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ADDITIONAL RESOURCES

e ASWB Social Work Licensing Examination Candidate Handbook

Available: http://www.aswb.org/handbook.pdf or call (207) 624-8674

e Licensing Law for Social Workers

Please read carefully and review periodically for changes. You are responsible for knowing
and complying with all Maine Laws throughout your licensure.

Available: http://www.maineleqgislature.org/leqgis/statutes/32/title32ch83sec0.html or
call (207) 624-8674

e Licensing Rules for Social Workers
Please read carefully and review periodically for changes. You are responsible for knowing
and complying with all Board Rules throughout your licensure.

Available: http://www.maine.gov/sos/cec/rules/02/chaps02.htm#416 or call (207) 624-8674
e National Association of Social Workers (NASW) Code of Ethics
Available: http://www.naswdc.org/pubs/code/ or call 1-800-638-8799 ext. 238

e Statutory Authority, Titles 5 & 10
Available: http://www.mainelegislature.org/leqgis/statutes/10/title10ch901sec0.html
http://www.mainelegislature.org/leqgis/statutes/5/title5ch341sec0.html

APPLICATION PROCEDURE

» Please submit your application materials by mail or hand delivery to our offices. Submissions by
fax or e-mail will not be accepted. The application will be reviewed in the order it was received.

> If there are deficiencies with your application, you will be notified by mail. Please note:
Candidates whose applications have been incomplete for more than one (1) year will be required
to submit new applications and fees if they still wish to be considered for licensure.

» Please do not call our office regarding the status of your application. Information regarding the
status of applications may be found at the Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation’s
website: http://www.maine.gov/professionallicensing. We appreciate your thoughtful attention to
this request.

DESCRIPTION:

“Conditional License” indicates the licensee is completing a required consultation period under cer-
tain conditions to progress to another level of licensure. A licensee must be licensed at this level
while accruing required consultation experience. LSW-Conditionals cannot engage in private/
independent social work practice.


http://www.aswb.org/handbook.pdf
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http://www.maine.gov/professionallicensing

LSW Conditional Applications Shall Include the Following:

0 Completed and signed Application;

[0 Official Transcript of an earned degree that is sufficiently related to social work or social welfare;

O Educational Worksheet (only for applicants whose degrees are not listed pursuant to Board
Rules, Chapter 10, Section 1(7);

Evidence of employment in a social service delivery field;
Agreement to Provide Consultation Form;
Payment of a non-refundable $25.00 Application fee;

Payment of Licensure fee of $70.00; and
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Payment of a non-refundable Criminal History Check fee of $21.00.

Note: All fees can be in one payment.
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Frequently Asked Questions:

e Where do | send my application? Our mailing address is 35 State House Station, Augusta, Maine
04333-0035.

e Where are you located? 76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine.

e What hours are you open? 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. weekdays.

e Can | come to Gardiner to drop off my application? Yes.

e Can I come to Gardiner to pick up my license? No. Your license will be emailed to you.

e How can I check the status of my application? You can check our website:
http://pfr.informe.org/almsonline/almsquery/welcome.aspx.

e How far back do | go answering the criminal conviction question? Any conviction, ever.

e Can | fax my application? No.

NOTICES

BACKGROUND CHECK: Pursuant to 5 M.R.S.A. §5301 - 5303, the State of Maine is granted the authority to take into consideration an
applicant’s criminal history record. The Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation requires a criminal history records check as
part of the application process for all applicants.

PUBLIC RECORD: This application is a public record for purposes of the Maine Freedom of Access Law (1 MRSA §401 et seq). Public
records must be made available to any person upon request. This application for licensure is a public record and information supplied as
part of the application (other than social security number and credit card information) is public information. Other licensing records to
which this information may later be transferred will also be considered public records. Names, license numbers and mailing addresses
listed on or

submitted as part of this application will be available to the public and may be posted on our website.

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER: The following statement is made pursuant to the Privacy Act of 1974 (§7(B)). Disclosure of your Social
Security Number Is mandatory. Solicitation of your Social Security Number is solely for tax administration purposes, pursuant to 35 MRSA
§175 as authorized by the Tax Reform Act of 1975 (42 USC §405(C)(2)(C)(1)). Your Social Security Number will be disclosed to the State
Tax Assessor or an authorized agent for use in determining filing obligations and tax liability pursuant to Title 36 of the Maine Revised
Statutes. No further use will be made of your Social Security Number and it shall be treated as confidential tax information pursuant to 36
MRSA §191.

Before you seal the envelope, did you:

¢+ Complete every item on the application including the criminal background disclosure question.

+ Sign and date your application.

+ Include the required fee(s). Make checks payable to “Maine State Treasurer” or complete the
credit card section on the application. DO NOT SEND CASH.

+ Make a copy of your application to keep for your records.
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APPLICANT INFORMATION (please print)

FULL LEGAL NAME

ANY OTHER NAMES EVER USED

DATE OF BIRTH / / SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

MAILING ADDRESS

CITY STATE ZIP CODE COUNTY

PHONE () FAX () E-MAIL

CRIMINAL BACKGROUND DISCLOSURE
NOTE: Failure to disclose criminal convictions may result in denial, fines, suspension and/or revocation of a license.

1. Have you ever been convicted by any court of any crime? (circle one) NO YES
If yes, enclose a detailed description of what happened (including dates) and a copy of the court judgment.

2. Has any jurisdiction taken disciplinary action against any professional license you hold or have held,
or denied your application for licensure? (circle one) NO YES

If yes, enclose a detailed explanation and copies of all documents.

By my signature, | hereby certify that the information provided on this application is true and accurate to the best of my knowledge and
belief. By submitting this application, | affirm that the Office of Licensing and Registration will rely upon this information for issuance of
my license and that this information is truthful and factual. | also understand that sanctions may be imposed including denial, fines,
suspension or revocation of my license if this information is found to be false.

SIGNATURE DATE
Board of Social Worker Licensure Office Use Only:
Please Select License Type: ]jﬁé g;ggg
2619 - $21.00

[0 Licensed Social Worker, Conditional (LSX1421)

Office Use Only:

Check #
Required Fee: $116 Amount:
(includes Criminal History Records Check Fee) Cash #
Lic. #

Rev. 2/2011

PAYMENT OPTIONS:

Make checks payable to “Maine State Treasurer” — if you wish to pay by Mastercard or Visa, fill out the following:

NAME OF CARDHOLDER (please print)

| authorize the Department of Professional and Financial Regulation, Office of Professional & Occupational Regulation to

charge my [ VISA 0 MASTERCARD the following amount: $
[0 1 understand that fees are non-refundable
Card number: Expiration Date /

SIGNATURE DATE




Undergraduate Education

Name of Academic Institution:

Mailing Address:

City:

State:

Zip Code:

Major:

Degree Granted:

Date Conferred:

Graduate Education

Name of Academic Institution:

Mailing Address:

City:

State:

Zip Code:

Maijor:

Choose one:

O Clinical Track

O Non-Clinical Track

Degree Granted:

Date Conferred:

Credentialing History

Have you ever held a professional license/certification/registration in this or
any other state/country?

[ ]YES [ ]NO

If yes:

Profession License # State/Country Date Issued Expiration Date
Have you ever taken a social work examination? [ TYES [ INO
If yes:

Which Exam & Level? Date Taken:




Disciplinary History

1. Do you have pending against you any complaints from a regulatory board [ 1JYES [ ]NO
or professional organization? If yes, please enclose a detailed
explanation.

2. Have you ever been or are you cu_rrently a.d_e_fendant in a civil [ ]YES [ |NO
proceeding related to your professional activities? If yes, please enclose

a detailed explanation.

Affirmation

By my signature, | hereby certify that the information provided on this application is true and accurate
to the best of my knowledge and belief. By submitting this application, | affirm that the Office of Pro-
fessional and Occupational Regulation will rely upon this information for issuance of my license and
that this information is truthful and factual. | also understand that sanctions may be imposed including
denial, fines, suspension or revocation of my license if this information is found to be false.

SIGNATURE: DATE:




STATE OF MAINE
DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL
AND FINANCIAL REGULATION
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AGREEMENT TO PROVIDE CONSULTATION FOR LICENSURE
Page 1 of 2

This is to notify the Board of Social Worker Licensure that has agreed to
provide social work consultation.

The above named consultant is accountable for the professional development of the consultee. The consultant
will assume responsibility for the assessment of the competence and ethics of the consultee during the
consultation period. The consultant has an obligation to assess the consultee and to share this assessment
with the Board. The above named consultant agrees to provide consultation as stated below and return the
Verification of Consultation Form to the consultee when the required consultation is completed.

Please check the appropriate box below:

O Licensed Social Worker Conditional/Licensed Social Worker

An Agreement to Provide Consultation (face to face case discussion and evaluation focusing on raw data,
goals and objectives from the social worker’s practice) must be provided to the board for all LSW Conditional
and all LSW applicants. Consultation may be provided in a group (not to exceed 8 members) or individual
setting.

A total of 96 hours must be provided for 3200 hours of social work employment in not less than two nor more
than four years.

Non-DHHS social workers must receive consultation from social workers who are a LCSW, CSW-IP, or
LMSW. Only conditional social workers may receive consultation from a LSW who has been licensed at least
two years and holds a BSW degree.

DHHS social workers must receive consultation from social workers who are LSW that have been licensed for
at least 4 years, LMSW, or LSW licensed for 2 years and is designated by DHHS as a supervisor trainee who
is

concurrently receiving 48 hours of consultation from an LMSW.

O Licensed Master Social Worker Conditional Clinical

Four hours per month of consultation (face to face discussion and evaluation focusing on raw data, goals and
objectives of specific social work practice) must be provided while practicing social work in a clinical setting.
At least three of the four hours per month must be individual consultation.

A total of 96 hours within 3200 hours of social work employment in not less than two nor more than four years
is required for licensees whose MSW degree is in a clinical concentration. For licensees whose MSW degree
is in a non-clinical concentration, 192 hours of consultation within 6400 hours of social work employment in not
less than four years is required.

Consultants must be social workers who are LCSW, CSW-IP or certified for clinical practice in the state which
the consultation is obtained.

Credit for consultation experiences shall be given only for practice in an organized public or private agency,
school, institution or organization which provides the opportunity for contact with other professional disciplines
and work experience with a broad range of clients.



AGREEMENT TO PROVIDE CONSULTATION FOR LICENSURE
Page 2 of 2

Consultant Data

Name Consulting Social Worker:

Mailing Address:

City: State: Zip Code:

License Number: Work Telephone Number:

Type of Social Work Degree:

Consultee Data

Name of Consultee:

Mailing Address:

City: State: Zip Code:

License Number (If Applicable): Work Telephone Number:

Applicant’s Employment Data

Place of Employment:

Mailing Address:

City: State: Zip Code:

Telephone Number: Beginning Date of Employment:

Affirmation

We have read, understood and accepted the conditions of this relationship as defined by the Rules
of the Board of Social Worker Licensure and by the Statutes of the State of Maine. Since the consult-
ee is practicing social work by the virtue of the services provided by the consultant, any changes in
the relationship must be registered with the board.

Consultant Signature: Date:

Consultee Signature: Date:




STATE OF MAINE
DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL
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Governor Commissioner

Educational Worksheet

Applicant’s Name: Applicant’s Degree*:

INSTRUCTIONS: Please complete this worksheet by placing a minimum of twelve (12) courses from your
transcript(s) that are directly related to social work or social welfare into the chart below. In order to expedite
the review of your application, you are encouraged to submit descriptive information, such as a course
description or syllabus current at the time the course was taken, substantiating the  content of each of the
courses listed on the worksheet. You may attach additional worksheets if necessary. Please note that
experience in the field and/or continuing education activities, such as workshops or in-service training ses-
sions, cannot be substituted for an educational requirement.

*This worksheet is to be completed only by applicants whose degrees do not appear on the following
list (see also Board Rules, Chapter 10, Section 1(7)): behavioral science, social and  behavioral sciences,
childhood development, education and human development, mental health and human  services, psychology, psychology/
educational psychology, rehabilitation services, and sociology.

Course Credit Hours Description or

Course Title Number Syllabus attached?

[ JYES [ ]NO

[ ]YES [ ]NO

[ ]YES [ ]NO

[ ]YES [ ]NO

[ ]YES [ ]NO

[ ]YES [ ]NO

[ ]YES [ ]NO

[ ]YES [ ]NO

[ ]YES [ ]NO

[ JYES [ ]NO

[ 1TYES [ ]NO

[ 1TYES [ ]NO

PRINTED ON RECYCLED PAPER

TTY USERS CALL MAINE RELAY 711
OFFICE PHONE: (207)624-8674 OFFICES LOCATED AT: 76 NORTHERN AVENUE, FAX: (207)624-8637
GARDINER, MAINE
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