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MISSION STATEMENT
The mission of Maine Revenue Services is to serve the citizens of Maine by administering the tax laws of the State effectively and professionally in 
order to provide the revenues necessary to support Maine government. To accomplish this mission, we will:

• Foster voluntary compliance with the tax laws by providing clear, complete, accurate, and timely guidance to taxpayers to help them understand 
and meet their responsibilities under the law.

• Maintain the highest standards of integrity, fairness, confi dentiality and courtesy in everything we do.

Rev. 12/08

                                                                   Electronic Filing and Payment Requirements

Rule 102 Revised. Maine Revenue Services recently completed revisions to Rule 102, “Electronic Funds Transfer.” The updated rule, which 
may be viewed on the MRS web site at www.maine.gov/revenue/rules, includes changes to EFT thresholds and various other changes. Revised 
EFT thresholds are based on the taxpayer’s combined tax liability to the state for all taxes collected by the Bureau, except property taxes and 
commercial forestry excise taxes. Beginning January 1, 2009, taxpayers having a total combined tax liability of $50,000 or more during lookback 
periods ending in 2008 are required to remit all payments to MRS electronically. For years after 2009, the threshold is $25,000. Maine Revenue 
Services has several electronic payment options for your convenience.

Rule 104 Revised. Maine Revenue Services recently revised Rule 104, “Electronic Filing of Maine Tax Returns.” The updated rule, available at 
www.maine.gov/revenue/rules, requires electronic fi ling (E-fi le, I-fi le, etc) of all original Maine tax returns of quarterly and annual reconciliation 
for Maine income tax withholding for 2009 if the following thresholds are met or exceeded with respect to employers, third party fi lers, payroll 
processors, and non-wage payers: 

•  First calender quarter 2009: 50 or more employees/clients/payees that are subject to Maine income tax withholding;

•  Second, third, and fourth calender quarters 2009: 10 or more employees/clients/payees that are subject to Maine income tax withholding;

•  2010: 5 or more employees/clients/payees that are subject to Maine income tax withholding.

For questions on fi ling income tax withholding returns electronically, call 626-8475, press 1, option 4 or e-mail withholding.tax@maine.gov. 

Stay current with the latest tax news and information.  
Subscribe to

 the online Maine Tax Alert Newsletter.  It’s free!  
Sign up at www.maine.gov/revenue/publications/alerts
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Dos and Don’ts for Clients of Payroll Processors in Maine:
Using the services of a payroll processor can be a convenient and economical way for an employer or non-wage fi ler to fi le and pay 
withholding taxes. However, employers or non-wage fi lers face certain risks associated with the use of a processor, including possible 
lack of compliance and the risk of loss of funds that are under the control of the processor. Ultimately, it is the employer or non-wage 
fi ler who bears the responsibility for meeting its payroll tax obligations. If you are an employer or non-wage fi ler that uses the 
services of a payroll processor, you should take the following precautions:

 Educate yourself to understand your fi ling requirements and the risks associated with using a payroll processor.

 Verify with the Burerau of Consumer Credit Protection, (207) 624-8527 or www.credit.maine.gov, that the processor is licensed 
and has provided proof of liability insurance to protect client funds, including coverage for crimes such as fraud and theft.  If the 
processor has access to your company’s funds, verify with the state that the company has also posted a surety bond or letter 
of credit, or is enrolled in the state’s Payroll Processor Recovery Fund.

 Obtain verifi cation from the payroll processor and its insurer that the processor’s liability insurance will remain in effect for a 
specifi ed period of time.

 Read your contract with your processor carefully.

 Ensure that the agreement/contract and any power of attorney that your processor has with you specifi cally requires that all 
notices sent by the IRS and State tax agencies be sent directly to you.

 Never hesitate to contact tax authorities or the Burerau of Consumer Credit Protection directly when you feel it necessary.

 Check with the appropriate tax agency periodically to ensure that returns and payments are fi led in a timely manner.

 Insist on verifi cation from your processor that any problem for which the employer has received a tax agency notice has been 
resolved.

 Never assume that everything is fi ne solely because you have not received notice of any problems from the IRS or MRS.

 Never sign a tax return before it is completed. 

 Require that the processor provide copies of returns, not just summaries, at the time of fi ling.

 If you are using a nationwide payroll service, be sure you are assigned a direct contact person and telephone number.

MAINE REVENUE SERVICES PRIVACY POLICY
Maine Revenue Services (“MRS”) maintains the highest standards in handling personally identifi able taxpayer information. Taxpayers 
have the right to know what information is kept on fi le about them, to have reasonable access to it, and to receive a copy of their fi le.  
Under penalty of law, employees and agents of MRS are prohibited from willfully inspecting information contained on any tax return for any 
purpose other than the conduct of offi cial duties.  In addition, MRS employees and agents are prohibited from disclosing tax information 
to anyone other than the taxpayer except in a limited number of very specifi c circumstances.  No unassociated third parties may receive 
information pertaining to tax returns without written permission from the affected taxpayer except as allowed under 36 M.R.S.A. § 191. 
Communications that do not meet the defi nition of tax information are subject to the general confi dentiality and public inspection provisions 
of Maine’s “Freedom of Access” laws.  When confi dential taxpayer  information is stored by MRS, it is kept in a secure location where it 
is accessible only to authorized employees and agents of MRS. If you have any questions regarding the Privacy Policy, please contact 
MRS at (207) 626-8475.

PAYROLL PROCESSORS

A payroll processor is an entity that performs the following services 
for one or more employers or non-wage fi lers: prepares and issues 
payroll checks, prepares and fi les state income tax withholding 
reports or unemployment insurance contribution reports, or 
collects, holds and turns over to the State Tax Assessor income tax 
withholding or unemployment insurance contributions.  By January 
31st of each year, all payroll processing companies must obtain a 
license from the Maine Department of Professional and Financial 
Regulation, Burerau of Consumer Credit Protection (www.credit.
maine.gov).  

All payroll processors must provide proof of liability insurance equal 
to twice the highest weekly payroll processed by the business in 
the preceding year or $5,000,000, whichever is less.  For liability 
insurance coverage, the processor may choose from a fi delity 
bond, employee dishonesty bond, third-party fi delity coverage or 
liability insurance that includes crime coverage.  

Payroll processors who have authority to access, control, direct, 
transfer or disburse a client’s funds must also provide evidence 
of a surety bond in an amount equal to the greater of $50,000 
or the total of all local, state and federal tax payments and 
unemployment contributions remitted by the payroll processor on 
behalf of employers in this state in the 3-consecutive-month period 

of highest volume during the previous calendar year.  The bond 
need not exceed $500,000.  A letter of credit or participation in the 
state’s Payroll Processor Recovery Fund can be substituted for a 
surety bond.

A payroll processor must provide certain information to each client 
at least every quarter. Such information includes an accounting of 
funds received and disbursed, contact information for state and 
federal tax agencies to verify payments have been made, and 
notice that bonding does not necessarily ensure that all claims 
will be covered if the payroll processor fails to comply with its 
responsibilities.

A payroll processor may not designate itself as the sole 
recipient of notices from state or federal authorities for 
nonpayment of taxes or unemployment contributions.  A 
payroll processor shall ensure that such notices are provided 
directly to the affected employers or non-wage fi lers.
Failure to register or abide by all statutory requirements will subject 
a payroll processor to certain civil penalties.  Further information 
and applications may be obtained from the Burerau of Consumer 
Credit Protection.  Call (207) 624-8527 or visit  the web site at 
www.credit.maine.gov (select  “List of license types”, then go to  
“Payroll Processor”).



Business Change 
Notifi cation

Complete this form to report a change in your withholding account contact information or to cancel your 
withholding account.  Incomplete forms will not be processed.

                         NOTE:  Do not enter a Payroll Preparer’s address or other contact information here.

Step 3
Request to 
cancel
account.
(Do not 
report 
cancellation 
for a seasonal 
shutdown 
period.)

Check this box to cancel Withholding Account

Check this box to cancel Unemployment Insurance Contributions Account.

Reason for Cancellation:          Business Closed
                             
                                                  Business Sold to:   Name:______________________________________________

                                                                                 Address:____________________________________________

                                                                                               ____________________________________________  
                                                                                
                                                                                 Date Business Sold: __________________________________
                   
                                                   Other _____________________________________________________________

Date the business no
longer had employees   ______________________________________  Date of last payroll   ________________________________

Under penalties of perjury, I certify that the information contained on this form is true and correct.
Print Name:__________________________________________________________________________________

Signature:_________________________________ Print Title:__________________________________________

Date: ____________________________________ Daytime Phone:  ____________________________________

Step 1
Identify your
business as
currently on
fi le with  Maine
Revenue
Services.

Current Name:________________________________________________________________________________

Current Address:______________________________________________________________________________

Current Phone Number:________________________________________________________________________
 
Withholding Account Number:_____________________  UC Employer Account Number:_____________________
 

Step 2
List your new
contact
information;
enter only if 
different from 
current
information.

New Name:__________________________________________________________________________________

New ATTN Line:______________________________________________________________________________

New Address:________________________________________________________________________________

New Email Address:___________________________________________________________________________
                                                                                                      (PRINT CLEARLY)

New Phone Number:____________________________Effective Date of Change__________________________

Step 4
Sign and 
mail your 
report.

Paid Preparer’s Signature:____________________________________________________

Firm’s Name (or yours if self-employed):_________________________________________

Address:_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

EIN/SSN: _______________________________Maine Payroll Processor License Number: ___________________________________  

Date: _____________________________

Phone: ____________________________

For Paid Preparers Only

Rev. 12/08

Mail to:  Maine Dept. of Labor, Central Registration Unit
              P.O. Box 1057, Augusta, ME 04332-0057

FORM 941BN-ME MAINE REVENUE SERVICES

 /  /

 /  /  /  /

 /  /

 /  /

 /  /
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New Hire Reporting Requirements
Maine employers are required by law to report certain information to the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) within seven 
days of the date an employee is newly hired, rehired or terminated.  Employers must report the employee’s full name, address, social 
security number, date of birth and date of hire, rehire or termination, as well as the employer’s name, address, telephone number, Maine 
Department of Labor Number and Federal Employer’s Identifi cation Number (EIN). 

The required “New Hire” information may be reported in the following ways:

Voice recognition telephone This system is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.  Call (207) 624-7880 or the 
toll free number 1-800-845-5808 (in-state only).

Magnetic tape or diskette Call (207) 624-4112 or go to the web site for fi le layout information.

FAX  FAX a New Hire Report Form to (207) 287-6882 (local call) or the toll free number, 
1-800-437-9611 (in-state only).  Obtain a New Hire Report Form either by calling 
(207) 624-4112 or downloading it from the web site at http://www.maine.gov/
dhhs/OIAS/dser/employer/new-hire.html  

Regular mail Mail your report to: Division of Support Enforcement and Recovery 
  New Hire Reporting Program 
            11 State House Station, Augusta, ME  04333-0011 

Email Send your report to maine.newhire@maine.gov

“New Hire” information provided by Maine employers helped increase child support collected by payroll deductions to over $70 million 
in fi scal year 2008.  This has made a great difference in the lives of many children who otherwise might not have received the fi nancial 
support to which they are entitled.   For more information about New Hire Reporting, call the Department of Health and Human Services, 
Division of Support Enforcement and Recovery at (207) 624-4112 or access the web site at www.maine.gov/dhhs/OIAS/dser/employer/
new-hire.html.

UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE CONTRIBUTION RATES FOR 2009
Wage Base – For tax year 2009, employers pay unemployment 
taxes on the fi rst $12,000 of each employee’s gross earnings.  

Experience rating system and tax rates – Each employer’s 
contribution rate is determined using the Department of Labor 
(DOL) “experience rating” system.  The employer’s experience rate 
is determined through multiple factors over time.  The rate may be 
higher or lower than the average employer rate.  The rate refl ects 
an employer’s history of average taxable wages, contributions paid 
and benefi ts charged.

Technical explanation of tax rates - Every year, the Reserve 
Ratio is recalculated for each employer.  This recalculation may or 
may not result in a rate change.  

All employers are then arrayed into a list in descending order by 
their Reserve Ratios.  They are divided into 20 categories with 
approximately the same amount of taxable wages in each category.  
Employers  having the least use of the unemployment program are 
at the top of the list and those with the most use are at the bottom.   

These 20 categories each have an experience factor.  The 

experience factor is the proportion of the average contribution rate 
that is payable by employers in that category.

The planned yield is determined from a set of formulas.  It is the 
percentage of total (taxable) wages necessary to generate the 
desired amount of revenue.  The planned yield for 2009 is set in 
law at 0.60%.

The predetermined yield, or average contribution rate, is then 
computed.  It is the average contribution rate needed to generate 
the desired amount of revenue for the amount of taxable wages. 

The contribution rates for the 20 categories are computed by 
multiplying the predetermined yield by the experience factors 
for each category.  

The lowest contribution rate for 2009 is 0.44%, the highest is 5.40%.  
and the new employer rate for 2009 is 1.57%.  

For more information, go to the Maine Department of Labor web 
site at www.maine.gov/labor.

Unclaimed Property Reporting Requirements
Maine businesses are required to identify, report and remit unclaimed property to the Offi ce of State Treasurer in accordance with 33  
M.R.S.A., Chapter 41.  The required reports may be fi led online (secure server) electronically using free downloadable software available 
at www.maine.gov/unclaimed or on paper.

The report must be fi led May 1st for life insurance property, gift certifi cates/cards, and stored value cards, and November 1st for all other 
unclaimed property, such as, bank accounts, uncashed checks and securities.

For more information, go to www.maine.gov/unclaimed or call (207) 624-7470.



FORM  900ME - SEMIWEEKLY PAYMENTS OF WITHHELD INCOME TAXES:  If your withholding tax remittance frequency is semiweekly and wages 
or non-wages are paid on Wednesday, Thursday or Friday, payment of withheld income taxes is due the following Wednesday.  If the wages or non-wage 
payments are paid on Saturday, Sunday, Monday or Tuesday, the payment of withheld income taxes is due the following Friday.  Use Payment Voucher 
Form 900ME (provided by Maine Revenue Services in a separate booklet) to make your payments.   If you make semiweekly payments electronically 
using EZ pay, do not send paper copies of Form 900ME to Maine Revenue Services. 

FORMS  941ME & 941/C1-ME - QUARTERLY RETURN OF INCOME TAX WITHHOLDING AND UNEMPLOYMENT CONTRIBUTIONS 
must be fi led by all employers or non-payroll fi lers registered to remit income tax withholding and/or unemployment contributions.  The 
form is used to report income taxes withheld for the quarter, to reconcile payments of income taxes withheld made during the quarter, to 
calculate your unemployment contributions for the quarter, to report your employee or payee wage listing information for the quarter and 
to make payment for any balance due for income taxes withheld and/or unemployment contributions.  The quarterly return is due the last 
day of the month following the end of each calendar quarter, even if there is no withholding tax or unemployment contributions to report.

FORMS  W-2, 1099, etc.  Employee income and withholding statements must be furnished to payees by January 31st of the succeeding year.  If employment 
ends before December 31, you may furnish copies to the employee at any time after employment ends, but no later than January 31.  If a terminated 
employee requests Form W-2 in writing, you must give the employee completed copies within 30 days of the request or within 30 days 
of the fi nal wage payment, whichever is later. A person/employer who furnishes a false or fraudulent statement or fails to 
furnish a statement commits a civil violation subject to a fi ne of $50 for each failure.                                                               
   
   FOR INFORMATION ON FILING THE ABOVE FORMS ELECTRONICALLY, SEE PAGE 8.
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GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS
Returns must be completed and fi led with Maine Revenue Services 
each quarter according to the following schedule:

  Quarter     Period Covered Due Date
Quarter 1 .............  01-01-09 to 03-31-09 ..............  04-30-09
Quarter 2 .............  04-01-09 to 06-30-09 ..............  07-31-09
Quarter 3 .............  07-01-09 to 09-30-09 ..............  10-31-09
Quarter 4 .............  10-01-09 to 12-31-09 ..............  01-31-10

Note:  A combined return must be fi led each quarter, even if you 
had no income tax withheld or unemployment contributions for that 
period.  Each page submitted must have your Withholding Account 
Number and your Unemployment Account Number clearly printed 
at or near the top of the page.  Do not write notes on wage listing 
pages.

The combined Maine Revenue Services and Department of Labor 
return (Form 941/C1-ME) is used to report total income tax withheld 
for the quarter, to reconcile 900ME voucher payments made during 
the quarter, to calculate your unemployment  contributions for the 
quarter and to report your employee wage listing for the quarter.  
You are required to record income tax withheld for each employee 
or payee.

Each quarterly return in this booklet is preprinted with the quarter 
being reported, Withholding Account Number, Unemployment 
Contributions Employer Account Number, business name(s), 
calendar period covered and due date.  Returns must be completed 
and fi led with Maine Revenue Services on or before the required 
due date.

Complete Form 941BN-ME when the business terminates or the 
requirement to withhold permanently ceases, or if there has been 
a change in the business name, address or telephone number.  Do 
not make changes on Form 941/C1-ME.

When using a paid preparer or payroll processor, enter their federal 
employer identifi cation number (EIN) and Maine payroll processor 
license number in the designated fi elds.

If your current Federal Employer Identifi cation Number (Maine 
Withholding Account Number) changes, call the Central Registration 
Unit at (207) 621-5129.

If you have questions regarding unemployment insurance status, 
determination of contribution rates or general unemployment 
insurance information, call the Department of Labor at (207) 621-
5120.  Any other questions regarding this form or income tax in 
general should be directed to Maine Revenue Services at (207) 
626-8475, select 1, option 4.

Interest and Penalties.  Beginning January 1, 2009, the interest 
rate is 8% per annum, compounded monthly.  The penalty for failure 
to pay either the withholding or unemployment tax on time is 1% 
per month up to a maximum of 25%.  The penalty for failure to fi le 
a return on time is 10% of the tax liability or $25.00 for each tax, 
whichever is greater.  If the return is fi led more than 30 days after 
demand, the penalty is 100% of the income tax withholding due.

Do not staple or tape forms together.  Paper clip all Schedule 2/
C1 wage listing pages to the back of the combined withholding/
unemployment tax return.  Do not mail photocopies of the 
forms in this book to Maine Revenue Services.  Photocopied 
forms cannot be processed by the Maine Revenue Services 
scanning system.  If you need additional wage listing pages, 
visit the Maine Revenue Services web site at www.maine.gov/
revenue, call (207) 624-7894 or write: Maine Revenue Services, 
P.O. Box 9100, Augusta, ME  04332-9100.

REPORTING THIRD-PARTY SICK PAY
Many employers that provide wage protection for employees who 
miss work due to illness or injury often do so through a third party, 
such as an insurance company. Sick pay paid by a third party that 
is considered wages for federal purposes is treated as wages for 
Maine purposes and subject to voluntary withholding as requested 
by the employee. 

A third party that withholds Maine income taxes from sick pay is 

required to remit payment and fi le withholding returns under the 
same rules that apply to employers. The third party must fi le returns 
under its own EIN and include all Maine income tax withheld for 
the quarter. The return must include on Schedule 2/C1 the amount 
withheld from each employee/payee, even if the Wage Statement 
(Form W-2) refl ecting the sick payments will be issued by the 
employer and not the third party. Employers: Do not include on 

WITHHOLDING AND UC FORMS

FORM  W-3ME - ANNUAL RECONCILIATION:  Due February 28 of the following year or at termination of business.



Enter on this line the total Unemployment Compensation Gross 
Wages Paid this quarter.  This amount should equal Schedule 2/
C1, line 19a.  If there are no wages, enter zero ($0.00).  An amount 
for wages or zero ($0.00) must be entered on this line.  If zero, do 
not complete Schedule 2/C1, column 16 (UC Gross Wages).

Line 7. Enter the sum of the amount of each individual’s wages 
paid in this quarter which is in excess of $12,000 for the year.  For 
example, the wages of an employee paid $5,000.00 in each quarter 
would be reported as follows (this is an example):

 Total Excess Taxable

1st Quarter .......... $5000.00 ..........$        .00 ......... $5000.00
2nd Quarter.........   5000.00 ..........          .00 .........   5000.00
3rd Quarter .........   5000.00 ..........  3000.00 .........   2000.00
4th Quarter..........   5000.00 ..........  5000.00 .........           .00

Line 8. Subtract the excess wages on line 7 from the total gross 
reportable wages on line 6.  Enter the difference here.  

Note: Excess wages cannot be greater than total reportable 
wages.

Line 9a. This is your employer contribution rate.  To offset the cost 
of the CSSF assessment (see Line 9c below), the UC rate for each 
employer, except employers currently paying at the highest rate, 
is reduced by an amount equal to the CSSF rate.  Your UC rate is 
preprinted to the right of this line.  If you have been notifi ed that this rate 
is incorrect, cross out the pre-printed value and enter the correct rate.

Line 9c.  Competitive Skills Scholarship Fund Assessment.  
The Competitive Skills Scholarship Fund (CSSF) Program is a new 
program coordinated by the Department of Labor’s Career Centers 
to provide training to unemployed and underemployed low income 
Maine workers.  The program is intended to address the growing 
skill gap in the workforce and to help businesses get the trained 
workers they need.  The program is funded by an assessment of 
.05% of taxable wages reported on line 8.  Direct reimbursable 
employers are not subject to the assessment.   Because federal 
law prohibits a state from setting its highest UC rate lower than 
5.4%, the UC rate for employers at this rate cannot be reduced.  If 
your UC rate is zero, then the CSSF rate is also zero.  For more 
information about the CSSF program, contact the Maine Dept. of 
Labor at 621-5120 or by email at division.uctax@maine.gov

Line 10. Calculate the total unemployment contributions and CSSF 
assessment due this quarter by adding lines 9b and 9d.

DIRECT REIMBURSEMENT EMPLOYERS MUST COMPLETE 
EVERY LINE OF THE RETURN

Part Three
Calculate the Total Amount Due

Line 11. Enter the total income tax withholding and unemployment 
contributions due with this return (line 3 plus line 10).  If any portion 
of the balance due is not paid by the due date, interest and penalties 
will be charged on the unpaid balance.  Additional penalties will be 
assessed if the return is not fi led on time.
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REPORTING THIRD-PARTY SICK PAY, continued

Additional forms can be downloaded at www.maine.gov/
revenue/forms.

Part One
Income Tax Withholding

Line A. Number of payees.  Enter the total  number of employees 
or payees subject to Maine withholding this quarter.

Line 1. Enter the total amount of Maine income tax withheld 
from Schedule 2/C1 – Quarterly Income Tax Withholding and 
Unemployment Compensation Wages Listing, line 19b.  All 
employers and non-payroll fi lers who paid reportable wages or 
made non-wage payments during the quarter must complete 
Schedule 2/C1.  See the instructions for Schedule 2/C1 on page 
7.

Line 2. Enter the total dollar amount of semiweekly payments 
you have already remitted from Schedule 1/C1 – Reconciliation 
of 900ME Voucher Payments or EFT Payments of Income Tax 
Withholding, line 13.  If you are not required to make payment of 
income tax withholding on a semiweekly schedule, enter zero.  For 
information about who is required to make semiweekly payments of 
income tax withholding, see instructions for Schedule 1/C1 on page 
7.

Line 3. Enter the total Maine income tax withholding due with this 
return (line 1 minus line 2).

Part Two 
Unemployment Contributions Report

Lines 4 and 5.  Failure to complete lines 4 and 5 will result in 
additional paperwork for you to complete.

Line 4.  Enter for each month the total of all full-time and part-time 
workers who worked, or received pay reportable for unemployment 
insurance purposes during the payroll period which includes, the 
12th of each month.  If you had no employment in the payroll period, 
enter zero (0).

Line 5. Enter the number of female workers who worked or 
received pay reportable for unemployment insurance purposes 
during the payroll period and are included in the totals on line 4. 

Line 6. Complete Schedule 2/C1 (see instructions on page 7).  

Form 941/C1-ME any Maine income tax withheld and remitted 
by a third party from sick payments. 
For Unemployment Compensation purposes, taxable wages 
include any sick, accident, disability or medical payments, or 
payments for hospitalization expenses in connection with sickness 
or accident disability, if the payment was made by an employer or a 
third party within six months after the end of the month in which the 

employee ceased work for that employer. Third party payers: Do 
not include sick pay and disability payments on Form 941C/1-ME. 
Instead, report the payments to the employer. Employers must 
include in Column 16 on Schedule 2/C1 the entire amount of 
sick and disability payments paid to each employee during the 
quarter if those payments fall within the period. Also include 
the payments on line 6, any excess amount on line 7, and any 
portion falling within the taxable wage base on line 8.

SPECIFIC INSTRUCTIONS
Note:  The forms in this booklet are designed to comply with 
optical scanning requirements.  Spaces underlined in red 
must be completed carefully in black or blue ink.  Letters 
and numbers must be entered legibly within the outline area.  
Letters must appear in upper case only and start on the left; 
numbers start from the right.  For example:

Name:

Maine Income Tax Withheld:

Address:

C O M P A N Y I N C

1 2 3 F I R S T S T

1 2 , 3 4 5 . 0 0
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Schedule 1/C1 Instructions
Reconciliation of 900ME Payments or Electronic Payments of Income Tax Withholding

AMENDED RETURNS
If you made an error on a previously fi led return, you must fi le an amended return to correct the error.  Amended returns (one for income 
tax withholding and one for unemployment contributions) are located in this booklet immediately following Form W-3ME.  Instructions for 
completing these forms are on the back of each form.

Additional forms are available at www.maine.gov/revenue/forms or by calling (207) 624-7894.

Schedule 2/C1 Instructions
Quarterly Income Tax Withholding and Unemployment Compensation Wages Listing

All fi lers who paid reportable wages or withheld Maine Income 
Tax during the quarter must complete Schedule 2/C1 – Quarterly 
Income Tax Withholding and Unemployment Compensation 
Wages Listing.  Use as many pages as necessary to report all wages 
and non-wage payments during the quarter.  Complete all information 
for each Schedule 2/C1 page submitted.   

If you need additional forms, go to www.maine.gov/revenue/forms 
select “Combined Withholding and Unemployment Contributions 
(941/C1-ME)”) or call (207) 624-7894.)  If the Department of Labor 
has determined that you are a seasonal employer, Part 2 will list your 
seasonal period.  Nonseasonal and seasonal wages of an employee 
must be reported on two separate lines.
Column 14.  Enter each employee’s or payee’s last name, fi rst name, 
and middle initial.  Enter the name of an employee or payee with both 
nonseasonal and seasonal wages on two separate lines.

Column 15.  Type or print each employee’s or payee’s social security 
number. Enter the social security number of an employee or payee with 
both nonseasonal and seasonal wages on two separate lines.  Do not 
enter all zeros in SSN fi eld.  If an SSN or EIN is unavailable, enter 
one of the following series of numbers: 111-00-0001, 111-00-0002, 444-
00-0001 or 666-00-0001.

Column 16.  Enter the amount of unemployment compensation gross 
wages paid during the quarter covered by this report.  Nonseasonal 
wages are wages for services performed for a nonseasonal industry or 
for services performed before or after the designated seasonal period 
for a seasonal industry.  If you are reporting nonseasonal wages, do 
not check the box marked “seasonal.”  Seasonal wages are wages 

for services performed during the seasonal period for a business 
designated as seasonal by the Department of Labor (“DOL”)  To report 
seasonal wages, check the box marked “seasonal” in the shaded 
column.  Do not report partners’ or sole proprietor’s wages or 
wages paid by a sole proprietor to a spouse, parent, or child under 
age 18. If an employee’s wages are greater than $999,999.99, enter 
the wages on two or more lines to add up to the total reportable wages 
for the employee.

Column 17.  Enter the Maine income tax withheld in the quarter for 
the employee and/or payee listed in column 14.  Also include backup 
withholding, pension withholding, distribution withholding, or similar 
withholding.

Line 18a.  Enter the total amount of column 16 (UC Gross Wages Paid) 
for this page.

Line 18b.  Enter the total amount of column 17 (Maine Income Tax 
Withheld in the Quarter) for this page.

Line 19a.  On the last Schedule 2/C1 page only, enter the total UC 
gross wages paid for line 18a of all pages.  Enter this amount on Form 
941/C1-ME, Part 2, line 6.

Line 19b.  On the last Schedule 2/C1 page only, enter the total Maine 
income tax withheld in the quarter reported on line 18b of all pages.  
Enter this amount on Form 941/C1-ME, Part 1, line 1.

Employers or non-payroll fi lers who reported Maine income tax  
withholding of $18,000 or more for the 12 months ending June 30, 
2008 are required to make payments of income tax withholding 
on a semiweekly schedule (see below).  Employers or non-payroll 
fi lers who reported Maine income tax withholding of less than 
$18,000 for the 12 months ending June 30, 2008 are required to 
make payments quarterly.  See page 3 of this booklet to fi nd your 
withholding tax remittance schedule (frequency). 

 Semiweekly Schedule
Day Wages Paid Remittance Due
Wednesday, 
Thursday, or Friday ..........................On or before the
 following Wednesday
Saturday, Sunday, 
Monday, or Tuesday .........................On or before the
                                                            following Friday

If you are required to pay income tax withholding on a semiweekly 
basis, you must complete Schedule 1/C1.  Complete one line of the 
schedule for each payroll during the quarter.  Payments may be made 
by paper voucher (Form 900ME) or electronically (EFT or EZ Pay - See 
page 8 for details).    

Line 12. Add the subtotals for the withholding amount columns and 
enter the total withholding amount for this quarter.  The total withholding 
amount should equal the amount entered on Form 941/C1-ME, line 1 
(from Schedule 2/C1, line 19b).

Line 13. Add the subtotals for the payment amount columns and enter 
the total payment amount for this quarter.  The total payment amount 
will be entered on Form 941/C1-ME, line 2.  The payment amount 
includes all payments made in the quarter, whether made by Form 
900ME or electronically (EFT or EZ Pay - See page 8 for details).
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unemployment taxes.  To avoid having to make payments earlier 
than necessary, payments may be scheduled in advance and will 
automatically be withdrawn on the payment date you select. 

To use EZ Pay, simply register online at the time you want to make 
your fi rst payment. Once registered, the system will ask you to 
select the tax type you want to pay.  If you are making a semiweekly 
payment, select “900ME Withholding Semiweekly Payment.”  If 
you are paying a tax balance due with your quarterly combined 
return, select “941/C1-ME Combined Withholding/Unemployment 
Payment.”  If you are paying a balance due from a bill or notice 
that you received from MRS, select “Bill Payment.” If you make 
semiweekly payments electronically, do not send paper copies of 
Form 900ME to MRS. 

MRS accepts both ACH credit method and ACH debit payments for 
combined income tax withholding and unemployment contributions 
quarterly returns.  ACH Credit and ACH Teledebit (phone payment 
system) require the submission of and EFT application prior to use.  

EFT Required.  Taxpayers with an annual total combined tax 
liability for all taxes of $50,000 or more must pay electronically.  
For years after 2009, the threshold is $25,000 or more.  Payroll 
processing companies must remit electronically for all clients, 
even if clients are not mandated to pay electronically.  A payroll 
processing company may request a waiver from this requirement 
for good cause.  MRS also encourages voluntary participation in 
the EZ Pay program by those not required to pay electronically.  
There are no payment minimums.

ELECTRONIC FILING REQUIRED FOR SOME EMPLOYERS/PAYORS
 Revised Rule 104 (Electronic Filing of Maine Tax Returns) requires electronic fi ling of Maine income tax withholding re-

turns if the employer or payor has 50 or more employees/clients/payees in the fi rst calender quarter of 2009, 10 or more 
employees/clients/payees in the second, third or fourth calender quarters of 2009, or 5 or more employees/clients/pay-
ees in 2010. Employers/payors unable to meet the electronic fi ling requirement because of undue hardship may re-
quest a waiver from the State Tax Assessor.  To view Rule 104, see www.maine.gov/revenue (select “Laws & Rules”).

Try it on your own or call us for assistance.  Experienced personnel will walk you through your initial registration and answer any 
questions you may have.  Call (207) 626-8475, select option 1, then option 4 for a direct connection to the Maine Business Tax Unit.  
For more information, see www.maine.gov/revenue.

Electronic Payment Options
Maine Revenue Services (“MRS”) offers a convenient 
24-hour electronic payment option called EZ Pay.  You 
can access EZ Pay on our web site at www.maine.
gov/revenue/netfi le/ezpay.htm. Almost any type of 
tax payment can be made, including withholding and 

ACH Credit.  A taxpayer may make payments using this method 
by authorizing their bank to withdraw the tax payment from the 
taxpayer’s deposit account and transfer it to the state’s account.  
You must have previously established a relationship with a bank 
that provides this service (generally larger commercial banks) and 
you must have previously registered with the MRS EFT Unit as a 
credit method payer.

ACH Debit.  A taxpayer may make payments using this method 
by authorizing MRS to electronically transfer tax payments from 
the taxpayer’s deposit account to the MRS deposit account.  
ACH Teledebits are initiated through a telephone call to the MRS 
electronic withdrawal payment system (207-624-7777).  This 
telephone payment system allows taxpayers to arrange for debit 
payments with effective dates up to 15 days in the future.  Another 
option available is for the amount due shown on the return you I-fi le 
to be deducted from your account within 3 business days from the 
date you authorize the transfer.

Penalty for Insuffi cient Funds.  The penalty for insuffi cient funds 
applies to electronic funds transfers.  The penalty is $20 or 1% of 
the payment amount, whichever is greater.

Penalty for Failure to Pay by Electronic Funds Transfer.  Any 
person required to pay by electronic funds transfer who fails to do 
so is liable for a penalty equal to the lesser of 5% of the tax due or 
$5,000.

For more information, an application or a copy of Rule 102, visit 
www.maine.gov/revenue and select Electronic Services; send an 
email to efunds.transfer@maine.gov; send a fax to (207) 287-
6975; call (207) 287-8276; or write to:  EFT Unit, Maine Revenue 
Services, PO Box 9100, Augusta,  ME  04332-9100.

The Maine Employers Electronic Tax Reporting System (MEETRS) allows employers and non-wage withholders to fi le multiple forms 
with a single login, including quarterly returns and the annual reconciliation (Form W-3ME).  Form 1099 is expected to be added during 
2009.   Employers/payors using software capable of producing a fi le that conforms to the Maine Revenue Services ICESA specifi cations 
may upload that fi le to MRS via the web.  Revised quarterly return fi le specifi cations for 2009 are available to view or download 
from the Maine Revenue Services web site at www.maine.gov/revenue (select “Electronic Services” and scroll to “Payroll Taxes”).

The quarterly return and Form W-3ME may also be fi led via the MRS Internet fi ling program (Maine I-fi le), which does not require any 
special software.  For your convenience, you may upload wage listing spreadsheet fi les via the Maine I-fi le program.  Maine I-fi le has 
many convenient features:

EASY LOGIN:  The login process is quick, making it faster and easier to get your work done.

FLEXIBLE FILING:  You can fi le returns for any quarter of the year.

FILE UPLOAD:  You can upload employee wage and withholding data from your spreadsheet fi le.

PRE-FILLED PAYMENT DATA:  Semiweekly payments made on Form 900ME or via EZ Pay wil be prefi lled automatically
                                                     on your I-File account, saving you time.

PRE-FILLED EMPLOYEE DATA:  The I-File system for payroll taxes stores your employee data for the next quarter.  
                                                        Employee names and social security numbers will be pre-fi lled automatically.

SECURITY:  Maine Revenue Services uses 128-bit encryption and secure socket layer technology to ensure the data you
                     enter and send is secure.



Make check payable to:
 Treasurer, State of Maine

Mail return and check to:
 Maine Revenue Services
 P.O. Box 9103
 Augusta, ME  04332-9103
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MAINE REVENUE SERVICES
MAINE DEPARTMENT OF LABOR

COMBINED FILING FOR INCOME TAX WITHHOLDING
AND UNEMPLOYMENT CONTRIBUTIONS

FORM 941/C1-ME

QUARTER # 

2009
Withholding Account No:

UC Employer Account No:

Period Covered:                                        -

File On or Before:

Name:                                                                                                

Part One - Income Tax Withholding
A. Number of payees subject to 
 Maine income tax withholding:

1. Maine income tax withheld this quarter (from Schedule 2/C1, line 19b)
 (Semiweekly fi lers complete Schedule 1/C1 on reverse side) ............................................................1.

2. Less any semiweekly payments (From Schedule 1/C1, line 13 on reverse side)
 (See instructions for Schedule 1/C1 on page 7) .................................................................................2.

3. Income tax withholding due (line 1 minus line 2) ................................................................................3.

.$ ,,

.$ ,,

.$ ,,

Part Two - Unemployment Contributions Report
Seasonal Code: 

Seasonal Period:                                                   - 

4. For each month, enter the total of all full-time and part-time workers who worked during, 
 or received pay reportable for unemployment insurance purposes for the payroll period 
 which includes, the 12th of each month.  If you had no employment in the payroll period,
 enter zero (0)  .................................................................................................................................... 4.

5. Number of female employees included on line 4.  If none, enter zero (0) ......................................... 5.

6.   Total Unemployment Compensation Gross Wages Paid this quarter (from Schedule 2/C1,line 19a) 6.

7. DEDUCT EXCESS WAGES (SEE INSTRUCTIONS ON PAGE 6) ................................................... 7.
 NOTE: THE TAXABLE WAGE BASE IS $12,000 FOR EACH EMPLOYEE.

8. Taxable wages paid in this quarter (line 6 minus line 7) .................................................................... 8.

9a. UC Contribution rate                                                   UC Contributions due (line 8 times line 9a).. 9b.

CSSF rate                                                             CSSF Assessment (line 8 times line 9c)............. 9d.
Note:  The CSSF Assessment does not apply to direct reimbursable employers.  See instructions.

10. Total Contributions and CSSF assessment due (line 9b plus line 9d)...............................................10.

 1st Month 2nd Month 3rd Month

.$ ,,

.$ ,,

.$ ,,

.$ ,,

Part Three - Calculate the Total Amount Due

11. Amount due with this return (line 3 plus line 10) ............................................................................. 11. .$ ,,

Under penalties of perjury, I certify that the information contained on this return, report and attachment(s) is true and correct.

Signature:________________________________________________ __________________________________  Date:_______________________________

Print Name: ___________________________________________  Telephone: _____________________    Contact person email:_______________________________

See Page 8 for Electronic Filing and Requirements and Options

Paid Preparer EIN:
-

Maine Payroll Processor License Number: Offi ce use only               PWD

,

.$ ,,

.$ ,,9c.

.

.0005

For Paid Preparers Only

Paid Preparer’s Signature:________________________________________________ Date:__________________ Telephone:__________________________________ 

Firm’s Name (or yours, if self-employed):_____________________________________

Address:_______________________________________________________________

-

- -

- - - -

- - - -



SCHEDULE 1/C1  (FORM 941/C1- ME)  2009
99

*0908521*

Name:

Withholding 
Account No.:

UC Employer 
Account No:

Period Covered:                                                      -

Reconciliation of 900ME Voucher Payments or Electronic Payments of Income Tax Withholding

For employers or non-payroll fi lers required to remit withholding taxes on a semiweekly basis (see instructions).

Date Wages 
or Non-wages 

Paid

Withholding 
Amount

Payment 
Amount

Subtotal A

Date Wages 
or Non-wages 

Paid

Withholding 
Amount

Payment 
Amount

Subtotal B

Date Wages 
or Non-wages 

Paid

Withholding 
Amount

Payment 
Amount

Subtotal C

12.  Withholding Amount this Quarter

 Subtotal A.......................................$ 

 Subtotal B ......................................$

 Subtotal C ......................................$
 
 Total (Enter on Form 941/C1-ME,
 line 1) .............................................$

.,,

.,,

.,,

.,,

13.  Payment Amount this Quarter

 Subtotal A.......................................$ 

 Subtotal B ......................................$

 Subtotal C ......................................$

 Total (Enter on Form 941/C1-ME,
  line 2) .............................................$

.,,

.,,

.,,

.,,

For the Third Quarter Only:  all employers or non-payroll fi lers, please check if applicable:

I fi le my return electronically or my return is prepared by a tax preparer and I do not need Maine tax forms mailed to me next year.

For Field Advisor Use: ___________________________________________________

- - - -

-



SCHEDULE 2/C1  (FORM 941/C1- ME)  2009
99Name:

Withholding  UC Employer
Account No. Account No:

 
Period Covered:                                                       -

*0908522*

Quarterly Income Tax Withholding and Unemployment Compensation Wages Listing

       Maine Income Tax
14. Payee Name (Last, First, MI) 15. Social Security Number 16. UC Gross Wages Paid 17. Withheld in the Quarter

a.  ______________________________

b.  ______________________________

c.  ______________________________

d.  ______________________________

e.  ______________________________

f.  ______________________________

g.  ______________________________

h.  ______________________________

i.  ______________________________

j.  ______________________________

k.  ______________________________

l.  ______________________________

m.  ______________________________

n.  ______________________________

o.  ______________________________

p.  ______________________________

q.  ______________________________

r.  ______________________________

s.  ______________________________

t.  ______________________________

u.  ______________________________

v.  ______________________________

w.  ______________________________

... ,- ,-

.. ,- ,-

.. ,- ,-

.. ,- ,-

.. ,- ,-

.. ,- ,-

.. ,- ,-

.. ,- ,-

.. ,- ,-

.. ,- ,-

.. ,- ,-

.. ,- ,-

.. ,- ,-

.. ,- ,-

--

.. ,- ,-

.. ,- ,-

.. ,- ,-

.. ,- ,-

.. ,- ,-

.. ,- ,-

.. ,- ,-

.. ,- ,-

18.  Total of columns 16 and 17 on this page ......................... 18a. 18b.

19.  Total of columns 16 and 17 for ALL pages....................... 19a. 19b.

.. ,,

.,,.,, $$

.,,.,, $$

$ $

$ $

$ $

$ $

$ $

$ $

$ $

$ $

$ $

$ $

$ $

$ $

$ $

$ $

$ $

$ $

$ $

$ $

$ $

$ $

$ $

$ $

$ $

All employers designated SEASONAL by Department INCOME TAX 
of Labor, see instructions for column 16 on page 7. WITHHOLDING

- - - -

-



MAINE DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
Bureau of Unemployment Compensation

P.O. Box 259
Augusta, ME 04332-0259

6.  Total Overpayment  $___________________________ (Do not reduce future tax liabilities by this credit.)

7.  Total Underpayment  $___________________________ (Please remit payment with this report.)

Employee’s Social
Security Number Name of Employee

Originally Reported Corrected Amounts

Nonseasonal
(T)

Seasonal
(P)

Nonseasonal
(T)

Seasonal
(P)

QUESTIONS ABOUT THIS FORM?
Contact a Wage Record Representative at (207) 621-5120            Fax:  (207) 287-3733

TTY (Deaf / Hard of Hearing):  1-800-794-1110          Email address:  division.uctax@maine.gov

AUTHORIZATION TO CORRECT WAGES

Maine Employer
Account Number

Employer’s Name and Address 

Authorization is hereby made for an adjustment to the account for the following reasons:__________________________
________________________________________________________________________________________________

Quarter Ending___________________________________ (A separate form must be submitted for each quarter.)

Item
A.

Amount Reported
B.

Corrected Amount
C.

Difference
Total Wages $ $ $

Wages in Excess of $12,000 
Per Employee

$ $ $

Taxable Wages $ $ $
Contributions Tax $ $ $
CSSF1  Tax $ $ $

Contribution
Rate

______%

CSSF Rate:
.05% for 2009

1.

2.

3.
4.
5.

>>> MAKE CHECK OR MONEY ORDER PAYABLE TO TREASURER, STATE OF MAINE<<<

8.  INDIVIDUAL EMPLOYEE WAGE CORRECTIONS

Date Signature Title Telephone

1 Competitive Skills Scholarship Fund Tax
______________________
Me. C-1A (CSSF) (11/08)



INSTRUCTIONS FOR AMENDED REPORT
Purpose of Form.  Use this form to correct an error or make changes to the Unemployment Insurance 
Contributions or CSSF Contributions portion of Form 941/C1-ME fi led previously.  Do not make changes using 
Form 941/C1-ME.  You may use this form to amend any UC or CSSF report fi led in prior quarters.  Prepare a 
separate Form C1A-ME for each period for which correction is being made.

UC EMPLOYER NUMBER.  Enter your employer identifi cation number issued by the Maine Department of 
Labor.

EMPLOYER NAME.  Enter the name of the employer amending the report.

AUTHORIZATION.    Explanation of Adjustments.  Use this space to enter an explanation of the error you are 
correcting.

PERIOD COVERED.  Enter the beginning and ending dates for the quarter being amended by this report.

Lines 1, 2 and 3.  In column A, enter the (1) total, (2) excess and (3) taxable wages previously reported for the 
period covered by the amended report.
In column B, enter the correct amount of (1) total, (2) excess and (3) taxable wages.
In column C, enter the difference between the amounts in column A and column B.
Line 4.  In column A, enter the amount of unemployment insurance contributions previously reported for the 
period covered by the amended report.

In column B, enter the correct amount of unemployment insurance.
In column C, enter the difference between the amounts in column A and column B.

Line 5.    In column A, enter the amount of CSSF contributions previously reported for the period covered by the 
amended report.

In column B, enter the correct amount of CSSF contributions.
In column C, enter the difference between the amounts in column A and column B.        

Line 6.  Overpayment of Contributions.  If the difference in column C, line 4 is an overpayment, enter the 
amount on line 5.

Line 7.  Underpayment of Contributions.  If the difference in column C, line 4 is an underpayment, enter the 
amount on line 6.

Line 8.  Individual Employee Wage Corrections.  Enter data ONLY for those employees whose wages are 
being adjusted.

If you have any questions regarding this form, contact your local fi eld advisor, call the Dept. of Labor Tax Division 
at (207) 621-5120 or email division.uctax@maine.gov.  TTY (hearing impaired only) (800) 794-1110.



CONSIDER YOUR
OPTIONS!

Maine Revenue Services offers these convenient options for making payments and fi ling returns 
electronically:

EZ Pay: Make payment over the web for most taxes on the date you specify.

EFT: If you don’t want to use the web,  use EFT by phone for ACH Debit.  
(See page 8 for details).

CQR & Withholding I-File:  File your return on the web and we’ll complete most
 of Schedules 1 & 2 for you!  Or complete
 Schedule 2 by uploading required information from
 a spreadsheet fi le.  At the end of I-fi ling your return, you
 have the option to pay the tax by check or 
 electronically by using ACH Credit or Debit.

MEETRS File Upload: Load up a preformatted fi le that contains your payroll 
    information.

When you use EZ Pay, CQR & Withholding I-File or MEETRS, you immediately receive 
confi rmation that your return has been fi led or your tax has been paid.

With so many options available, fi ling and paying your withholding taxes is easier than 
ever!  For more information, visit the Maine Revenue Services web site at www.maine.
gov/revenue/netfi le/gateway2.htm.

STATE OF MAINE
MAINE REVENUE SERVICES

P.O. BOX 9103
AUGUSTA, ME  04332-9103
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FIRST CLASS MAIL
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P.O. BOX 1234
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ANYPLACE, ME  04000


