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To: To Currently Licensed Pharmacy Technician Interns, Colleges of Pharmacy in
Maine, and Prospective Pharmacy Interns

\
From: Geraldine L. Betts, Administrator, Maine Board of Pharmacygj aﬂ%/

Board Rules adopted on March 11, 2012, make changes to licensing of student pharmacist interns
enrolled in a pharmacy degree program. The full text of the overall rule changes is available online
on the Board of Pharmacy web page which is accessible at www.maine.gov /professionallicensing
We encourage you to take a moment to read the rule changes.

Separate, but related to student pharmacists, is 2012 Public Law Chapter 496 signed by Governor
LePage on March 14, 2012. The new law creating a special licensing category for pharmacy interns
will take effect 90 days after the Maine Legislature adjourns.

Efforts are underway to implement the Rule changes adopted on March 11, 2012 and to implement
2012 Public Law Chapter 496 concurrently.

Highlights on changes in rule affecting the licensing of pharmacy interns and actions steps by the
Office:

% Valid pharmacy technician internship license. If you hold a valid pharmacy internship
license, a new license will automatically be printed and sent to you within three weeks to
reflect the upcoming license title change in law. The license will carry the same expiration
date of 12/31/2012. The term ‘pharmacy technician’ will be replaced with ‘pharmacy intern.’

= You will note with the reprinting of your license that the license number, which includes
three prefix lettering PTI’ will change to PI’ and you will be given a new license number,
however, both the PTI and P! license numbers will relate to one another accuracy of your
licensing record.
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# Pursuant to the change reflected in the rules adopted March 11, the pharmacy intern license
is subject to renewal annually. You will be required to renew this license and affirm your
continued enrollment in your professional academic pharmacy degree program (Board Rule
Chapter 6-A (5)) as reported on your initial application for licensure. A fee will not be
assessed for timely renewal of this license.

In keeping with renewal reminders, about 60 days prior to your license expiration date, a
notice will be sent to your last known address on file by regular mail. This is only a reminder
and it is your duty and responsibility to take appropriate steps to renew your license timely.
You may renew your license online beginning 60 days prior to the license expiration date
regardless of whether you receive a renewal reminder or not. You must use the access code
that was provided with the issuance of your license to renew online. If you lose it, you may
request it from our online services. However, you cannot use the online feature to obtain
your access code if your email address changed and is not the same as the one you provided
in your application. If you have a different email address you will need to submit a request,
in writing (email accepted) to request your access code. We cannot give it you by phone; you
must file a written request.

A friendly reminder, by law you have a duty to report certain information to the Board’s
Office. Please note the following for compliance with Maine law.

10 §8003-G. DUTY TO REQUIRE CERTAIN INFORMATION FROM APPLICANTS AND LICENSEES

The Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation, referred to in this subsection as "the office,"
including the licensing boards and commissions and regulatory functions within the office, shall
require:

1. Respond to inquiries. All applicants for license renewal to respond to all inquiries set forth on
renewal forms; and

2. Report in writing. All licensees and applicants for licensure to report in writing to the office no
later

than 10 days after the change or event, as the case may be:

A. Change of name or address;

B. Criminal conviction;

C. Revocation, suspension or other disciplinary action taken in this or any other jurisdiction against
any occupational or professional license held by the applicant or licensee; or

D. Any material change in the conditions or qualifications set forth in the original application for
licensure submitted to the office.

« If you fail to renew this license timely, you will be subject to reapply for a new pharmacy
intern license and pay a reinstatement fee, which may include the $21 fee assessed for an
updated criminal history background check. You may not practice on an expired or invalid
license.

& Pursuant to Board Rule Chapter 6-A (6) you must notify the board, within 10 days, of your
graduation or if you drop out or have been expelled from pharmacy school.
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& The application to apply for a pharmacy intern license is being organized as I write. The
application used currently ‘pharmacy technician’ application will be split into two
applications; one specifically for pharmacy technicians and the other for pharmacy interns.
Please allow about a week for posting of updated applications. We appreciate your patience
and ask that you refrain from calling the Office on progress as this does detract from progress.
If you don’t see it on the web, it’s not ready.

In the interim, if you need to apply for a pharmacy intern license, please use the pharmacy
technician student application. You need not complete Sections 3 or 4. The license fee of
$25.00 and $21.00 State Bureau of Investigation criminal history background check applies
for initial licensure and reinstatement.

Applications are processed in the order received as quickly as possible. An incomplete
application may be cause for delay, please carefully review your application and submissions
before mailing. Once again, we appreciate your patience and ask that you refrain from calling
the Office on progress as this does detract from progress. You can monitor your application
online, if we have received it, you will see the status noted as follows: “Pending” which means
your application has been reviewed and subject to review or “Active” meaning your license has
been issued; please allow at least 10 days to receive your printed license.

% We encourage you to read Board Rule Chapter 7 and all board rules, however, there are
references that apply to pharmacy interns in this chapter that may be important for you to
know. As referenced in Chapter 7, Section 3, a pharmacy school student must register as a
pharmacy technician, however, in light of 2012 PL Chapter 496, student will be licensed as
pharmacy interns and not as a pharmacy technician. This will be corrected when Rule
Chapter 7 undergoes future rule updates.

Please direct question to this office using this email: pharmacy.lic@maine.gov




