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APPLICANT INFORMATION GUIDE 

The application material you have requested from the Board of Speech, Audiology and Hearing is 
enclosed. It contains all the relevant materials you need to complete your application for licensure as 
a Speech-Language Pathologist in the State of Maine. Please read all the information carefully. If you 
have any questions after reading this packet, please call or e-mail our office. 
 

FURNISHED TO APPLICANT: 
 

 Applicant Information Guide 

 Individual License Application 

 Verification of Licensure Form  

 
ADDITIONAL RESOURCES: 
 

 Licensing Law for Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists  

Please read carefully and review periodically for changes. You are responsible for knowing 
and complying with all Maine Laws throughout your licensure. 
 

Available: http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/32/title32ch137sec0.html or call (207) 
624-8626 
 

 

 Licensing Rules Specific to Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists  

Please read carefully and review periodically for changes. You are responsible for knowing 
and complying with all Board Rules throughout your licensure. 
 

Available: http://www.maine.gov/sos/cec/rules/02/chaps02.htm#643  or call (207) 624-8626 
 

 

 Licensing Rules for the Department of Professional and Financial Regulation 

Available: http://www.maine.gov/sos/cec/rules/02/chaps02.htm#041  

Please read these carefully and review periodically for changes. You are responsible for 
knowing and complying with Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation Rules, 
Chapters 10, 11 and 13, throughout your licensure. 

 

 

 Statutory Authority, Titles 5 & 10 

Available: http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/10/title10ch901sec0.html  

  http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/5/title5ch341sec0.html  

 
 
 
 
 
 

http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/32/title32ch137sec0.html
http://www.maine.gov/sos/cec/rules/02/chaps02.htm#643
http://www.maine.gov/sos/cec/rules/02/chaps02.htm#041
http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/10/title10ch901sec0.html
http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/5/title5ch341sec0.html


APPLICATION PROCEDURE: 
 

 Please submit your application materials to the Board by mail or hand delivery to our offices. 
Faxed submissions will not be accepted. Applications are reviewed and processed in the order 
received. Typical review and processing time of applications is up to two (2) to three (3) weeks. 
Incomplete applications, underlying circumstances surrounding applications and periods of high 
volume could result in further delays. 

 
 If there are deficiencies with your application, you will be notified by mail. You may also check the 

Board’s website. It is the responsibility of the applicant to see that all documentation is completed 
and returned to the department for consideration. 

 
 Please do not call our office regarding the status of your application. Information regarding the 

status of applications may be found at the Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation’s 
website: http://pfr.informe.org/almsonline/almsquery/welcome.aspx.  We appreciate your 
thoughtful attention to this request. 

 
 
IMPORTANT INFORMATION FOR LICENSEES: 
 
 Renewal 
 

This is an annual license, renewable by the end of February each year. You may renew online at 
your convenience 24 hours a day, 7 days a week up to 60 days in advance of your license 
expiration date. Renewal reminders are currently sent to the e-mail address on file. Late renewals 
(up to 90 days after license expiration) incur a late renewal fee of $50.00. Those wishing to obtain 
licensure after the late renewal period must meet the requirements for licensure current at the time 
of the application. Applicants whose license expired within the 91 day to 2 year window should 
contact the Office to request a reinstatement application. 

 
 10 Day Reporting 
 

Please be advised, pursuant to 10 MRS §8003-G, licensees and applicants are to report to the 
Office, in writing, any change in a name or address on file with the Office, any criminal conviction, 
any revocation, suspension or other disciplinary action taken in this or any other jurisdiction 
against any occupational or professional license held, or any material change set forth in this 
application within ten (10) days:  
http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/10/title10ch901sec0.html 

 
 GovDelivery 
 

The Board of Speech, Audiology and Hearing has teamed up with GovDelivery to manage our 
digital communications. As its name implies, GovDelivery works exclusively with federal, state and 
municipal government agencies to communicate with licensees and the public. 
 
As a subscriber, you will automatically receive notices from the Board based on the subscriber 
preferences that you select. Available topics include Board Meetings (agendas and minutes), 
Board Laws and Rules Notices (rulemaking and law changes) and Board Notices (news and 
information).  
 
To become a subscriber, go to the Board’s website and insert your e-mail address in the space 
provided on the left side of the page. You may unsubscribe at any time. 

http://pfr.informe.org/almsonline/almsquery/welcome.aspx
http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/10/title10ch901sec0.html


    

 

 
 
 
 

Licensure as a Speech-Language Pathologist  
 

 

There are four (4) pathways to licensure as a speech-language pathologist. Applicants who hold 
licensure as a speech-language pathologist in another state must use Pathway 4. 
 
 

Pathway 1 (Change of status) 
Applicants who wish to change their status from temporary to permanent licensure must submit the 
documentation and fee as outlined in the checklist below.  
 

 Completed and signed application for permanent licensure sent by mail or courier; 
 

 A written request for Change of Status sent by mail or courier; 
 

 Payment of a Licensure fee of $110.00; 

 Documentation of successful completion of the Clinical Fellowship Year (copy of your completed 
and signed ASHA rating and reporting form sent by mail or courier accepted); and 

 

 Official evidence of a passing score on the examination administered by Praxis issued directly to 
this Office. 

 

 

Pathway 2 (Standard)  
Standard applicants must submit the documentation and fees as outlined in the checklist below. 

 
 

 A completed and signed Application sent by mail or courier;  

 Payment of an Application fee of $50.00; 

 Payment of a Licensure fee of $110.00;  

 Payment of a Criminal History Check fee of $21.00; 

Note: All fees can be in one payment. 
 

 Official Transcript sent by mail or courier directly to this Office from the issuing University or 
College indicating an earned/conferred Master’s degree or equivalent coursework; 

 

 Evidence of having completed four hundred (400) clock hours of lawfully obtained supervised 
clinical observation and clinical practicum (copy of your completed and signed log(s) sent by mail 
or courier or other evidence acceptable to the Board); 

 

Note: Please refer to Board Rules Chapter 3, Section 1(1)(A)(3) or Chapter 3, Section 2(1)(A)(2). 
 

 Evidence of successful completion of the Clinical Fellowship Year (copy of your completed and 
signed ASHA rating and reporting form sent by mail or courier accepted) or equivalent (lawfully 
obtained) supervised experience as determined by the Board; 
 

 Official evidence of a passing score on the examination administered by Praxis issued directly to 
this Office; and 

 

Note: The exam must have been taken and passed within the preceding five (5) years of the date of 
receipt of any application. 

 

 Official Verification(s) of Licensure sent by mail or courier directly to this Office from the issuing 
agency (if applicable).  

 



    

 

 
Pathway 3 (Certificate of Clinical Competency)  
Applicants seeking licensure via CCC must submit the documentation and fees as outlined in the checklist 
below. 
 A completed and signed Application for Licensure sent by mail or courier;  

 Payment of an Application fee of $50.00; 

 Payment of a Licensure fee of $110.00;  

 Payment of a Criminal History Check fee of $21.00; 

Note:  All fees can be in one payment. 
 

 Official Transcript sent by mail or courier directly to this Office from the issuing University or College 
indicating an earned/conferred Master’s degree or equivalent coursework;  

 

 Official documentation demonstrating a valid Certificate of Clinical Competency that is current at the time of 
application sent by mail or courier directly to this Office from ASHA; and 

 

Note: Contact ASHA directly: www.asha.org ~ (800)498-2071 
 

 Official Verification(s) of Licensure sent by mail or courier directly to this Office from the issuing agency (if 
applicable).  

 
Pathway 4 (Other Jurisdiction) 
Applicants who hold speech-language pathology licensure in another state must submit the documentation and 
fees as outlined in the checklist below. 
 

 A completed and signed Application for Licensure sent by mail or courier;  

 Payment of an Application fee of $50.00; 

 Payment of a Licensure fee of $110.00;  

 Payment of a Criminal History Check fee of $21.00; 

Note: All fees can be in one payment. 
 

 Official Transcript sent by mail or courier directly to this Office from the issuing University or College 
indicating an earned/conferred Master’s degree or equivalent coursework; 

 

 Official Verification(s) of Licensure sent by mail or courier directly to this Office from the issuing agency; and 
 

 Documentation of one (1) of the following options: 
 

1. Official documentation demonstrating a valid Certificate of Clinical Competency current at the 
time of the application sent by mail or courier directly to this Office from ASHA; 
 

Note: Contact ASHA directly: www.asha.org ~ (800)498-2071 
 

2. Copy of Statutes and Rules of sending state indicating professional standards substantially 
equivalent to or greater than those set forth by Maine Rule sent by mail or courier to this Office;  

 

3. Evidence of: 
o Completion of four hundred (400) clock hours of lawfully obtained supervised clinical 

observation and clinical practicum (copy of your completed and signed log(s) sent by 
mail or courier or other evidence acceptable to the Board accepted); 

o Successful completion of the Clinical Fellowship Year (copy of your completed and 
signed ASHA rating and reporting form sent by mail or courier accepted) or equivalent 
(lawfully obtained) supervised experience as determined by the Board; and 

o Official passing score on the examination administered by Praxis issued directly to this 
Office. 

Note: The exam must have been taken and passed within the preceding five (5) years 
of the date of receipt of any application. 



   

 

 
 
 

 

 
Frequently Asked Questions: 

 

 Where do I send my application?  Our mailing address is 35 State House Station, Augusta, Maine  
04333-0035. 

 

 Where are you located?  76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine. 
 

 What hours are you open?  8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. weekdays. 
 

 Can I come to Gardiner to drop off my application?  Yes. You will not leave with a license, though. 

 
 Can I come to Gardiner to pick up my license? No. Your license will be mailed to you. 

 

 How can I check the status of my application? You can check our website: 
http://pfr.informe.org/almsonline/almsquery/welcome.aspx.  

 

 How far back do I go answering the criminal conviction question?  Any conviction, ever. 
 

 Can I fax my application? No. 

 
 
 

NOTICES 
 

BACKGROUND CHECK:  Pursuant to 5 M.R.S.A. §5301 - 5303, the State of Maine is granted the authority to take into consideration an 
applicant’s criminal history record.  The Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation requires a criminal history records check as 
part of the application process for all applicants. 
 

PUBLIC RECORD:  This application is a public record for purposes of the Maine Freedom of Access Law (1 MRSA §401 et seq).  Public 
records must be made available to any person upon request.  This application for licensure is a public record and information supplied as 
part of the application (other than social security number and credit card information) is public information.  Other licensing records to 
which this information may later be transferred will also be considered public records.  Names, license numbers and mailing addresses 
listed on or submitted as part of this application will be available to the public and may be posted on our website. 
 

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER:  The following statement is made pursuant to the Privacy Act of 1974 (§7(B)).  Disclosure of your Social 
Security Number Is mandatory.  Solicitation of your Social Security Number is solely for tax administration purposes, pursuant to 35 MRSA 
§175 as authorized by the Tax Reform Act of 1975 (42 USC §405(C)(2)(C)(1)).  Your Social Security Number will be disclosed to the State 
Tax Assessor or an authorized agent for use in determining filing obligations and tax liability pursuant to Title 36 of the Maine Revised 
Statutes.  No further use will be made of your Social Security Number and it shall be treated as confidential tax information pursuant to 36 
MRSA §191. 
 
 
 
 

 

Before you seal the envelope, did you: 

 Complete every item on the application including the criminal background disclosure question. 

 Sign and date your application. 

 Include the required fee(s). Make checks payable to “Maine State Treasurer” or complete the    
    credit card section on the application. DO NOT SEND CASH. 

 Make a copy of your application to keep for your records. 
 

 

 

 

STATE OF MAINE DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL & FINANCIAL REGULATION  
 OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION 

Mailing Address:  35 State House Station, Augusta, Maine  04333     Courier/Delivery Address:  76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine  04345 
Phone:  (207) 624-8603    Fax:  (207) 624-8637   TTY users call Maine Relay 711        Web:  www.maine.gov/professionallicensing  

http://pfr.informe.org/almsonline/almsquery/welcome.aspx
http://www.maine.gov/professionallicensing


  
  
  
  

  

STATE OF MAINE 

DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL 

AND FINANCIAL REGULATION 

OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION  

 

INDIVIDUAL LICENSE APPLICATION 

  

APPLICANT INFORMATION (please print) 
  
FULL LEGAL NAME             FIRST                    MIDDLE INITIAL                          LAST 
  
  
ANY OTHER NAMES EVER USED 
  
  
DATE OF BIRTH      mm /  dd / yyyy 

  
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER 
  

  
MAILING ADDRESS 
  
  
CITY                                               STATE                     ZIP CODE                      COUNTY 

 
  
PHONE (       )                                FAX (       )                                  E-MAIL 

 

CRIMINAL BACKGROUND DISCLOSURE   

NOTE:  Failure to disclose criminal convictions may result in denial, fines, suspension and/or revocation of a license. 
 

1.  Have you ever been convicted by any court of any crime?   (circle one)        NO             YES 
 

     If yes,  enclose a detailed description of what happened (including dates) and a copy of the court judgment. 
 

2.  Has any jurisdiction taken disciplinary action against any professional license you hold or have held,  
     or denied your application for licensure?  (circle one)                                      NO            YES 
 

     If yes,  enclose a detailed explanation and copies of all documents. 

By my signature, I hereby certify that the information provided on this application is true and accurate to the best of my knowledge and 
belief.  By submitting this application, I affirm that the Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation will rely upon this information 
for issuance of my license and that this information is truthful and factual.  I also understand that sanctions may be imposed including 
denial, fines, suspension or revocation of my license if this information is found to be false. 

SIGNATURE             DATE 

Board of Speech, Audiology and Hearing 

 
Please Select License Type: 

 

   Speech-Language Pathologist (SP1421) 
   Audiologist (AP1421) 
   Speech-Language Pathologist/Audiologist (PA1421) 

 

Required Fee: $181 
(includes Criminal History Records Check Fee)  

 

 
 

Rev. 1/2015 

  
  
  

  
  

  

  

  

 

Office Use Only: 
  

1421 - $110.00 
1446 - $50.00 
2619 - $21.00 

Office Use Only: 
 

Check #_____________ 
Amount:_____________ 
Cash #______________ 
Lic.  #_______________ 

PAYMENT OPTIONS: 
Make checks payable to “Maine State Treasurer” – if you wish to pay by Mastercard or Visa, fill out the following: 

NAME OF CARDHOLDER (please print)          FIRST                    MIDDLE INITIAL                LAST 

I authorize the Department of Professional and Financial Regulation, Office of Professional & Occupational Regulation to 
charge my       VISA        MASTERCARD  the following amount:  $____________ 

     I understand that fees are non-refundable 

Card number:          XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX                                     Expiration Date    mm / yyyy 

SIGNATURE                                                                   DATE 



 

 

Applicant’s Name:  ___________________________ 
 

Post Secondary Education 

Name of School Date of Graduation Major Degree Awarded 

 
 

   

 
 

   

 
 

   

 

Employment 
Please provide information regarding your current employment and where you are seeking employment. 

Current Employer: 
 
 

Work  Phone (include area code): 
 

Mailing Address: 
 
 

City: 
 
 

State: Zip Code: 

Title: 
 

Dates: 

 

Prospective Employer: 
 

Work  Phone (include area code): 
 

Mailing Address: 
 

City: 
 
 

State: Zip Code: 

 

Credentialing History  
 

Do you hold or have you ever held a professional 
license/certification/registration in this or any other state/country? 

 

 
 

[   ] YES  [   ] NO 

 

If yes: 
Profession  License # State/Country Date Issued Expiration Date 

 
 

    

 
 

    

 
 

    

 

      

      Have you ever taken the Praxis Examination?  
 

If yes: 

Year Taken: 

 
Select One: 
             [   ] Pass      [   ] Fail 

Year Taken: Select One: 
             [   ] Pass      [   ] Fail 

 

 

 
 

[   ] YES  [   ] NO 
 
 
 
 
 
 



    

 

Applicant’s Name:  ___________________________ 

 
 

Disciplinary History 
      

1. Do you have pending against you any complaints from a regulatory 
board or professional organization? If yes, please enclose a detailed 
explanation. 

 

2. Have you ever been or are you currently a defendant in a civil 
proceeding related to your professional activities? If yes, please 
enclose a detailed explanation. 

 

 
 
 
 

[   ] YES  [   ] NO 
 
 
 

 
[   ] YES  [   ] NO 
 

 
Affirmation 

 

By my signature, I hereby certify that the information provided on this application is true and accurate 
to the best of my knowledge and belief. By submitting this application, I affirm that the Office of 
Professional and Occupational Regulation will rely upon this information for issuance of my license 
and that this information is truthful and factual. I also understand that sanctions may be imposed 
including denial, fines, suspension or revocation of my license if this information is found to be false. 
 
I also understand, pursuant to 10 MRS §8003-G, I am to report to the Office, in writing, any change in 
my name or address on file with the Office, any criminal conviction, any revocation, suspension or 
other disciplinary action taken in this or any other jurisdiction against any occupational or professional 
license I hold, or any material change set forth in this application within ten (10) days. 
 
 
SIGNATURE: _______________________________________   DATE: ______________________ 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



 

S T A T E  O F  M A I N E  
D E P A R T M E N T  O F  P R O F E S S I O N A L  

A N D  F I N A N C I A L  R E G U L A T I O N  
Board of Speech, Audiology and Hearing 

35  S T A T E  H O U S E  S T A T I O N  
A U G U S T A ,  M A I N E  

04333-0035 

 

 

Paul R. LePage  
 

Anne L. Head 
Governor  Director 

 

 
 

O F F I C E  P H O N E :  (207 )62 4 -8 626   
PRINTED ON RECYCLED PAPER 

 
 

F A X :  (2 07 ) 624 - 8637  

 

 

TTY  U S E R S  C A L L  M A I N E  R E L A Y  71 1  
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VERIFICATION OF LICENSURE FORM 
 

The applicant listed below is applying for licensure in the State of Maine.  The Maine Board of 
Speech, Audiology and Hearing requests written verification from each jursidiction that the applicant 
holds or has held any certification, licensure, or credential.  This is your authority to release any 
information in your files, favorable or otherwise.   
 

The section below is to be completed by the applicant and forwarded with page 2 to the 
licensing or certifying authority.  Any associated fees are the responsibility of the applicant.  If 
verification of licensure is needed for more than one (1) state, please copy form as needed.  

 

Name: 

 
Mailing Address: 

 
City: 

 
State: Zip Code: 

 

License Number: 

 
State: Date of Issue: 

Signature of Applicant: 

 
Date: 
 

 

Directions to State Board: 
 

Complete the remaining portion of page 1 and page 2 and return both pages by mail or courier:   
 

U.S.P.S. Mailing Address: Board of Speech, Audiology and Hearing, 35 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333 
  -or- 

Courier/Delivery Address: Board of Speech, Audiology and Hearing, 76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine 04345 
 

Name of Licensee: Type of License: 

 
License Number: 

 

 

Status of License: 
 

  Active 
  

  Inactive 
 

  Expired 

Date Issued: 

 
Expiration Date: 

 

 
 

 
 



Applicant’s Name:  ________________________________ 
 

 

VERIFICATION OF LICENSURE (PAGE 2) 

 
Exam taken: 
 

    
_______________________________________________ 

 
Date exam passed:  
 

If no examination was taken, how was licensure obtained? 
 
   Grandfathered     Endorsement/Comity from which state: _________________      Other     
 

What were the requirements for education at the time the license was issued? 
   ________________________________________________________________________ 
  
   ________________________________________________________________________ 
 
   ________________________________________________________________________ 
 

 
Are there any pending complaints against this licensee? 
If yes, please explain: 
 
 
 

 
[   ] Yes    [   ] No 

 
Have there been any other actions taken against this licensee? 
If yes, please explain: 
 
 
 

 
[   ] Yes    [   ] No 

 
Is the licensee considered to be in good standing in your state? 
If no, please explain: 
 
 
 

 
[   ] Yes    [   ] No 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

State Board Seal 

 
 
Signature: _____________________________________ 
 
Printed Name: __________________________________ 
 
Title: _________________________________________     
 
State: __________    Phone Number ________________ 
 
Date: _______________________ 
 


