to revoke a certificate, MRS will 

issue a written order of revocation.  The order will include findings of fact, notice to the 

certificate holder of the revocation, and appeal rights.  The revocation will be effective as 

of the date the order is issued.  A written order of revocation by MRS to revoke a certificate 

is a determination subject to reconsideration pursuant to 36 M.R.S. § 151.  In lieu of 

revocation, MRS may impose conditions on a certificate holder that he or she must meet to 

retain certification, including, but not limited to, additional training or a probationary 

period.  An individual whose certification has been revoked may reapply for certification 

on terms required by MRS that may include passing the Exam after no less than one year 

from the date of revocation. 
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