
ANNUAL ELEVATOR 
INSPECTION CERTIFICATE 

APPLICATION 
 
 
 
 

 

 
Department of Professional and Financial Regulation 

Office of Professional & Occupational Regulation 
 

ELEVATOR AND TRAMWAY SAFETY PROGRAM 
 

35 State House Station 
Augusta, ME 04333-0035 

 
Office Telephone: (207) 624-8672 

Website: www.maine.gov/professionallicensing 
 

Office located at: 76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine 

http://www.maine.gov/professionallicensing


 

 

COMPLETING THE APPLICATION FORM – Return the following to this 
office: 

 

• Completed Application Form (PER UNIT) 

• Inspection Certificate Fee of $150.00 due 30 days prior to 
certificate expiration date. $50.00 late fee if not submitted 30 days 
prior to expiration 

• Inspection Report 
 

Incomplete applications will be returned. 
 

As the owner of an elevator, you are required to arrange for your elevator’s 
annual inspection by contacting a licensed private elevator inspector. 

 

Once inspected, you must submit the inspection report to this office with 
the attached application and certificate fee of $70.00 30 days prior to the 
certificate expiration date. Your new certificate will expire in the same 
month each year unless you petition the office for a change. 

 
If you do not file the inspection report, annual application and $150.00 
certificate fee 30 days prior to the certificate expiration date, you must 
submit a late filing fee of $50.00 in addition to the regular certificate fee of 
$150.00. 

 
It is a Class E crime to operate an elevator in Maine without a current and 
valid inspection certificate (32 M.R.S.A. § 15223). As the owner of an 
elevator, you are legally responsible for the safety and maintenance of the 
elevator. If you allow your elevator to be used without a current certificate, 
your elevator may be taken out of service by a state elevator inspector and 
you may be subject to administrative discipline, fines or criminal 
prosecution for allowing your elevator to be operated without a current 
inspection certificate. 

APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS 
ELEVATOR INSPECTION CERTIFICATE 



ELEVATOR CERTIFICATE RENEWAL APPLICATION 
Date Received  FOR OFFICE USE ONLY 

. 

 

CK #    

AMT   

CN    
CODE 4530/1908 

 STATE OF MAINE 
 DEPT. OF PROFESSIONAL & FINANCIAL REGULATION 
 ELEVATOR & TRAMWAY SAFETY PROGRAM 
 35 STATE HOUSE STATION 
 AUGUSTA, ME 04333 
 TEL: (207) 624-8672 FAX: (207) 624-8636 

 MAINE RELAY: 711 (TTY) 

AMOUNT DUE: $150.00 
 

Please Note: If you do not file the annual renewal application, inspection report, and $150 certificate fee 

30 days prior to certificate expiration date, you must submit a late filing fee of $50 in addition to the 

certificate renewal fee of $150. Your new certificate will expire in the same month each year unless you 

request a change of expiration. The expiration date cannot be extended beyond the current expiration 

date. 

Make checks payable to “Maine State Treasurer” or fill out the following: 

 

NAME OF CARDHOLDER 

FIRST 

(please print) 

MIDDLE INITIAL 

 

LAST 

ADDRESS OF CARDHOLDER (please print) 

I authorize the Department of Professional and Financial Regulation, Office of Professional & Occupational 

Regulation to charge my □ VISA □ MASTERCARD the following amount: $  

Card number: XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX Expiration Date mm / yyyy 

 
SIGNATURE 

(check here) □ I understand that fees are non-refundable 

DATE 

 

 

UNIT INFORMATION 

Elevator Registration #: Name of Building: 

Building Location:  
Street City Zip Code 

Location of Unit in Building (ie; lobby, gym, wing, etc.): 

Certificate Expiration Date: Change Certificate Expiration Date to: 

 
OWNER INFORMATION 

Name of Owner: 

Mailing Address: 

City: State: Zip: County: 

Contact Person: Phone Number: 

 


