
MAINE REVENUE SERVICES
 CERTIFIED VISUAL MEDIA PRODUCTION

RESIDENCY AFFIDAVIT

36 MRSA § 6902(1) allows a certifi ed visual media production company to receive a reimbursement equal 
to 12% of certifi ed production wages paid to, or for, individuals who are residents of Maine.  To assist the 
production company in qualifying my wage or payment,  I,__________________________________, who 
resides at ____________________________________________________________________ in the 
town/city of_________________________________, Maine, hereby certify the following:

1. Check if applicable :
I fi led as a resident* individual on my most recently fi led Maine income tax return; or I was not 
required to fi le an income tax return for the most recently completed tax year, but I could have 
fi led as a resident individual if a return had been required; or I was claimed, or could have been 
claimed as a dependent** on a Maine income tax return of an individual who fi led as a resident 
individual on the fi ler’s most recently fi led Maine income tax return.

2. The certifi ed visual media production company for which this affi davit applies:
A. Company’s Name:_________________________________________________________
B. Company’s Address: _______________________________________________________
  _______________________________________________________________________
C. Company’s Employer Identifi cation Number: ____________________________________

3. I authorize Maine Revenue Services (“MRS”) to inform the production company listed above if MRS 
determines that I am not a Maine resident.

Under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have examined this form and related statements and to 
the best of my knowledge and belief they are true, correct and complete.

_________________________________________________________________   _____________
 Resident’s Signature Date

_____________________________________________________________________________  
 Resident’s Printed Name

Resident’s Social Security Number: - -

* Generally, a Maine resident is an individual (1) who was domiciled in Maine for the entire tax year or (2) who maintained a 
permanent place of abode in Maine for the entire tax year and spent a total of more than 183 days in Maine.  For a more 
comprehensive description of Maine residency, see the Guidance to Residency Status document at www.maine.gov/revenue 
(select Forms, Publications and Applications, then select Income Tax Guidance Documents).

** Maine relies on federal rules for determining dependency.  Generally, an individual must pay more than 50% of your support to 
claim you as a dependent for individual income tax purposes.  Other rules apply.  For more information, see federal Form 1040 
instructions available at www.irs.gov/formspubs (select Form and Instruction Number, then select Instructions for Form 1040).

Note: Employer must retain a copy of this affi davit on fi le for at least 3 years 
available for review by Maine Revenue Services upon request.
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