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APPLICANT INFORMATION GUIDE 

The application material you have requested from the Board of Licensure of Podiatric Medicine is en-
closed. It contains all the relevant materials you need to complete your application for licensure in the 
State of Maine. Please read all the information carefully. If you have any questions after reading this 
packet, please call or e-mail our office. 
 
FURNISHED TO APPLICANT  
 

• Application Information Guide 

• Individual License Application 

• Disciplinary Reports Form 

• Certificate of Podiatric Education Form 

• Request for Certified Score Report Form 

• Verification of Licensure Form 

• Prescriber Information Sheet 

 
ADDITIONAL RESOURCES  
 
 

♦ Licensing Law for Podiatrists 

Please read these carefully and review periodically  for changes. You are responsible for 
knowing and complying with all Maine Laws throughou t your licensure. 
 

Available: http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/32/title32ch51sec0.html or call (207)  

624-8626 
 

♦ Licensing Rules for Podiatrists 

Please read these carefully and review periodically  for changes. You are responsible for 
knowing and complying with all Board Rules througho ut your licensure. 
Available: http://www.maine.gov/sos/cec/rules/02/chaps02.htm#396 or call (207) 624-8626 

 

♦ Licensing Rules for the Department of Professional and Financial Regulation 

Please read these carefully and review periodically  for changes. You are responsible for 
knowing and complying with Office of Professional a nd Occupational Regulation Rules, 
Chapters 10, 11 and 13, throughout your licensure.  
 

Available: http://www.maine.gov/sos/cec/rules/02/chaps02.htm#041  
 

♦ Statutory Authority, Titles 5 & 10 

Available: http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/10/title10ch901sec0.html  

  http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/5/title5ch341sec0.html  



APPLICATION PROCEDURE 
 
♦ Please submit your application materials to the Board by mail or hand delivery to our offices. Fax 

submissions will not be accepted. Your application will be reviewed and processed in the order 
that it was received.  

 
♦ If there are deficiencies with your application, you will be notified by mail. You may also check the 

Board’s website. It is the responsibility of the applicant to see that all documentation is completed 
and returned to the department for consideration. 

 
♦ Please do not call our office regarding the status of your application. Information regarding the 

status of applications may be found at the Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation’s 
website: https://www.pfr.maine.gov/almsonline/almsquery/welcome.aspx?board=4400.  
We appreciate your thoughtful attention to this request. 

 
 
 
 
 
RENEWALS 
 

♦ This is an annual license, renewable by June 30 each year. You may renew online at your  
     convenience 24 hours a day, 7 days a week up to 60 days in advance of your license expiration 

date. Renewal reminders are sent to the e-mail address on file.  
 
 
10 DAY REPORTING 
 

♦ Please be advised that any change in name, address, email address, criminal convictions, disci-
plinary actions, or any material change set forth in your original application for licensure must be 
reported to the Office within 10 days pursuant to 10 MRS §8003-G:                                                 
http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/10/title10ch901sec0.html  

 



THERE ARE 2 PATHWAYS FOR LICENSURE AS A PODIATRIST 
 

 
PATHWAY I – STANDARD APPLICATION    
 
An application for examination shall include: 
  [   ]   Completed and signed Application; 
  [   ]   Payment of an Application Fee of $50.00; 
  [   ]   Payment of a Licensure Fee of $500.00; 
  [   ]   Payment of an Examination Fee of $900.00; 
  [   ]   Payment of a Criminal History Records Check Fee of $21.00; 

Note: All fees can be in one payment. 
  [   ]   Official transcript of pre-podiatric education; 
  [   ]   Copy of podiatric degree; 
  [   ]   Completed Certificate of Podiatric Education; 
  [   ]   Official documentation of passing scores on Parts I and II of the National Boards; 
  [   ]   Official documentation of passing score on the Part III Examination; 
  [   ]   Copy of Certificate of Residency; 
  [   ]   Federation of Podiatric Medical Boards Disciplinary Report; and 
  [   ]   Copy of applicant’s CPR certification. 

PATHWAY II – ENDORSEMENT 
 
An application for licensure on the basis of endorsement of scores attained on the examination of the 
National Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners shall include: 
  [   ]   Completed and signed Application; 
  [   ]   Payment of an Application Fee of $50.00; 
  [   ]   Payment of a Licensure Fee of $500.00; 
  [   ]   Payment of a Criminal History Records Check Fee of $21.00; 

Note: All fees can be in one payment. 
  [   ]   Official transcript of pre-podiatric education; 
  [   ]   Copy of podiatric degree; 
  [   ]   A completed Certificate of Podiatric Education; 
  [   ]   Official documentation of passing scores on Parts I and II of the National Boards; 
  [   ]   Official documentation of passing score on the Part III Examination, sent directly to the Board  

(if graduated after January 1, 1991); 
  [   ]   Copy of Certificate of Residency; 
  [   ]   Federation of Podiatric Medical Boards Disciplinary Report; 
  [   ]   Copy of applicant’s CPR certification; and 
  [   ]   A Verification of Licensure Form completed by any state board where applicant is presently or 

was previously licensed. 



STATE OF MAINE DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL & FINANCIAL REGULATION  
 OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION 

Mailing Address:  35 State House Station, Augusta, Maine  04333     Courier/Delivery address :  76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine  
04345 

Phone:  (207) 624-8603    Fax:  (207) 624-8637   TTY users call Maine relay 711    Web:  www.maine.gov/professionallicensing  

Frequently Asked Questions: 
 

• Where do I send my application?  Our mailing address is 35 State House Station, Augusta, Maine   
04333-0035. 
 

• Where are you located?  76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine. 
 
• What hours are you open?  8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. weekdays. 
 
• Can I come to Gardiner to drop off my application?   Yes. You will not leave with a license, though. 
 
• Can I come to Gardiner to pick up my license?  No. Your license will be emailed to you. 
 
• How can I check the status of my application?  You can check our website:  
• http://pfr.informe.org/almsonline/almsquery/welcome.aspx. 
 
• How far back do I go answering the criminal convict ion question?  Any conviction, ever. 
 
• Can I fax my application?  No. 

  
  

NOTICES 
  
BACKGROUND CHECK:  Pursuant to 5 M.R.S.A. §5301 - 5303, the State of Maine is granted the authority to take into consideration an  
applicant’s criminal history record.  The Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation requires a criminal history records check as part of 
the application process for all applicants. 
  
PUBLIC RECORD:  This application is a public record for purposes of the Maine Freedom of Access Law (1 MRSA §401 et seq).  Public  
records must be made available to any person upon request.  This application for licensure is a public record and information supplied as part 
of the application (other than social security number and credit card information) is public information.  Other licensing records to which this 
information may later be transferred will also be considered public records.  Names, license numbers and mailing addresses listed on or  
submitted as part of this application will be available to the public and may be posted on our website. 
  
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER:  The following statement is made pursuant to the Privacy Act of 1974 (§7(B)).  Disclosure of your Social  
Security Number Is mandatory.  Solicitation of your Social Security Number is solely for tax administration purposes, pursuant to 35 MRSA 
§175 as authorized by the Tax Reform Act of 1975 (42 USC §405(C)(2)(C)(1)).  Your Social Security Number will be disclosed to the State Tax 
Assessor or an authorized agent for use in determining filing obligations and tax liability pursuant to Title 36 of the Maine Revised Statutes.  No 
further use will be made of your Social Security Number and it shall be treated as confidential tax information pursuant to 36 MRSA §191. 
 
 

  
Before you seal the envelope, did you: 

♦ Complete every item on the application including the criminal background disclosure question. 
♦ Sign and date your application. 
♦ Include the required fee(s). Make checks payable to “Maine State Treasurer” or complete the 

credit card section on the application. DO NOT SEND CASH. 
♦ Make a copy of your application to keep for your records. 

  



  
  
  
  

  

STATE OF MAINE  
DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL  

AND FINANCIAL REGULATION  
OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION  

 

INDIVIDUAL LICENSE APPLICATION  

APPLICANT INFORMATION (please print) 
  
FULL LEGAL NAME             FIRST                    MIDDLE INITIAL                          LAST 
  
  
ANY OTHER NAMES EVER USED 
  
  
DATE OF BIRTH      mm /  dd / yyyy 

  
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER 
  

  
MAILING ADDRESS 
  
  
CITY                                                STATE                    ZIP CODE                       COUNTY 
 
  
PHONE (       )                                FAX (       )                                  E-MAIL 
 

CRIMINAL BACKGROUND DISCLOSURE   
NOTE:  Failure to disclose criminal convictions may result in denial, fines, suspension and/or revocation of a license. 

 

1.  Have you ever been convicted by any court of an y crime?   (circle one)        NO             YES  
 

     If yes,  enclose a detailed description of what happened (including dates) and a copy of the court judgment. 
 

2.  Has any jurisdiction taken disciplinary action against any professional license you hold or have h eld,  
     or denied your application for licensure?  (ci rcle one)                                      NO            YES 
 

     If yes,  enclose a detailed explanation and copies of all documents. 

By my signature, I hereby certify that the information provided on this application is true and accurate to the best of my knowledge and 
belief.  By submitting this application, I affirm that the Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation will rely upon this information 
for issuance of my license and that this information is truthful and factual.  I also understand that sanctions may be imposed including 
denial, fines, suspension or revocation of my license if this information is found to be false. 

SIGNATURE             DATE 

Board of Licensure of Podiatric Medicine 
 

Required Fee: $571 
(includes Criminal History Records Check Fee)   

 
Please Select License Type: 

 
�   Standard (POD1421) 
�   Reciprocity (POD1421) 
 

 
 
 
 

Rev. 06/2016 

  
  
  

  
  

  

  
  

 

Office Use Only: 
 

Check #_____________ 
Amount:_____________ 
Cash #______________ 
Lic.  #_______________ 

Office Use Only:  
  

  1421 - $500.00 
1446 - $50.00 
2619 - $21.00 

PAYMENT OPTIONS:  
Make checks payable to “Maine State Treasurer” – if you wish to pay by Mastercard or Visa, fill out the following: 

NAME OF CARDHOLDER (please print)          FIRST                    MIDDLE INITIAL                LAST 

I authorize the Department of Professional and Financial Regulation, Office of Professional & Occupational Regulation to 
charge my       VISA        MASTERCARD  the following amount:  $____________ 
     I understand that fees are non-refundable  

Card number:          XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX                                     Expiration Date    mm / yyyy 

SIGNATURE                                                                   DATE 



Undergraduate Education  
Name of Academic Institution: 
  
Mailing Address: 
  
City: 
  

State: Zip Code: 

Major: 
  

Degree Granted: Date Conferred: 

Medical Education  
Name of Medical School Attended: 
  
Mailing Address: 
  
City: 
  

State: Zip Code: 

Degree Granted: Date Conferred: 
  

Residency Training  
Name of School or Program Affiliation: 
  
Mailing Address: 
  
City: 
  

State: Zip Code: 

Dates: 
  
  

Name of School or Program Affiliation: 
  
Mailing Address: 
  
City: 
  

State: Zip Code: 

Dates: 
  
  

Name of School or Program Affiliation: 
  
Mailing Address: 
  
City: 
  

State: Zip Code: 

Dates: 
  



Professional Experience/Hospital Affiliations/Work History  
List in chronological order all professional experi ence including full work history of practice, and a ll healthcare 
entities where you have held or now hold privileges . Include all periods of time from the date of comp letion or 
residency to the present.  

  
Dates 

  

Name of Hospital, 
Institution or Practice 

  
Address 

Nature of  
Experience 

  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  

      

  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  

      

  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  

      

  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  

  

      

  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  

      

  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  

  

      

  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  

      

  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  

      

  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  

      



 
Credentialing History  

  
Have you ever held a professional license/certification/registration in this or 
any other state/country? 

  

  
  
[   ] YES  [   ] NO 
  

If yes: 

 

 

Profession License # State/Country Date Issued Expiration Date 

  
  

        

  
  

        

  
  

        

 
Disciplinary History  

  
  
If any of the following questions are answered yes, please provide details on a separate sheet and  
attach to application. 

  
1.  Have you ever been called before any state board for any violation of the Podiatric Practice 

Act of Unethical Behavior? 
  
      [   ]   YES          [   ]   NO 
 
2.  Have you ever received psychiatric treatment or treatment for mental illness? 
  
      [   ]   YES          [   ]   NO 
  
3.  Have you ever been addicted to or treated for addiction to narcotic drugs or alcohol? 
  
        [   ]   YES          [   ]   NO 

    
4.  Have you ever been convicted of a violation of any narcotic drug law? 
  
      [   ]   YES          [   ]   NO 
  
5.  Have you ever been denied the privilege of taking the examination for licensure by any state 
     podiatric board? 
  
      [   ]   YES          [   ]   NO 

  
 6. Have you ever been denied a DEA registration number or have you been issued a restricted 
      DEA registration? 
  
      [   ]   YES          [   ]   NO 
  
7.  Have you ever had any malpractice suits filed against you? 
  
      [   ]   YES          [   ]   NO 

    
  
  



Affidavit of Applicant  
  
I have read and completed this application and attest that all information is true to the best of my 
knowledge.  Should I furnish any false information in this application, I hereby agree that such act shall 
constitute cause for denial, suspension or revocation of my license to practice podiatry in the state of 
Maine. 
  
I hereby authorize all hospitals, podiatric institutions or organizations, my references, personal  
physicians, employers (past and present), business and professional associates (past and present) 
and all governmental agencies to release to this licensing board, for it's evaluation, any information, 
files or records required by the Board. 
  
  
  
Signature of Applicant:                    Date:     
  
  



 

S T A T E  O F  M A I N E  
D E P A R T M E N T  O F  P R O F E S S I O N A L  

A N D  F I N A N C I A L  R E G U L A T I O N  
Board of Licensure of Podiatric Medicine 

 3 5  S T A T E  H O U S E  S T A T I O N  
A U G U S T A ,  M A I N E  

0 4 3 3 3 - 0 0 3 5  

  

  
Paul R. LePage   

  
Anne L. Head 

Governor   Commissioner 

DISCIPLINARY REPORTS  
 

State licensing boards may require a Federation disciplinary data bank report at the time an application 
for licensure is presented.  The data bank lists completed public record actions taken by state boards or 
reported by the DHHS Inspector General. If no adverse actions are on file, a form sent in by the candidate 
will be validated accordingly and returned to the state board. 

 
Send this form and check 
In the amount of $50 to:                                 

 
Federation of Podiatric Medical Boards 

12116 Flag Harbor Drive 
Germantown, MD 20874-1979 

 
 Name:   _________________________________________________________________ 
 
 Address (where you can be reached):  _________________________________________ 
 
 City, State, Zip:  __________________________________________________________ 
 
 Telephone (where you can be reached):  _______________________________________ 
  
 Email Address: ___________________________________________________________ 
 
 Date of Birth:  ____________________________________________________________  
 
 Social Security Number:  ___________________________________________________ 
 
 School and Year of Graduation:  _____________________________________________ 
 

          STATE BOARD TO RECEIVE THIS REPORT: 
 

 Maine Board of Licensure of Podiatric Medicine 
 35 State House Station 

 Augusta, ME  04333 

PLEASE INCLUDE THE FOLLOWING ON FORMS: Part III (PMLexis) Score and/or Disciplinary reports can be ordered from 
the Federation of Podiatric Medical Boards online at http://www.fpmb.org with payment by credit card. Alternatively, requests 
can be completed online, printed and mailed with a check to the FPMB. 

  

 
PRINTED ON RECYCLED PAPER 

  
  

  

  
O F F I C E  P H O N E :  ( 2 0 7 ) 6 2 4 - 8 6 2 6  

  

T TY  U S E R S  C A L L  M A I N E  R E L A Y 7 1 1  
O F F I C E S  L O C A T E D  A T :   7 6  N O R T H E R N  A V E N U E ,  G A R D I -

N E R ,  M A I N E  

  
F A X :  ( 2 0 7 ) 6 2 4 - 8 6 3 7  

  



 

S T A T E  O F  M A I N E  
D E P A R T M E N T  O F  P R O F E S S I O N A L  

A N D  F I N A N C I A L  R E G U L A T I O N  
Board of Licensure of Podiatric Medicine 

 3 5  S T A T E  H O U S E  S T A T I O N  
A U G U S T A ,  M A I N E  

0 4 3 3 3 - 0 0 3 5  

  

  
Paul R. LePage   

  
Anne L. Head 

Governor   Commissioner 

CERTIFICATE OF PODIATRIC EDUCATION  
 
I am applying to practice podiatry in the state of Maine.  The Maine board requires verification of my  
podiatric education. This is your authority to release any information in your files directly to the Maine 
board at the above address. 
 
THIS SECTION TO BE COMPLETED BY THE APPLICANT . 
 
Applicant's name: ______________________________________________________________ 
 
Applicant's address: ___________________________________________________________ 
 
Dates of attendance:  from ________________________to_________________________ 
 
THIS SECTION MUST BE COMPLETED BY THE DEAN, SECRETA RY OR REGISTRAR OF THE  
PODIATRIC SCHOOL. 
 
I hereby certify that the above named applicant has received the degree of doctor of podiatric medicine. 
 
Name of podiatric school______________________________________________________ 
 
Address of school_____________________________________________________________ 
 
Dates of attendance: from _______________________ to__________________________ 
 
Degree conferred:                                  date conferred: __________________________                           
 
Name & title of school official: _______________________________________________ 
 
Official's signature____________________________________ dated: ________________                                                    
 
PLEASE PLACE SCHOOL  
     SEAL HERE       

  

 
PRINTED ON RECYCLED PAPER 

  
  

  

  
O F F I C E  P H O N E :  ( 2 0 7 ) 6 2 4 - 8 6 2 6  

  

T TY  U S E R S  C A L L  M A I N E  R E L A Y 7 1 1  
O F F I C E S  L O C A T E D  A T :   7 6  N O R T H E R N  A V E N U E ,  G A R D I N E R ,  

M A I N E  

  
F A X :  ( 2 0 7 ) 6 2 4 - 8 6 3 7    



 

S T A T E  O F  M A I N E  
D E P A R T M E N T  O F  P R O F E S S I O N A L  

A N D  F I N A N C I A L  R E G U L A T I O N  
Board of Licensure of Podiatric Medicine 

 3 5  S T A T E  H O U S E  S T A T I O N  
A U G U S T A ,  M A I N E  

0 4 3 3 3 - 0 0 3 5  

  

  
Paul R. LePage   

  
Anne L. Head 

Governor   Commissioner 

REQUEST FOR PART III EXAMINATION CERTIFIED SCORE RE PORT 
 

INSTRUCTIONS:  Applicants for licensure who: 
 

(1) Have already taken the Part III in another state; AND  
 

(2) Whose score has been reported to that state’s licensing board may (by completing this form AND  
including a check in the amount of $45 payable to FPMB) request that the Federation certify that score to 
another state board.  The $45 fee applies to each score report to every additional (second, third, etc.) state 
board.         

 
SEND THIS FORM AND CHECK 

TO: 
 

Federation of Podiatric Medical Boards 
12116 Flag Harbor Drive 

Germantown, MD 20874-1979 
 

 Name:   ____________________________________________________________________ 
 
 Address (where you can be reached):  ____________________________________________ 
 
 City, State, Zip:  ______________________________________________________________ 
 
 Telephone (where you can be reached):  __________________________________________ 
 
 Email Address: ______________________________________________________________ 
 
 State in which you took the PMLexis:  _____________________________________________ 
 
 Date (month and year) on which you took the PMLexis:  ______________________________ 
 
 School and Year of Graduation:  _________________________________________________ 
 

STATE BOARD TO RECEIVE THIS REPORT: 
 

Maine Board of Licensure of Podiatric Medicine 
35 State House Station 

Augusta, ME  04333  

PLEASE INCLUDE THE FOLLOWING ON FORMS: Part III (PMLexis) Score and/or Disciplinary reports can be ordered from 
the Federation of Podiatric Medical Boards online at http://www.fpmb.org with payment by credit card. Alternatively, requests 
can be completed online, printed and mailed with a check to the FPMB. 

  

 
PRINTED ON RECYCLED PAPER 

  
  

  

  
O F F I C E  P H O N E :  ( 2 0 7 ) 6 2 4 - 8 6 2 6  

  

T TY  U S E R S  C A L L  M A I N E  R E L A Y 7 1 1  
O F F I C E S  L O C A T E D  A T :   7 6  N O R T H E R N  A V E N U E ,   

G A R D I N E R ,  M A I N E  

  
F A X :  ( 2 0 7 ) 6 2 4 - 8 6 3 7    



 

S T A T E  O F  M A I N E  
D E P A R T M E N T  O F  P R O F E S S I O N A L  

A N D  F I N A N C I A L  R E G U L A T I O N  
Board of Licensure of Podiatric Medicine 

 3 5  S T A T E  H O U S E  S T A T I O N  
A U G U S T A ,  M A I N E  

0 4 3 3 3 - 0 0 3 5  

  

  
Paul R. LePage   

  
Anne L. Head 

Governor   Commissioner 

VERIFICATION OF LICENSURE FORM 
(for use by applicants licensed or certified in ano ther jurisdiction) 

 

The applicant listed below is applying for licensure to practice as a podiatrist in the State of Maine.   
The Maine Board of Licensure of Podiatric Medicine requests written verification from each state that  
applicant holds or has held any certification, licensure, or credential.  This is your authority to release 
any information in your files, favorable or otherwise.  Please mail this verification directly to the 
Maine Board of Licensure of Podiatric Medicine at t he above listed address . 
 

The section below is to be completed by the applica nt and forwarded to the State Board or  
licensing authority. Any associated fees are the re sponsibility of the applicant.  If verification  
of licensure is needed for more than one (1) state,  please copy form as needed . 

 

 
 

The remaining portion is to be completed by the lic ensing or certifying authority where the  
applicant holds or has held a license, certificatio n or credential.  Upon completion, the  
licensing or certifying authority should mail the v erification directly to the Board at the above  
address. 
 

 
Page 1 of 2 

Name: 

  
Mailing Address: 

  
City: 

  
State: Zip Code: 

  

License Number: 

  
State: Date of Issue: 

Signature of Applicant: 

  
Date: 
  

Name of Licensee: 

  
License Type: 
  

License Number: 

  

  
Is License Current?  [   ] YES  [   ] NO 
  

Date Issued: 

  
Original License Date: Expiration Date: 

  

 
PRINTED ON RECYCLED PAPER 

  
  

  

  
O F F I C E  P H O N E :  ( 2 0 7 ) 6 2 4 - 8 6 2 6  

  

T TY  U S E R S  C A L L  M A I N E  R E L A Y 7 1 1  
O F F I C E S  L O C A T E D  A T :   7 6  N O R T H E R N  A V E N U E ,   

G A R D I N E R ,  M A I N E  

  
F A X :  ( 2 0 7 ) 6 2 4 - 8 6 3 7    



Applicant’s Name: ________________________________ 

VERIFICATION OF LICENSURE  
Licensed Issued by: 
  
          [   ]  Examination         [   ]  Endorsement          [   ]  Other 
  
If Licensed by Exam, List Subjects Examined and Scores: 
                   _________________________________          _____________________ 
  
                   _________________________________          _____________________ 
  
                   _________________________________          _____________________ 
  
  

  
Are there any pending complaints against this licensee? 
If yes, please explain: 
  
  

  
[   ] Yes    [   ] No 

  
Have there been any other actions taken against this licensee? 
If yes, please explain: 
  
  

  
[   ] Yes    [   ] No 

  
Is the licensee considered to be in good standing in your state? 
If no, please explain: 
  
  

  
[   ] Yes    [   ] No 

  
  
The _________________________State Board hereby agrees to extend the privilege of licensure 
without examination to applicants licensed by examination in the state of Maine who meet the li-
censing requirements of this state. 
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  

  
State Board Seal  

  
Name of State Board: ___________________________ 
  
Signature: _____________________________________ 
  
Printed Name: __________________________________ 
  
Title: _________________________________________ 
  
State: __________    Phone Number ________________ 
  
Date: _______________________ 
  

Page 2 of 2 



 

S T A T E  O F  M A I N E  
D E P A R T M E N T  O F  P R O F E S S I O N A L  

A N D  F I N A N C I A L  R E G U L A T I O N  
Board of Licensure of Podiatric Medicine 

 3 5  S T A T E  H O U S E  S T A T I O N  
A U G U S T A ,  M A I N E  

0 4 3 3 3 - 0 0 3 5  

  

  
Paul R. LePage   

  
Anne L. Head 

Governor   Commissioner 

Notice to Applicants Regarding Confidentiality of Prescriber Information 
 

 

Prescription drug information that identifies the prescriber is sometimes used for marketing purposes by 
carriers, pharmacies, and prescription drug information intermediaries.  A new Maine law (2007 Public 
Law Chapter 460) entitled “An Act to Amend the Prescription Privacy Law” now enables authorized  
prescribers (including Licensed Naturopathic Doctors, Licensed Podiatrists, and Licensed  

Veterinarians) to file for confidential protection of their prescriber information. 
 
   
Effective January 1, 2008, carriers, pharmacies, and prescription drug information intermediaries will be 
prohibited from licensing, using, selling, or exchanging for value, for any marketing purpose, prescription 
drug information that identifies a prescriber who has filed for confidentiality protection.  A prescriber 
who files for confidential protection will have such protection until he or she revokes that protection.   
Applicants and licensees who desire this confidentiality protection may file for such protection with the 
Maine Heath Data Organization.  
 
      
Below is an electronic link to the Maine Health Data Organization website where prescribers may enroll 
in the confidentiality program: https://mhdo.maine.gov/index.aspx 
 
 
For more information regarding the confidentiality program please contact the Maine Health Data  
Organization at:  https://mhdo.maine.gov/index.aspx or call them at (207)287-6722. 
 
Important Notice to prescribers:   
The U.S. District Court in Bangor has issued a preliminary injunction which prevents the Attorney  
General from enforcing this statute. However, the Court has allowed certain non-enforcement aspects of 
the statute to proceed, including allowing interested health care providers to request that their  
prescription drug information not be sold or used for marketing purposes by using the registration  
process on this webpage. In the event you elect to request confidentiality protection, your request will be 
duly filed, but your prescription drug information will remain subject to marketing by carriers,  
pharmacies and prescription drug intermediaries unless and until the preliminary injunction of the U.S. 
District Court is vacated. For further information, you may reference the orders of the U.S. District Court 
by the following links:  
JAW 01-02-2008 1-07-cv127 IMS V MAINE.pdf 
JAW 02-15-2008 1-07cv127 IMS V MAINE.pdf 
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