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APPLICANT INFORMATION GUIDE

The application material you have requested from the Radiologic Technology Board of Examiners is
enclosed. It contains all the relevant materials you need to complete your application to become a
trainee radiographer in the State of Maine. Please read all the information carefully. If you have any
guestions after reading this packet, please call or e-mail our office.

FURNISHED TO APPLICANT

e Application Information Guide
¢ Individual Traineeship Application
e Proposed Clinical Training Program Form

e Verification of Licensure Form

ADDITIONAL RESOURCES

e Licensing Law for Radiologic Technologists

Please read these carefully and review periodically for changes. You are responsible for
knowing and complying with all Maine Laws throughout your licensure.

Available: http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/32/title32ch103sec0.html or call (207)
624-8626

e Licensing Rules for Radiologic Technologists

Please read these carefully and review periodically for changes. You are responsible for
knowing and complying with all Board Rules throughout your licensure.
Available: http://www.maine.qgov/sos/cec/rules/02/chaps02.htm#465 or call (207) 624-8626

e Licensing Rules for the Department of Professional and Financial Regulation

Please read these carefully and review periodically for changes. You are responsible for
knowing and complying with Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation Rules,
Chapters 10, 11 and 13, throughout your licensure.

Available: http://www.maine.gov/sos/cec/rules/02/chaps02.htm#041

e Statutory Authority, Titles 5 & 10

Available: http://www.maineleqislature.org/leqgis/statutes/10/title10ch901sec0.html

http://www.maineleqislature.org/legis/statutes/5/title5¢ch341sec0.html
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http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/5/title5ch341sec0.html

APPLICATION PROCEDURE

» Please submit your application materials to the Board by mail or hand delivery to our offices. Fax
submissions will not be accepted. If the application you submit to us is complete, it will be
reviewed and processed in the order it was received.

» If there are deficiencies with your application, you will be notified by mail. You may also check the
Board’s website. It is the responsibility of the applicant to see that all documentation is completed
and returned to the department for consideration.

» Please do not call our office regarding the status of your application. Information regarding the
status of applications may be found at the Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation’s
website: http://www.maine.gov/pfr/professionallicensing/license_search.htm. We appreciate your
thoughtful attention to this request.

TRAINEE RADIOGRAPHER

Please read and review the Board’'s Rules for requirements as well as the terms and conditions of the
traineeship.

A completed application for a Traineeship shall include the following:
0 Completed Application;

[0 Course outlines for all required modules of the core curriculum outlined in Chapter
6, Section 7 of the Board's Rules;

Completed Proposed Clinical Training Program Form;

Official documentation of completion of radiation safety training;
Verification of Licensure (if applicable);

Payment of an Application Fee of $50.00; and

O000o0oaod

Payment of a Criminal History Records Check Fee of $21.00.

Note: All fees can be in one payment.


http://www.maine.gov/pfr/professionallicensing/license_search.htm

STATE OF MAINE DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL & FINANCIAL REGULATION
OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION
Mailing Address: 35 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333 Courier/Delivery address: 76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine 04345
Phone: (207) 624-8603 Fax: (207) 624-8637 Hearing Impaired: (888) 577-6690 Web: www.maine.gov/professionallicensing

Frequently Asked Questions:

e Where do | send my application? Our mailing address is 35 State House Station, Augusta, Maine
04333-0035.

e Where are you located? 76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine.

e What hours are you open? 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. weekdays.

e Can |l come to Gardiner to drop off my application? Yes. You will not leave with a license, though.
e Can |l cometo Gardiner to pick up my license? No. Your license will be mailed to you.

e How can I check the status of my application? You can check our website:
www.maine.gov/professionallicensing/license_search.htm.

e How far back do | go answering the criminal conviction question? Any conviction, ever.

e Can | fax my application? No.

NOTICES

BACKGROUND CHECK: Pursuantto 5 M.R.S.A. 85301 - 5303, the State of Maine is granted the authority to take into consideration an
applicant’s criminal history record. The Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation requires a criminal history records check as
part of the application process for all applicants.

PUBLIC RECORD: This application is a public record for purposes of the Maine Freedom of Access Law (1 MRSA 8401 et seq). Public
records must be made available to any person upon request. This application for licensure is a public record and information supplied as
part of the application (other than social security number and credit card information) is public information. Other licensing records to
which this information may later be transferred will also be considered public records. Names, license numbers and mailing addresses
listed on or submitted as part of this application will be available to the public and may be posted on our website.

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER: The following statement is made pursuant to the Privacy Act of 1974 (87(B)). Disclosure of your Social
Security Number Is mandatory. Solicitation of your Social Security Number is solely for tax administration purposes, pursuant to 35 MRSA
8175 as authorized by the Tax Reform Act of 1975 (42 USC 8405(C)(2)(C)(1)). Your Social Security Number will be disclosed to the State
Tax Assessor or an authorized agent for use in determining filing obligations and tax liability pursuant to Title 36 of the Maine Revised
Statutes. No further use will be made of your Social Security Number and it shall be treated as confidential tax information pursuant to 36
MRSA §191.

Before you seal the envelope, did you:

» Complete every item on the application including the criminal background disclosure question.

» Sign and date your application.

» Include the required fee(s). Make checks payable to “Maine State Treasurer” or complete the
credit card section on the application. DO NOT SEND CASH.

» Make a copy of your application to keep for your records.



http://www.maine.gov/professionallicensing/license_search.htm
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STATE OF MAINE
DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL
AND FINANCIAL REGULATION
OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION

INDIVIDUAL LICENSE APPLICATION

APPLICANT INFORMATION (please print)

FULL LEGAL NAME

ANY OTHER NAMES EVER USED

DATE OF BIRTH [ SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

MAILING ADDRESS

CITY STATE ZIP CODE COUNTY

PHONE ( ) FAX () E-MAIL

CRIMINAL BACKGROUND DISCLOSURE
NOTE: Failure to disclose criminal convictions may result in denial, fines, suspension and/or revocation of a license.

1. Have you ever been convicted by any court of any crime? (circle one) NO YES
If yes, enclose a detailed description of what happened (including dates) and a copy of the court judgment.

2. Has any jurisdiction taken disciplinary action against any professional license you hold or have held,
or denied your application for licensure? (circle one) NO YES

If yes, enclose a detailed explanation and copies of all documents.

By my signature, | hereby certify that the information provided on this application is true and accurate to the best of my knowledge and
belief. By submitting this application, | affirm that the Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation will rely upon this information
for issuance of my license and that this information is truthful and factual. | also understand that sanctions may be imposed including
denial, fines, suspension or revocation of my license if this information is found to be false.

SIGNATURE DATE

Radiologic Technology Board of Examiners
Office Use Only:

1446 - $50.00
2619 - $21.00

Required Fee: $71
(includes Criminal History Records Check Fee)

Please Select License Type:
O Trainee Radiographer (TRA)

Office Use Only:
Check #
Amount:
Cash #
Lic. #

Rev. 2/2012

PAYMENT OPTIONS:
Make checks payable to “Maine State Treasurer” - If you wish to pay by Mastercard or Visa, fill out the following:

NAME OF CARDHOLDER (please print)

| authorize the Dept. of Professional and Financial Regulation, Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation to
charge my [OVISA O MASTERCARD the following amount: $

Card number: Expiration Date /

SIGNATURE DATE




Educational History of Applicant

Degree Earned:

Date Received:

Licensure or Certification of Applicant (if any)

Type of License/Cert.

License/Certification Number | State or Jurisdiction Date of Issue &
Expiration

Course of Study

Please also submit course outlines for each required module of the core curriculum

Name of Educational Institution or Content Provider: Telephone Number:

Mailing Address:

City:

State: Zip Code:

Course Accreditation or Approvals, Such as ASRT (if any):

Exam or Other Exit Standard Required for Completion of Course of Study (if any):

Approximate Number of Hours to Complete: | Anticipated Commencement Date of Course of Study:

Type:

O Self Study

O Courses taught by a fully-licensed radiographer, physicist or licensed practitioner
(provide name(s), license type(s) and license number(s) below):

Name

License Type License Number




Affirmation

By my signature, | hereby certify that the information provided on and with this application is true and
accurate to the best of my knowledge and belief. By submitting this application, | affirm that the Office
of Professional and Occupational Regulation will rely upon this information for issuance of my
traineeship and that this information is truthful and factual. | also understand that sanctions may be
imposed including denial, fines or termination of my traineeship if this information is found to be false.

| further certify that | will comply with all of the requirements and responsibilities of the traineeship as
outlined in the Board'’s rules.

APPLICANT'S SIGNATURE: DATE:




STATE OF MAINE
DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL
AND FINANCIAL REGULATION
Radiologic Technology Board of Examiners
35 STATE HOUSE STATION
AUGUSTA, MAINE
04333-0035

Paul R. LePage Anne L. Head
Governor Director

Clinical Training Program
As part of the Traineeship, Trainee Radiographers must complete a Clinical Training Program.

By selecting a category below (maximum of 2), the Trainee acknowledges that the minimum number
of required procedures must be successfully completed during the 1-year term of the traineeship as
outlined in Chapter 6, Section 8(1) of the Board’s rules. The required procedures must be performed
under the direct supervision of the supervising licensed practitioner or a fully-licensed radiographer.

The Trainee also acknowledges that any change to the clinical training program or request to
complete alternate procedures or experience must be submitted to and approved by the Board prior
to executing the change or completing the alternate procedure or experience.

Trainees must submit monthly progress reports and maintain a log (board approved format) of all
procedures performed during the Clinical Training Program. The log must be submitted upon request
of the Board or upon application for licensure as a limited radiographer.

Training Site Data
(Must be completed in full)

Name of Training Site: Telephone:

Mailing Address:

City: State: Zip Code:

Physical Address (if different from mailing address):

Anticipated Start Date of Training:

Training Categories (choose a maximum of 2):
O Skull O Spine O Chest O Extremities O Podiatry

/o
Loy
[ %W

OFFICE PHONE: (207)624-8626 FAX: (207)624-8637

PRINTED ON RECYCLED PAPER
(888) 577-6690 (HEARING IMPAIRED)
OFFICES LOCATED AT: 76 NORTHERN AVENUE,
GARDINER, MAINE
www.maine.gov/professionallicensing




Proposed Clinical Training Program
Page 2 of 4

Trainee Name:

Supervisor Data
(To be completed in full by Supervisor)

Name of Supervisor:

Mailing Address:

City: State: Zip Code:
Supervisor’'s Education/School: Degree Awarded:
Type of License: License Number:
Place of Employment: Work Telephone:

Supervisor’s Responsibility Statement
(To be completed in full by Supervisor)

As the Supervisor:

1)

2)

3)

4)

5)

6)

7

| possess a valid license as outlined in the board rules to supervise a
limited radiographer trainee.

I will immediately notify the trainee and the Board of any disciplinary
action that affects my ability or right to supervise.

I know and understand the laws and rules pertaining to the supervision
and practice restrictions of limited radiographer trainees.

I will include in the clinical training program the patient safety protocols
described in Chapter 8, Section 5(C)(E) and (G) of the board’s rules.

I understand that training, other than radiation safety training, may not
commence until the Board has reviewed and approved the trainee’s
application.

I will provide the Board with monthly progress reports signed by myself
and the trainee on forms provided by the board. | will promptly address
any deficiencies or concerns with the trainee’s progress communicated
by the Board.

If I terminate supervision of this trainee | will immediately inform the
Board.

Agree:

O

O

By my signature | attest that | have read and agree with the above statements. | also understand and accept
the conditions and responsibilities of the supervisory relationship as outlined by the Rules of the Radiologic
technology Board of Examiners and by the Statutes of the State of Maine.

SIGNATURE: DATE:




Proposed Clinical Training Program
Page 3 of 4
Trainee Name:

Summary of Required Procedures

Training Category #1.:

Body Part

Approximate Number of
Procedures to be Performed
(must meet minimum requirements as shown in the
table in Chapter 6, Section 8(1)of the Board’s Rules)




Proposed Clinical Training Program
Page 4 of 4

Trainee Name:

Summary of Required Procedures

Training Category #2 (if applicable):

Approximate Number of

Body Part Procedures to be Performed

(must meet minimum requirements as shown in the
table in Chapter 6, Section 8(1)of the Board'’s Rules)




STATE OF MAINE
DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL
AND FINANCIAL REGULATION
Radiologic Technology Board of Examiners
35 STATE HOUSE STATION
AUGUSTA, MAINE
04333-0035

Paul R. LePage Anne L. Head
Governor Governor

VERIFICATION OF LICENSURE FORM
(for use by applicants licensed or certified in another jurisdiction)
Page 1 of 2

The applicant listed below is applying to practice as a trainee radiographer in the State of
Maine. The Radiologic Technology Board of Examiners requests written verification from all
states that the applicant holds or has held any certification, licensure, or credential. This is
your authority to release any information in your files, favorable or otherwise.

Directions to applicant:

Complete page 1 of this form and forward pages 1 and 2 to the state where you hold a current
license to practice. Because some states charge a fee to complete this form, you should check
with each state before mailing. All fees are the responsibility of the applicant. If verification is
needed for more than one (1) state, please copy form as needed.

Name:

Mailing Address:

City: State: Zip Code:
License Number: State: Date of Issue:
Signature of Applicant: Date:

Directions to State Board:

Complete Page 2 of this form and return pages 1 and 2 to the following:
U.S.P.S. Mailing Address: Radiologic Technology Board of Examiners, 35 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333

Courier/Delivery Address: Radiologic Technology Board of Examiners, 76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine 04345

@
OFFICE PHONE: (207)624-8626 o FAX: (207)624-8637
PRINTED ON RECYCLED PAPER
(888) 577-6690 (HEARING IMPAIRED)
OFFICES LOCATED AT: 76 NORTHERN AVENUE,
GARDINER, MAINE

www.maine.gov/professionallicensing




VERIFICATION OF LICENSURE

Page 2 of 2

Name of Licensee:

License Type:

License Number:

Date Issued:

Is License Current?

O Yes O No

Expiration Date:

Exam taken (if any):

Date Exam Passed:

If no examination was taken, how was licensure obtained?

O Grandfathered

O Endorsement from which state

What were the requirements for education at the time the license was issued?:

Are there any pending complaints against this licensee? [ 1Yes [ ]No
If yes, please explain:
Have there been any other actions taken against this licensee? [ 1Yes [ ]No
If yes, please explain:
Is the licensee considered to be in good standing in your state? [ 1Yes [ ]No

If no, please explain:

State Board Seal

Title:

Signature:

Printed Name:

State:

Date:

Phone Number
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