
MAINE REVENUE SERVICES 

SALES, FUEL & SPECIAL TAX DIVISION 
INSTRUCTIONAL BULLETIN NO. 32  

 
RENTAL OF LIVING QUARTERS 

 
 This bulletin is intended solely as advice to assist persons in determining, exercising or 
complying with their legal rights, duties or privileges. It contains general and specific 
information of interest as well as interpretations and determinations by Maine Revenue Services 
regarding issues commonly faced by your business.  Portions of the Maine Sales and Use Tax 
Law (Title 36 Part 3) referred to in this bulletin can be found at the end of the bulletin in 
Attachment #1.  Also attached are applicable Sales and Use Tax Rules. 
 
1.   TAXABLE RENTALS 

 The Maine Sales and Use Tax Law imposes a tax on "rental of living quarters in any hotel, 
rooming house, tourist or trailer camp" including casual rentals.  These terms are defined broadly 
enough to include any kind of living quarters provided for human use.  Every person who 
manages or operates, in the regular course of business or on a casual basis, a hotel, rooming 
house, cottage, camp, condominium unit, vacation home, tourist camp or trailer camp, or who 
collects or receives rental payments on behalf of the owner, must register for and collect Maine 
sales tax on the rentals.  For the purposes of the law and this bulletin, the term “hotel” includes 
a motel and any other building or other structure kept, used, maintained, advertised as or held 
out to the public to be a place where living quarters are supplied for pay to transient or 
permanent guests and tenants. 
 
2. EXEMPTIONS 

 A. Casual Rentals for less than 15 days.  A person who has only one room or a single 
camp for rent is not considered a "retailer" and is not required to collect sales tax on those 
rentals, when that person rents for fewer than 15 days each calendar year.  If the property has 
been placed in the hands of a real estate agent or other person engaged in the business of 
renting or managing rentals of living quarters, that agent must collect and report sales tax on 
the rental, regardless of the length of time the property is rented. 

B.  Occupancy for 28 days or more.  Rental charged to any person who rents continuously 
for 28 days or more in the same hotel, rooming house, tourist camp or trailer camp is nontax-
able if the living quarters are a person's primary residence, or if the rental is in connection 
with education or employment.  If tax has been paid by the person during the initial 28-day 
period, that tax should be refunded by the retailer (lessor).  If the retailer (lessor) has reported 
and paid the tax to the State, the retailer should take a corresponding credit on the Sales and 
Use Tax Return filed for the period in which the refund or credit occurred by adjusting the 
“Taxable Rentals” figure shown on the return.   

(1) “Continuous residence” is determined by continuous rental of the quarters, rather 
than by actual occupancy of the quarters.  Continuous residence is not interrupted merely 
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by changing rooms within the same hotel, rooming house, tourist camp or trailer camp 
nor by the fact that the rental unit may be occupied at various times by different 
individual persons, such as when an airline or construction company rents a room or 
block of rooms for employees that may come and go for work purposes provided that the 
rental of the unit is rented and paid for by one single entity for the qualifying 28 days and 
all of the other criteria are met. 

(2) "Primary residence" means the residence maintained at the location in which the 
individual is domiciled.  "Domicile" is the place where an individual has his or her true, 
fixed and permanent home, which is the location where an individual has the most legal 
ties, i.e. driver's license, voting registration, vehicle registration, ownership of real 
property, enrollment of children in school systems, etc.   

Examples of situations where the tenant's primary residence is not the facility being 
rented are an out-of-state resident vacationing in Maine or a Maine resident with a home 
in Bangor who is vacationing on the coast.   

Examples of situations where the tenant's primary residence is the facility being rented 
are a person renting a house, condominium or apartment (provided a primary residence is 
not maintained elsewhere) or an out-of-state resident who has moved to Maine and rents 
a room in a hotel while searching for a new home.  

(3) "In connection with education" means in connection with education from an 
accredited secondary school or college at which the person is enrolled in a diploma or 
degree program.  If a person claims that the rental is in connection with education, that 
person must provide the facility with a statement from the school that the tenant is 
enrolled in such a program. 

(4)  "In connection with employment" means that the tenant is residing away from the 
tenant's primary residence due to job requirements.  For example, an electrical contractor 
in northern Maine has a job in southern Maine, a professor is temporarily reassigned to 
another college, or a representative of a company is temporarily assigned to Maine to 
oversee the installation and operation of its product.  Seeking employment does not meet 
this requirement, nor would making occasional business contacts while vacationing in 
Maine.  If a person claims that the rental is in connection with employment, that person 
must provide the facility with a statement from the employer that the travel is 
necessitated by the person's employment and the purpose of the employment. 

   
 C.  Living Quarters Furnished to Employees.  Tax does not apply to rentals of living 

quarters that are furnished by an employer to an employee, at premises controlled by the 
employer, and solely for the convenience of the employer.  It does not matter whether there 
is any adjustment of the employee's wages for the value of the living quarters.  This applies 
only to living quarters furnished to employees, not to meals sold to employees.  (Tax does 
not apply to the value of meals furnished by the employer to employees at the place of 
employment if the value of the meals is allowed as a credit toward the wages of the 
employees.)  

 
D.  Specific Exemptions.  The following rentals are exempt from tax: 
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  (1) Rentals of living quarters at a camp that is entitled to exemption from property tax as 
a literary and scientific or benevolent and charitable institution, or by a children's 
summer camp. 

  (2) Rentals of living quarters at an institution licensed by the State for hospitalization or 
nursing care of human beings. 

  (3) Rentals of living quarters to a student necessitated by the student's attendance at a 
primary or secondary school or college. 

  (4) Rentals of living quarters to any Maine sales tax exempt organization.  These include 
governmental agencies (that are not required to have a permanent exemption certificate) 
and other exempt agencies holding a Maine permanent exemption certificate.  Payment 
for services in connection with these rentals must be made directly by the organization 
itself either by direct bill or by check or credit card in the name of the institution.  If an 
employee of an exempt organization, including a federal or state employee, pays for the 
rental with cash or personal credit card, the rental is subject to tax even though the 
employee may be reimbursed for their expense. 

 
2. OTHER CHARGES IN CONNECTION WITH RENTALS OF LIVING QUARTERS 

 A. Incidental Charges at Hotels.  When a hotel offers separate facilities or services (such 
as a golf course, tennis courts, telephones and pay-per-view movies) that are not a part of the 
rental of living quarters, and where any charges for those facilities or services are in fact 
extra and are paid only by persons who make use of them and are shown as a separate item 
on the bill, those charges are not subject to tax. 

 Tax does apply to the amount billed for extra services that are a part of the rental of a room 
in a hotel or boarding house, whether or not separately stated.  Some examples of services 
that are considered a part of the rental of living quarters include extra charges for use of a cot 
or crib or for use of cooking facilities. 

 B.  Forfeited deposits or cancellation fees.  A deposit is typically required in order to hold 
a room that is booked in advance.  If the patron cancels or fails to show up on the scheduled 
day, the deposit, or a portion of the deposit, is generally forfeited.  Effective August 23, 
2006, the Maine Sales and Use Tax Law provides that if a patron cancels his or her reserva-
tion on or prior to the scheduled date of arrival and the establishment retains a “cancellation 
fee”, that fee is not subject to Maine sales tax.  However, if the patron fails to show on the 
scheduled date of arrival, any amount forfeited to the establishment is treated as rental of liv-
ing quarters and is subject to the 7% tax. 

 C. Rentals of Public Rooms.  Rental by a hotel of a dining room, assembly room or other 
area not intended for use as living quarters is not taxable.  When a hotel rents a room 
designed as living quarters, the rental is considered taxable regardless of the use actually 
made of the room by the person renting it. 

 D. Rentals of Video Media and Video Equipment.  The Maine service provider tax applies 
to rentals of video media, video games and video equipment for noncommercial playback.  A 
hotel that rents any of these items must  calculate and pay to the State the service provider 
tax on the charge for these rentals.  Such taxable rentals include not only rentals of movie 
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and game video media and video equipment, but also rentals of video equipment for use at 
business conferences, seminars and the like.   

 Businesses engaged in both the rental of video media and video equipment and the rental of 
living quarters are required to obtain a Maine Service Provider account as well as a Maine 
Sales Tax account.  Rentals of video products are subject to the service provider tax (not the 
sales tax imposed on lodging) and should be reported on a service provider tax return rather 
than on the sales tax return.  Purchases of video media and video equipment for rental by a 
hotel are not taxable. 

 E. Tent and Trailer Space.  The rental of space for the pitching of tents or the parking of 
motor homes, travel trailers and camper trailers is taxable.  The rental price includes all 
service charges paid to the lessor, whether or not those charges are separately collected or 
stated.  If the tents or trailers themselves are rented, that rental is also taxable. 

 
3.  PURCHASES 

  On purchases by a hotel of tangible personal property used in the business, including 
items such as soap, towels and paper products intended for use by hotel occupants as well as 
office supplies, cleaning and maintenance supplies and similar items, tax must be paid to the 
supplier on the purchase.  If these items are purchased outside the state and the tax is not 
collected by the supplier, use tax on these items must be reported on the sales and use tax return. 
 
4.    ADDITIONAL INFORMATION   

 The information in this bulletin addresses some of the more common questions regarding 
the Sales and Use Tax Law faced by your business.  It is not intended to be all-inclusive.  
Requests for information on specific situations should be in writing, should contain full 
information as to the transaction in question and should be directed to: 

MAINE REVENUE SERVICES 
SALES, FUEL & SPECIAL TAX DIVISION 

P.O. BOX 1065 
AUGUSTA, ME 04332-1065 

TEL:  (207) 624-9693 
TTY: NexTalk (888) 577-6690 

 

The Department of Administrative and Financial Services does not discriminate on the basis of 
disability in admission to, access to, or operation of its programs, services or activities.   

Issued:  January 1, 1960 
Last Amended:  October 29, 2007 

(Published under Appropriation 010-18F-0002-07) 
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ATTACHMENT #1 
Excerpts from Maine Revised Statutes, Title 36 

 
Part 3 (SALES AND USE TAX) 
 
§1752.  Definitions 

 4.  Hotel. "Hotel" means every building or other structure kept, used, maintained, 
advertised as or held out to the public to be a place where living quarters are supplied for pay to 
transient or permanent guests and tenants. 

 6.  Living quarters. "Living quarters" means sleeping rooms, sleeping or housekeeping 
accommodations, and tent or trailer space. 

 12.  Rooming house. "Rooming house" means every house, cottage, condominium unit, 
vacation home, boat, vehicle, motor court, trailer court or other structure or any place or location 
kept, used, maintained, advertised or held out to the public to be a place where living quarters are 
supplied for pay to transient or permanent guests or tenants, whether in one or adjoining 
buildings. 

 14-E. School. "School" means a public or incorporated nonprofit elementary, secondary 
or postsecondary educational institution that has a regular faculty, curriculum and organized 
body of pupils or students in attendance throughout the usual school year and that keeps and 
furnishes to students and others records required and accepted for entrance to schools of 
secondary, collegiate or graduate rank. 

 17-B. Taxable service. "Taxable service" means the rental of living quarters in a hotel, 
rooming house, tourist or trailer camp; the transmission and distribution of electricity; the rental 
or lease of an automobile; the sale of an extended service contract on an automobile that entitles 
the purchaser to specific benefits in the service of the automobile for a specific duration; and the 
sale of prepaid calling service.  

 19.  Tourist camp. "Tourist camp" means a place where tents or tent houses, or camp 
cottages or other structures are located and offered to the public or any segment thereof for 
human habitation. 

 20.  Trailer camp. "Trailer camp" means a place where space is offered with or without 
service facilities to the public for tenting or for the parking and accommodation of automobile 
trailers which are used for living quarters and the rental price shall include all service charges 
paid to the lessor. 
 
§1754-B.  Registration of sellers 

 1.  Persons required to register.  Except as otherwise provided in this section, the 
following persons, other than casual sellers, shall register with the assessor and collect and 
remit taxes in accordance with the provisions of this Part:  ... 

 F.  Every person that manages or operates in the regular course of business or on a 
casual basis a hotel, rooming house or tourist or trailer camp in this State or that 
collects or receives rents from a hotel, rooming house or tourist or trailer camp in this 
State; …  
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§1760. Exemptions 

 17.  Camps. Rental charged for living quarters, sleeping or housekeeping 
accommodations at camps entitled to exemption from property tax under section 652, subsection 
1. 
 
 18.  Certain institutions. Rental charged for living or sleeping quarters in an institution 
licensed by the State for the hospitalization or nursing care of human beings. 
 
 19.  Schools. Rental charged for living quarters, sleeping or housekeeping 
accommodations to any student necessitated by attendance at a school. 
 
 20.  Continuous residence; refunds and credits.  Rental charged to any person who 
resides continuously for 28 days or more at any one hotel, rooming house, tourist or trailer camp 
if: 
 A.  The person does not maintain a primary residence at some other location; or   

 B.  The person is residing away from that person's primary residence in connection with 
employment or education.   

 Tax paid by such person to the retailer under section 1812 during the initial 28-day 
period must be refunded by the retailer. If the tax has been reported and paid to the State by the 
retailer, it may be taken as a credit by the retailer on the return filed by the retailer covering the 
month in which the refund was made to the tenant. 
 
 75.  Certain meals and lodging.  Meals or lodging provided to employees at their place 
of employment when the value of those meals or that lodging is allowed as a credit toward the 
wages of those employees. 
 
§1811.  Sales tax 
 A tax is imposed on the value of all tangible personal property and taxable services sold 
at retail in this State. The rate of tax is 7% on the value of liquor sold in licensed establishments 
as defined in Title 28-A, section 2, subsection 15, in accordance with Title 28-A, chapter 43; 7% 
on the value of rental of living quarters in any hotel, rooming house or tourist or trailer camp; 
10% on the value of rental for a period of less than one year of an automobile, including a loaner 
vehicle that is provided other than to a motor vehicle dealer's service customers pursuant to a 
manufacturer’s or dealer’s warranty; 7% on the value of prepared food; and 5% on the value of 
all other tangible personal property and taxable services. Value is measured by the sale price, ex-
cept as otherwise provided.  The value of rental for a period of less than one year of an automo-
bile is the total rental charged to the lessee and includes, but is not limited to, maintenance and 
service contracts, drop-off or pick-up fees, airport surcharges, mileage fees and any separately 
itemized charges on the rental agreement to recover the owner’s estimated costs of the charges 
imposed by government authority for title fees, inspection fees, local excise tax and agent fees 
on all vehicles in its rental fleet registered in the State.  All fees must be disclosed when an esti-
mated quote is provided to the lessee. 
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 The tax imposed upon the sale and distribution of gas, water or electricity by any public 
utility, the rates for which sale and distribution are established by the Public Utilities Commis-
sion, must be added to the rates so established.  

 Rental or lease of an automobile for one year or more must be taxed at the time of the 
lease or rental transaction at 5% of the following: the total monthly lease payment multiplied by 
the number of payments in the lease or rental, the amount of equity involved in any trade-in and 
the value of any cash down payment. Collection and remittance of the tax is the responsibility of 
the person that negotiates the lease transaction with the lessee.  
 
Part 4, Chapter 358 - SERVICE PROVIDER TAX 
 
§2551. Definitions 

 21. Video media; video equipment. "Video media" means prerecorded magnetic tapes 
used for noncommercial playback of images and sound on video equipment, and other electronic 
audio and video media that provide for noncommercial interactive utilization by a person or 
persons, including digital video discs. "Video equipment" means equipment used to play video 
media, equipment used for recording images and sound for subsequent noncommercial playback 
and equipment used for noncommercial interactive utilization of electronic audio and video 
media. 
 
§2552.  Tax Imposed  

 1. Rate. A tax at the rate of 5% is imposed on the value of the following services sold in 
this State: 

 A. Extended cable television services;  
 B. Fabrication services; 
 C. Rental of video media and video equipment;  
 D. Rental of furniture, audio media and audio equipment pursuant to a rental-purchase 

agreement as defined in Title 9-A, section 11-105; 
 E. Telecommunications services;  
 F. The installation, maintenance or repair of telecommunications equipment;  
 G. Private nonmedical institution services;  
 H. Community support services  
 I. Day habilitation services;  
 J. Personal support services; and   
 K. Residential training services.   

 

 


