
VOUCHER NUMBER
AND DATE PAID

1
2
3
4

COMPUTATION and RECORD of PAYMENTS
TOTAL ESTIMATE

ORIGINAL OR AMENDED

$
$
$
$

AMOUNT OF
INSTALLMENT PAYABLE

APRIL 19	 $
JUNE 15	 $
SEPT. 15	 $
JAN. 17	 $

2021 OVERPAYMENT
APPLIED TO INSTALLMENTS

$
$
$
$

BALANCE
DUE

$
$
$
$

TOTAL OF
PAYMENTS

$
$
$
$

•	 These instructions are intended for the majority of taxpayers who report 
on a calendar year basis. If you report on a fiscal year basis, the dates 
should be changed to correspond with your fiscal year.

•	 You may download additional worksheets and vouchers from the internet 
at www.maine.gov/revenue/tax-return-forms or call (207) 624-7894. If you 
need help completing the worksheet on the back, call (207) 626-8475.

•	 Please file the original or downloaded estimated tax voucher with Maine 
Revenue Services.  Make a copy of the voucher for your records.

1)	 WHO MUST MAKE ESTIMATED TAX PAYMENTS. In most cases, 
you must pay estimated tax if your estimated Maine income tax for the year, 
over and above tax withheld and allowable credits, is $1,000 or more and if 
your tax liability for the prior year was also $1,000 or more.

2)	 HOW TO CALCULATE YOUR ESTIMATED TAX. Use the worksheet 
on page 2 to calculate your estimated tax. To avoid penalties, the estimated 
tax paid must be no less than the smaller of the following:

a)	 An amount equal to the preceding year’s tax liability, if the preceding 
year was a taxable year of 12 months; or

b)	 An amount equal to 90% of the tax liability for the current taxable 
year.

You will also find information concerning the Maine personal exemption, 
standard deduction, and the tax rate schedules on page 2. The exemption 
amount, standard deduction amounts and tax rate schedules are those in 
effect under current law for tax years beginning in 2022.

Note – Special Rule for Unusual Event Income.
Definitions.  For purposes of this special rule, the following terms have 

the following meanings:
Maine taxable income means income subject to Maine income tax, but 

which is not subject to Maine income tax withholding. For example, for 
purposes of this special rule, Maine taxable income includes business income 
and capital gains, but does not include wages.

Unusual event income means Maine taxable income (as defined above) 
received during an estimated tax installment period of the current tax year, but 
only if that amount exceeds the Maine taxable income received during the same 
estimated tax installment period of the prior tax year by $500,000 or more.

Special Rule. If you have unusual event income, you must pay a Maine 
estimated tax on that income equal to 90% of the tax liability on that income.  
This special rule prohibits you from utilizing the prior year tax liability rule 
under paragraph a above to determine the amount of Maine estimated tax 
due on unusual event income. The estimated tax due on unusual event 
income is in addition to the estimated tax due on any other income received 
during the installment period (such as pension or annuity income subject 
to Maine income tax withholding where the Maine withholding amount is 
insufficient). Maine income that is not unusual event income is subject to 
the regular estimated tax requirements contained in 36 M.R.S. § 5228 and 
briefly described in these instructions.

Example: If your Maine taxable income not subject to withholding during 
January-March 2021 was $300,000 and your Maine taxable income during 
January-March 2022 is $900,000, you have unusual event income (i.e., the 
2022 income amount exceeds the 2021 income amount by $500,000 or more). 
Therefore, under the special rule, you must pay a Maine estimated tax for the 
January-March 2022 installment period equal to 90% of the tax liability on the 
$600,000 ($900,000 - $300,000). You cannot, with respect to the $600,000, 
calculate the estimated tax based on your prior year tax liability (as may be 
allowed for other income).

Maine Revenue Services
P.O. Box 9101

Augusta, Maine
04332-9101

Extension to pay; waiver of penalty. If you are subject to the special 
rule described above and you meet all of the criteria listed below, you are 
entitled to an extension of time to pay the estimated tax or to receive a waiver 
of penalty associated with the unusual event income. Any extension of time 
granted may not extend past the original due date for filing the return for 
the tax year. Requests for extension of time to pay or for waiver of penalty 
must be submitted to the State Tax Assessor in writing. You must meet all 
of the following:

a)	 You are an owner in a pass-through entity;
b)	 You had no control over the distribution of the unusual event income;
c)	 You did not actually or constructively receive payment of the unusual 

event income; and
d)	 You pay the estimated tax on the unusual event income by the 

estimated tax installment payment due date following the installment 
period during which you actually or constructively receive the unusual 
event income.

3)	 WHEN AND WHERE TO MAKE PAYMENTS. The first installment 
payment is due on April 19, 2022.  You may either pay all of your estimated 
tax at that time or pay in four equal installments on April 19, 2022, June 15, 
2022, September 15, 2022, and January 17, 2023. Payments can be made 
electronically using Maine EZ Pay (no forms required) at www.maine.gov/
revenue or send your payment with the appropriate voucher Form 1040ES-
ME to the address printed on the voucher. If you overpaid your 2021 income 
tax and elected to apply the overpayment to your 2022 estimated tax, that 
overpayment may be partially or fully applied to any installment.

4)	 FARMERS AND FISHERMEN. If at least 2/3 of your estimated 
adjusted gross income is from farming or fishing, your estimated tax may 
be paid in a single installment due on or before January 17, 2023. If you file 
your 2022 individual income tax return on or before March 1, 2023, and pay 
the total tax at that time, you need not make an estimated tax payment.

5)	 CHANGES IN INCOME. Even though you are not required to pay 
estimated tax on April 19, 2022, your expected income may change so 
that you will be required to pay estimated tax later in the year.  When the 
change becomes known and the estimated tax is calculated, payment may 
be made at one time on the next installment due date or it may be paid in 
equal installments on the remaining due dates. If your estimated tax liability 
decreases because of an income change, reduce the remaining installments.

6)	 UNDERPAYMENT PENALTY. A penalty accrues automatically 
on underpayments of the required installment amount for the period of 
underpayment. The penalty does not apply if each required payment was 
made on time and if the total estimated tax paid is equal to 90% (66 2/3% for 
farmers and fishermen) of the income tax liability for the current year or 100% 
of the tax liability for the preceding year, if that year was a taxable year of 12 
months. If you have unusual event income, you may be eligible to request an 
extension of time to pay the estimated tax or to request a waiver of the penalty 
associated with unusual event income.  See note under item 2 above.

Maine EZ Pay
You may pay your income taxes electronically at www.maine.gov/
revenue. Electronic payments eliminate the necessity of filing 
Forms 1040ES-ME (income tax estimated payment vouchers).  

Note: Certain taxpayers with large annual tax liabilities are required to 
remit tax payments electronically. See Maine Rule 102 on the Maine 
Revenue Services website at www.maine.gov/revenue (select Laws & 
Rules). To use Maine EZ Pay you must pre-register online with personal and 
bank account information, and payments will be withdrawn from the checking 
or savings account that is set up in the registration. For more information, 
see www.maine.gov/revenue (select Electronic Services).

STATE OF MAINE
ESTIMATED TAX FOR INDIVIDUALS

FORM 1040ES-ME INSTRUCTIONS

Revised: December 20211



1.	 Total income expected in 2022 (line 1, 2022 federal Estimated Tax Worksheet)...............................................1.
2.	 Deduct: interest on U.S. obligations, social security and railroad retirement benefits, state income tax refunds, 

and pension income deduction amounts (see worksheet below) included in line 1...........................................2.
3.	 Line 1 less line 2.................................................................................................................................................3.
4.	 Add - Interest from municipal and state bonds other than Maine.......................................................................4.
5.	 Adjusted gross income for Maine (line 3 plus line 4)..........................................................................................5.
6.	 a.	Deductions - standard or itemized (up to $31,150). See instructions below .......... 6a.
	 b.	Exemptions - enter $4,450 ($8,900, if married filing jointly).
	 Except, enter $0 if you (or if married filing jointly, both you and your spouse) may be claimed
	 as a dependent on another person’s return. If married filing jointly and only one spouse may
	 be claimed as a dependent on another person’s return, enter $4,450.
	 Note: If your Maine adjusted gross income is over $286,200, complete the Worksheet for
	 Phaseout of Personal Exemption Amount available at www.maine.gov/revenue/tax-return-forms..6b.
7.	 Total of lines 6a and 6b.......................................................................................................................................7.
8.	 Maine estimated taxable income (line 5 less line 7)...........................................................................................8.
9.	 Estimated tax (apply proper tax rate schedule below to amount on line 8)........................................................9.
10.	 Tax credit recapture amounts ..........................................................................................................................10.
11.	 Credits (See instructions below)....................................................................................................................... 11.
12.	 Estimated Maine income tax to be withheld during the year............................................................................12.
13.	 ESTIMATED TAX (add lines 9 and 10 less lines 11 and 12) ...........................................................................13.

TAX RATE SCHEDULES — (Line 9 above)
For Single Individual and Married Person Filing Separate Return

If the taxable income is:	 The Tax is:
Less than $23,000		  5.8%
	$23,000 but less than $54,450		  $1,334 plus 6.75% 	of excess over $23,000
	$54,450 or more		  $3,457 plus 	7.15% of excess over $54,450

For Unmarried or Legally Separated Individuals Who Qualify as 
Heads of Households

If the taxable income is:	 The Tax is:
Less than $34,500		  5.8%
	$34,500 but less than $81,700		  $2,001 plus 6.75%	 of excess over $34,500
	$81,700 or more		  $5,187 plus 7.15% 	of excess over $81,700

For Married Individuals and Surviving Spouses Filing Joint Returns
If the taxable income is:	 The Tax is:
Less than $46,000		  5.8%
	$46,000 but less than $108,900		  $2,668 plus 6.75%	 of excess over $46,000
	$108,900	or more		  $6,914 plus 7.15%	 of excess over $108,900

Form 1040ES-ME	 2022 ESTIMATED TAX WORKSHEET (Keep for your records)	

MAINE DEDUCTIONS — (Line 6a above)
Note: If your Maine adjusted gross income is over $85,850, your itemized deductions 
or standard deduction may be reduced. See the Worksheet for Phaseout of 
Itemized/Standard Deductions available at www.maine.gov/revenue/tax-return-
forms.
Itemized Deductions:  If you plan to itemize deductions, enter the estimated 
total of your itemized deductions (see Maine Form 1040, Schedule 2 and 
related instructions). If you do not plan to itemize deductions, enter the 
standard deduction amount for your filing status shown below.
Standard Deduction for 2022:
	 Single---------------------------- $12,950 	 Married Filing Jointly or Qualifying
	 Head of Household---------- $19,400	 Widow(er)---------------------- $25,900	
	 Married Filing Separately----- $12,950	
Additional Standard Deduction for Age and/or Blindness:

Married (whether filing jointly or separately) or a qualified widow(er): the 
additional standard deduction is $1,400 if one spouse is age 65 or over OR 
blind; $2,800 if one spouse is 65 or over AND blind; $2,800 if both spouses 
are 65 or over OR blind; $5,600 if both spouses are 65 or over AND blind, etc.
Unmarried (single or head of household): the additional standard deduction 
is $1,750 if the individual is 65 or over OR blind; $3,500 if the individual is 
both 65 or over AND blind.

TAX CREDIT RECAPTURE AMOUNTS AND CREDITS (lines 10 and 11) - Line 10 is the amount of credits previously used to reduce Maine income tax that are now 
subject to recapture. Line 11 credits include, among others, the Maine earned income tax credit, child care credit, adult dependent care credit, dependent exemption 
tax credit, credit for educational opportunity, property tax fairness credit and the credit for taxes paid to other jurisdictions. For more information on Maine tax credits, 
see the 2021 Maine Form 1040ME, Schedule A and related instructions. 

1.	 Total eligible non-military pension income including individual retirement account (IRA) benefits - both 
Maine and non-Maine sources - included in your federal adjusted gross income. (Do not include social 
security or railroad retirement benefits received or pension benefits received under IRC § 457(b) prior to 
age 55 that are not part of a series of substantially equal periodic payments made for the life of the recipient 
or the joint lives of the recipient and the recipient’s beneficiary, lump-sum distributions included on  federal 
Form 4972, distributions subject to the additional 10% federal tax on early distributions or refunds of excess 
contributions.) See 36 M.R.S. § 5122(2)(M-2).	

2.	 Maximum allowable deduction	 2.	 $	10,000.00	 $	10,000.00

3.	 Total social security and railroad retirement benefits you received - whether taxable or not	 3.	 $	 $	

4.	 Subtract line 3 from line 2 (if zero or less, enter zero)	 4.	 $	 $	

5.	 Enter the smaller of line 1 or line 4 here	 5.	 $	 $

6.	 Total eligible military pension income included in your federal adjusted gross income	 6.	 $	 $

7.	 Add line 5 and line 6. Enter result here and include on line 2 of the Estimated Tax Worksheet above. 	 7.	 $	 $

*Use this column only if filing married-joint return and only if spouse separately earned an eligible pension.

PENSION INCOME DEDUCTION WORKSHEET — (include on Line 2 above)

		  Taxpayer	 Spouse*

	 1.	 $	 $

2



.00

.00

(cut along dotted line)

Your First Name	 Initial	 Your Social Security Number

Your Last Name

Spouse’s First Name	 Initial	 Spouse’s Social Security Number

Spouse’s Last Name

Address (number, street and apt. no.)

City	 State	 ZIP Code

99
*1902320*

99
*1902320*

1. Check if you are a first-time estimate filer.

2. Check if your address has changed.
3. Amount of payment:

4. If you are a fiscal year filer,
enter month/year ending:

NOTE:  If you are married and plan to file a joint 2022 
return with your spouse, enter your spouse’s name and 
social security number in the spaces provided.

VOUCHER 1 for INDIVIDUALS
DUE APRIL 19, 2022

2022 ESTIMATED TAX PAYMENT

Pay your estimated tax electronically using Maine EZ Pay at www.maine.gov/revenue and eliminate the need to file Form 1040ES-ME or detach and mail 
this voucher with check or money order payable to Treasurer, State of Maine, to: Maine Revenue Services, P.O. Box 9101, Augusta, ME 04332-9101.

2022 1040ES-ME

1. Check if you are a first-time estimate filer.

2. Check if your address has changed.
3. Amount of payment:

4. If you are a fiscal year filer,
enter month/year ending:

NOTE:  If you are married and plan to file a joint 2022 
return with your spouse, enter your spouse’s name and 
social security number in the spaces provided.

VOUCHER 2 for INDIVIDUALS
DUE JUNE 15, 2022

2022 ESTIMATED TAX PAYMENT2022 1040ES-ME

Your First Name	 Initial	 Your Social Security Number

Your Last Name

Spouse’s First Name	 Initial	 Spouse’s Social Security Number

Spouse’s Last Name

Address (number, street and apt. no.)

City	 State	 ZIP Code

Pay your estimated tax electronically using Maine EZ Pay at www.maine.gov/revenue and eliminate the need to file Form 1040ES-ME or detach and mail 
this voucher with check or money order payable to Treasurer, State of Maine, to: Maine Revenue Services, P.O. Box 9101, Augusta, ME 04332-9101.



 

 

           

           

           
.00

           
.00

(cut along dotted line)

VOUCHER 3 for INDIVIDUALS
DUE SEPT 15, 2022

2022 ESTIMATED TAX PAYMENT

VOUCHER 4 for INDIVIDUALS
DUE JAN 17, 2023

2022 ESTIMATED TAX PAYMENT

Your First Name	 Initial	 Your Social Security Number

Your Last Name

Spouse’s First Name	 Initial	 Spouse’s Social Security Number

Spouse’s Last Name

Address (number, street and apt. no.)

City	 State	 ZIP Code

99
*1902320*

99
*1902320*

1.	 Check if you are a first-time estimate filer.

2.	 Check if your address has changed.
3.	 Amount of payment:

4.	 If you are a fiscal year filer,
	 enter month/year ending:

NOTE:  If you are married and plan to file a joint 2022 
return with your spouse, enter your spouse’s name and 
social security number in the spaces provided.

Pay your estimated tax electronically using Maine EZ Pay at www.maine.gov/revenue and eliminate the need to file Form 1040ES-ME or detach and mail 
this voucher with check or money order payable to Treasurer, State of Maine, to: Maine Revenue Services, P.O. Box 9101, Augusta, ME 04332-9101.

2022 1040ES-ME

1.	 Check if you are a first-time estimate filer.

2.	 Check if your address has changed.
3.	 Amount of payment:

4.	 If you are a fiscal year filer,
	 enter month/year ending:

NOTE:  If you are married and plan to file a joint 2022 
return with your spouse, enter your spouse’s name and 
social security number in the spaces provided.

2022 1040ES-ME

Your First Name	 Initial	 Your Social Security Number

Your Last Name

Spouse’s First Name	 Initial	 Spouse’s Social Security Number

Spouse’s Last Name

Address (number, street and apt. no.)

City	 State	 ZIP Code

Pay your estimated tax electronically using Maine EZ Pay at www.maine.gov/revenue and eliminate the need to file Form 1040ES-ME or detach and mail 
this voucher with check or money order payable to Treasurer, State of Maine, to: Maine Revenue Services, P.O. Box 9101, Augusta, ME 04332-9101.
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