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Part 1lI—Provides general instructions and line by line

instructions for

preparation  of Schedule A—
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PART I — GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS

The following is a guide for Maine Corporate Income Taypayers. Reference
should be made, however, to the complete text of the State of Maine Income Tax
Law, which is available upon request from the Bureau of Taxation, Income Tax
Division, State Office Building, Augusta, Mainc 04330.

1. CORPORATIONS SUBJECT TO INCOME TAX:
Every entity subject to Federal Income Tax as a corpora-
tion and doing business within the State of Maine must
file Form 1120-ME. and pay its applicable Maine Corpo-
rate Income Tax, except corporations having an election
under Subchapter “S” of the Internal Revenue Code
(small business corporations) and insurance companies
subject to tax under Sections 2511 to 2522, Title 36,
M.RS.A. (Insurance Premiums Tax and Fire Investiga-
tion and Prevention Tax).

2. BANKING INSTITUTIONS SUBJECT TO FRAN-
CHISE TAX MEASURED BY INCOME: Every corpo-
ration which is a bank, savings bank, savings institution,
trust company and every savings and loan association, or
loan and building association, that is doing business in
this State, must file Form 1120-ME. and pay a Maine
Franchise Tax, or a Maine Income Tax, whichever is
greater,

3. DATE FOR FILING RETURN: Corporations re-
porting for the calendar year, 197 1, should file, with pay-
ment, on or before March 15,1972. Fiscal year taxpayers
should file, with payment, on or before the 15th day of
the third month, following the close of their taxable year.

4. EXTENSIONS FOR FILING: The assessor may
grant a reasonable extension of time for filing a return, for
just cause. No extension will be granted unless a deposit,
not less than 100% of the estimated tax, is made on or
before the original due date. Form 7004-ME., Application
for Extension of Time for Filing Return, is available from
this office, and should be used when requesting extensions.

5. PAYMENT OF CORPORATE INCOME OR
FRANCHISE TAX: Payment of the Maine Corporate

Income Tax or Franchise Tax must be made on or before
the due date for filing as explained in instructions 3 or 4
of this part. There is no requirement in the Maine In-
come Tax Law for prepayments of Corporate Income Tax.

6. PERIOD COVERED BY RETURN: Your return
will cover the same period as Federal Form 1120.

7. ACCOUNTING METHODS: A taxpayer’s method
of accounting for Maine Income Tax purposes must be
the same as his method of accounting for Federal Income
Tax purposes.

8. FEDERAL RETURN MUST ACCOMPANY
STATE RETURN: In all cases, Maine Corporation
Return, Form 1120-ME. must be accompanied by a legi-
ble copy of the Corporation’s Federal Return, Form 1120,
pages 1 through 4, for the same taxable period. You are
not required to provide copies of supporting schedules
attached to Federal Form 1120 filed with Internal Reve-
nue Service unless specifically requested.

9. FEDERAL AUDIT CHANGES AND AMENDED
RETURNS: All taxpayers must report any change or
correction by Internal Revenue Service in Federal taxable
income within 90 days after final determination of such
change or correction.

Any taxpayer filing an amended Federal Income Tax
Return must, within 90 days, file an amended Maine In-
come Tax Return,

10. CONSOLIDATED RETURNS: Affiliated corpora-
tions filing Federal Returns on a consolidated basis may
file consolidated returns with the State of Maine, if they so
elect.



PART II — SPECIFIC INSTRUCTIONS FOR FORM 1120-ME., PAGE 1

Line 1. FEDERAL TAXABLE INCOME: Enter Fed-
eral taxable income from line 30, Federal Form 1120.

Line 2a. INTEREST ON U. S. OBLIGATIONS: Enter
here interest on U. S. Bonds, U. S. Treasury Notes, or
other obligations of the U. S., which by law are exempt
from State taxes, but taxable by the Federal Government.
(Line 2a should not be completed by banking institutions
subject to Maine Franchise Tax.)

Line 2b. FOREIGN DIVIDEND GROSS-UP: See In-
ternal Revenue Code, Section 78.
(Line 2b should not be completed by banking institutions
subject to Maine Franchise Tax.)

Line 5. INCOME TAXES IMPOSED BY MAINE OR
ANY OTHER STATE: The Maine Income Tax Law
does not permit a deduction for income taxes imposed
by Maine or any other state. Therefore, income taxes
taken as a deduction on Federal Form 1120 must be
added back to arrive at Maine taxable income. (Line 5
should not be completed by banking institutions subject
to Maine Franchise Tax.)

Line 7. MAINE TAXABLE INCOME: Corporations
having income solely from business activity within this

State should enter here the same amount as on Line 6.
Corporations having income from within and without the
State should allocate and apportion income on Schedule
A and enter on this line the amount shown on Line 15,
Schedule A.

Line 9. ALTERNATE TAX COMPUTATION: Any
corporation, otherwisc required to allocate and apportion,
may elect to waive the 4% tax rate and allocation of
income on Schedule A, and instead pay tax at the rate of
1% of gross sales within this Statc provided that:

(a) The corporation did not own or rent any real
estate or tangible personal property in this State during
the taxable year; and

(b) The only activity of the corporation ia this State
during the taxable year consisted of sales; and

(c) The gross sales of the corporation within this State
during the taxable year did not exceed $100,000.

Line 10. CREDITS: This line is for the use of tax-
payers who have madc a deposit when requesting an ex-
tension of time for filing, as well as those taxpayers filing
amended returns and claiming credit for tax paid with the
original return.

Please check appropriate block provided on Line 10 to
indicate nature of amount previously paid.



PART III — FORM 1120-ME.—SCHEDULE A, PAGE 2

GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS: Schedule A is provided
for corporations engaged in inter-state business. A cor-
poration whose income was derived solely from a trade,
business or activity conducted entirely within Maine dur-
ing the taxable year should not complete Schedule A. If
the allocation and apportionment provisions do not fairly
represent the extent of the taxpayer’s business activity in
this State, the taxpayer may petition for, or the tax asses-
sor may require, in respect to all or any part of the tax-
payer’s business activity, if reasonable:

(a) Separate accounting

(b) The exclusion of any one or more of the factors

(c¢) The inclusion of one or more additional factors
which will fairly represent the taxpayer’s business activity
in this State,

(d) The employment of any other method to effectuate
an equitable allocation and apportionment of the tax-
payer’s income. :
Maine employs a three-factor formula to determine the
percentage of corporate business income which is appor-
tioned to, and taxed by Maine. This percentage is de-
rived by a fraction, the numerator of which is the proper-
ty factor plus the payroll factor plus the sales factor, and
the denominator of which is 3, or the number of factors
used in column 2, whichever is less.

“Tax period,” referred to in instructions for Lines 2, 3
and 7, means the period represented by adjusted Federal
taxable income on Line 6, page 1.

Line 2. SALES FACTOR: The sales factor is a frac-
tion, the numerator of which is the total sales of the tax-
payer in this State during the tax period, and the denom-
inator of which is the total sales of the taxpayer every-
where during the tax period.

Sales of tangible personal property are in this State, (1)
if the property is delivered or shipped to a purchaser,
other than the United States Government, within this
State, regardless of the f.o.b. point or other conditions of
the sale; or (2) the property is shipped from an office,
store, warehouse, factory or other place of storage in this
State and the purchaser is the United States Government
or the taxpayer is not taxable in the State of the purchaser.

Sales, other than sales of tangible personal property, are
in this State, if (1) the income producing activity is
performed in this State; or (2) the income producing
activity is performed both in and outside this State and
a greater proportion of the income producing activity is
performed in this State than in any other state, based on
costs of performance.

Line 4. PAYROLL FACTOR: The payroll factor is a
fraction, the numerator of which is the total amount paid
in this State during the tax period by the taxpayer for
compensation, and the denominator of which is the total
compensation paid everywhere during the tax period.
“Compensation” means wages, salaries, commissions and
any other form of remuneration paid to employees for
personal services. Compensation is paid in this State, (1)
if the individual’s service is performed entirely within this
State; or (2) the individual’s service is performed both
within and without the State, but the service performed
without the State is incidental to the individual’s service
within the State; or (3) some of the service is performed
in the State and the base of operations or, if there is no
base of operations, the place from which the service is
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directed or controlled is in the State, or the base of opera-
tions of the place from which the service is directed or
controlled is not in any state in which some part of the
service is performed, but the individual’s residence is in
this State.

Line 7. PROPERTY FACTOR: The property factor is
a fraction, the numerator of which is the average value of
the taxpayer’s real and tangible personal property owned
or rented and used in this State during the tax period and
the denominator of which is the average value of all the
taxpayer’s real and tangible personal property owned or
rented and used during the tax period.

Property owned by the taxpayer is valued at original cost.
Property rented by the taxpayer is valued at 8 times the
net annual rental rate. Net annual rental rate is the an-
nual rental rate paid by the taxpayer less any annual rental
rate received by the taxpayer from subrentals. The aver-
age value of property shall be determined by averaging
the values at the beginning and ending of the tax period
but the tax assessor may require the averaging of monthly
values during the tax period if reasonably required to re-
flect properly the average value of the taxpayer’s property.

Line 9. Apportionment factor or percentage, carried out
to 4 decimal places, to be applied to business income on
Line 12. If number of factors used in column 2 is less
than 3, divide Line 8 by number used.

Line 10. Enter adjusted Federal taxable income from
page 1, Line 6 of the 1120-ME.

Line 11. Enter in Lines 11(a) through 11(f) all non-
business income allocable to Maine or any other state
during the tax period. Do not include interest on
United States obligations or Foreign dividend gross-up
accounted for on page 1, lines 2(a) and 2(b). Other
Nonbusiness Income—Any other income, which does
not arise from activities in the regular course of trade
or business, or which does not arise from property
which constitutes an integral part of the taxpayer’s
trade or business, shall be allocated to Maine to the
extent it can reasonably be determined to be derived
from sources within Maine.

Line 12. Amount on Line 12 represents business in-
come only, as determined by subtracting nonbusiness
income (Line 11h) from adjusted Federal taxable in-
come. This is the amount on which the percentage on

Line 9 should be applied.

Line 13. Enter here the result of multiplying Line 12
by the percentage on Line 9. This is your business in-
come apportioned to Maine.

Line 14. This section 14(a) through 14(f) pertains to
nonbusiness income directly allocated to the State of
Maine during the tax period.

Line 15. This figure represents taxable income appor-
tioned and allocated to Maine and should be also en-
tered on Line 7, page 1 of Form 1120-ME.

For specific instructions on allocation of any of the
items (a) through (f) of Lines 11 and 14, please refer
to Chapter 821, Section 5211 of the Maine Income
Tax Law. A copy of the Law or further information
may be obtained from:
Bureau of Taxation
Income Tax Division
State Office Building
Augusta, Maine 04330



