How to File a Complaint
Please note that the Maine Board of Optometry has no authority to assist you with fee disputes with your licensee, unless the licensee is demanding payment for services not rendered. If you have a complaint concerning a fee dispute, please contact the Maine Attorney General's Office, Consumer Protection Unit, at http://www.maine.gov/ag/consumer.htm
You may file a complaint in writing to the Maine Board of Optometry, 113 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333, e-mail or by downloading a complaint form and release of confidential patient information by sending it to the Board at the address above.
The Board shall investigate a complaint, on its own motion or upon receipt of a written complaint filed with the Board, regarding non-compliance with or violation of the optometry law adopted by the Board.
The Board shall notify the licensee of the content of a complaint filed against the licensee as soon as possible, but not later than 60 days from receipt of the complaint. The licensee shall respond within 30 days. If the licensee's response to the complaint satisfies the Board that the complaint does not merit further investigation or action, the matter may be dismissed, with notice of the dismissal to the complainant, if any, and the licensee. If the Board finds the factual basis of the complaint is or may be true, and the complaint is of sufficient gravity to warrant further action, the Board may request an informal conference with the licensee. The Board shall provide the licensee with adequate notice of the conference and of the issues to be discussed.
After the Board finds that the factual basis of the complaint is true and is of sufficient gravity to warrant further action, it may take any of the following actions it determines appropriate:
With the consent of the licensee, enter into a consent agreement that fixes the period and terms of probation best adapted to protect the public health and safety and to rehabilitate or educate the licensee. A consent agreement may be used to terminate a complaint investigation, if entered into by the board, the licensee and the Attorney General’s office;
In consideration for acceptance of a voluntary surrender of the license, negotiate stipulations, including terms and conditions for reinstatement, that ensure protection of the public health and safety and that serve to rehabilitate or educate the licensee. These stipulations may be set forth only in a consent agreement signed by the board, the licensee and the Attorney General’s office;
If the board concludes that modification or non-renewal of the license is in order, the board shall hold an adjudicatory hearing in accordance with the provisions of the Maine Administrative Procedure Act, Title 5, chapter 375, subchapter IV; or
If the board concludes that suspension or revocation of the license is in order, the board shall file a complaint in the Administrative Court in accordance with Title 4, chapter.
Maine Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation Office of Licensing and Registration
Last Updated: May 31, 2018