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APPLICANT INFORMATION GUIDE

The application material you have requested from the Nursing Home Administrators Licensing Board
is enclosed. It contains all the relevant materials you need to complete your application for licensure
in the State of Maine. Please read all the information carefully. If you have any questions after
reading this packet, please call or e-mail our office.

FURNISHED TO APPLICANT

e Applicant Information Guide

e Individual License Application

e Verification of Licensure Form

e Educational Worksheet

e Request for Examination Form

e Request for Accommodations Form (also available in the NAB RC/AL Information for
Candidates Handbook)

ADDITIONAL RESOURCES

e Licensing Law for Long Term Care Administrators

Please read these carefully and review periodically for changes. You are responsible for
knowing and complying with all Maine Laws throughout your licensure.

Avalilable: http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/32/title32ch2sec0.html or call (207) 624-
8626

e Licensing Rules for Long Term Care Administrators

Please read these carefully and review periodically for changes. You are responsible for
knowing and complying with all Board Rules throughout your licensure.

Available: http://www.maine.gov/sos/cec/rules/02/chaps02.htm#371 or call (207) 624-8626

e Licensing Rules for the Department of Professional and Financial Regulation

Please read these carefully and review periodically for changes. You are responsible for
knowing and complying with Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation Rules,
Chapters 10, 11 and 13, throughout your licensure.

Available: http://www.maine.gov/sos/cec/rules/02/chaps02.htm#041

e Statutory Authority, Titles 5 & 10

Available: http://www.maineleqgislature.org/leqis/statutes/10/title10ch901sec0.html

http://www.maineleqislature.org/legis/statutes/5/title5¢ch341secO.html



http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/32/title32ch2sec0.html
http://www.maine.gov/sos/cec/rules/02/chaps02.htm#371
http://www.maine.gov/sos/cec/rules/02/chaps02.htm#041
http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/10/title10ch901sec0.html
http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/5/title5ch341sec0.html

APPLICATION PROCEDURE:

>

Please submit your application materials to the Board by mail or hand delivery to our offices.
Faxed submissions will not be accepted. Applications are reviewed and processed in the order
received. Typical review and processing time of applications is up to two (2) to three (3) weeks.
Incomplete applications, underlying circumstances surrounding applications and periods of high
volume could result in further delays.

If there are deficiencies with your application, you will be notified by mail. You may also check the
Board’s website. It is the responsibility of the applicant to see that all documentation is completed
and returned to the department for consideration.

Please do not call our office regarding the status of your application. Information regarding the
status of applications may be found at the Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation’s
website: http://pfr.informe.org/almsonline/almsquery/welcome.aspx. We appreciate your
thoughtful attention to this request.

Residential Care Facility Administrator

All applicants must submit the following:

O Completed and signed Application;

0 Payment of an Application Fee of $75.00;

O Payment of a Licensure Fee of $200.00;

O Payment of a Criminal History Records Check Fee of $21.00;
Note: All fees can be in one payment.

00 Documentation of one (1) of the following:

[0 Official Transcript sent directly by mail or courier to this office by the educational
institution indicating six (6) semester hours in health care/human services and six
(6) semester hours in management and a fully completed Educational Worksheet;
or

O A certificate indicating completion of board approved course in Res. Care/ Assisted
Living (copy of certificate mailed to the Board accepted). Please note: nothing has
been approved since June, 2010; or

0 A certificate indicating current certification as an Assisted Living Administrator
(CALA) issued by the American College of Health Care Admin (copy of certificate
mailed to the Board accepted); or

[0 Official score report demonstrating passage of the NAB Residential Care/Assisted
Living Examination issued directly from NAB or a Request for NAB Residential
Care/Assisted Living Examination Form.

Note: If requesting accommodations, please complete and submit the Request for
Accommodations form along with the required documentation as outlined in the
NAB RC/AL Information for Candidates Handbook

Those licensed in other jurisdiction(s) must also provide:

[ Official Verification(s) of Licensure issued by mail or courier directly to this Office from the
issuing agency.


http://pfr.informe.org/almsonline/almsquery/welcome.aspx

IMPORTANT INFORMATION FOR LICENSEES:

> Renewal

This is an annual license, renewable by June 30" each year. You may renew online at your
convenience 24 hours a day, 7 days a week up to 60 days in advance of your license expiration
date. Renewal reminders are currently sent to the e-mail address on file. Late renewals (up to 90
days after license expiration) incur a late renewal fee of $50.00. Those wishing to obtain licensure
after the late renewal period must meet the requirements for licensure current at the time of the
application. Applicants whose license expired within the 91 day to 2 year window should contact
the Office to request a reinstatement application.

» 10 Day Reporting

Please be advised, pursuant to 10 MRS 88003-G, licensees are to report to the Office, in writing,
any change in my name or address on file with the Office, any criminal conviction, any revocation,
suspension or other disciplinary action taken in this or any other jurisdiction against any
occupational or professional license held, or any material change set forth in this application within
ten (10) days: http://www.mainelegislature.org/leqis/statutes/10/title10ch901sec0.html

» GovDelivery

The Nursing Home Administrators Licensing Board has teamed up with GovDelivery to manage
our digital communications. As its name implies, GovDelivery works exclusively with federal, state
and municipal government agencies to communicate with licensees and the public.

As a subscriber, you will automatically receive notices from the Board based on the subscriber
preferences that you select. Available topics include Board Meetings (agendas and minutes),
Board Laws and Rules Notices (rulemaking and law changes) and Board Notices (news and
information).

To become a subscriber, go to the Board’s website and insert your e-mail address in the space
provided on the left side of the page. You may unsubscribe at any time.


http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/10/title10ch901sec0.html

STATE OF MAINE DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL & FINANCIAL REGULATION
OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION
Mailing Address: 35 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333 Courier/Delivery address: 76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine 04345
Phone: (207) 624-8603 Fax: (207) 624-8637 TTY users call Maine Relay 711 Web: www.maine.gov/professionallicensing

Frequently Asked Questions:

e Where do | send my application? Our mailing address is 35 State House Station, Augusta, Maine
04333-0035.

e Where are you located? 76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine.

e What hours are you open? 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. weekdays.

e Can | cometo Gardiner to drop off my application? Yes. You will not leave with a license, though.
e Can | come to Gardiner to pick up my license? No. Your license will be mailed to you.

e How can | check the status of my application? You can check our website:
www.maine.gov/professionallicensing/license_search.htm.

e How far back do | go answering the criminal conviction question? Any conviction, ever.

e Can | fax my application? No.

NOTICES

BACKGROUND CHECK: Pursuant to 5 M.R.S.A. 85301 - 5303, the State of Maine is granted the authority to take into consideration an
applicant’s criminal history record. The Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation requires a criminal history records check as
part of the application process for all applicants.

PUBLIC RECORD: This application is a public record for purposes of the Maine Freedom of Access Law (1 MRSA 8401 et seq). Public
records must be made available to any person upon request. This application for licensure is a public record and information supplied as
part of the application (other than social security number and credit card information) is public information. Other licensing records to
which this information may later be transferred will also be considered public records. Names, license numbers and mailing addresses
listed on or submitted as part of this application will be available to the public and may be posted on our website.

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER: The following statement is made pursuant to the Privacy Act of 1974 (87(B)). Disclosure of your Social
Security Number Is mandatory. Solicitation of your Social Security Number is solely for tax administration purposes, pursuant to 35 MRSA
8175 as authorized by the Tax Reform Act of 1975 (42 USC §405(C)(2)(C)(1)). Your Social Security Number will be disclosed to the State
Tax Assessor or an authorized agent for use in determining filing obligations and tax liability pursuant to Title 36 of the Maine Revised
Statutes. No further use will be made of your Social Security Number and it shall be treated as confidential tax information pursuant to 36
MRSA §191.

Before you seal the envelope, did you:

» Complete every item on the application including the criminal background disclosure question.

» Sign and date your application.

» Include the required fee(s). Make checks payable to “Maine State Treasurer” or complete the
credit card section on the application. DO NOT SEND CASH.

» Make a copy of your application to keep for your records.
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STATE OF MAINE
DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL
AND FINANCIAL REGULATION
OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION

INDIVIDUAL LICENSE APPLICATION

QW
il

APPLICANT INFORMATION (please print)

FULL LEGAL NAME

ANY OTHER NAMES EVER USED

DATE OF BIRTH / / SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

MAILING ADDRESS

CITY STATE ZIP CODE COUNTY

PHONE () FAX () E-MAIL

CRIMINAL BACKGROUND DISCLOSURE
NOTE: Failure to disclose criminal convictions may result in denial, fines, suspension and/or revocation of a license.

1. Have you ever been convicted by any court of any crime? (circle one) NO YES
If yes, enclose a detailed description of what happened (including dates) and a copy of the court judgment.

2. Has any jurisdiction taken disciplinary action against any professional license you hold or have held,
or denied your application for licensure? (circle one) NO YES

If yes, enclose a detailed explanation and copies of all documents.

By my signature, | hereby certify that the information provided on this application is true and accurate to the best of my knowledge and
belief. By submitting this application, | affirm that the Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation will rely upon this information
for issuance of my license and that this information is truthful and factual. | also understand that sanctions may be imposed including
denial, fines, suspension or revocation of my license if this information is found to be false.

SIGNATURE DATE

Nursing Home Administrators Licensing Board
Office Use Only:

Please Select License Type: 1421 - $200.00
. . . . 1446 - $75.00
[0 Residential Care Facility Administrator (RCA1421) 2619 - $21_00
Required Fee: $296 Office Use Only:
(includes Criminal History Records Check Fee) Check #
Amount:
Cash #
Lic. #

Rev. 11/2014

PAYMENT OPTIONS:
Make checks payable to “Maine State Treasurer” - If you wish to pay by Mastercard or Visa, fill out the following:

NAME OF CARDHOLDER (please print)

| authorize the Dept. of Professional and Financial Regulation, Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation to
charge my 0O VISA O MASTERCARD the following amount: $
O Il understand that fees are non-refundable

Card number: Expiration Date /

SIGNATURE DATE




Applicant’s Name:

High School Education

4 High School Diploma
School Attended: Year Graduated:

4 Equivalent (such as GED)
Please specify: Date:

Higher Education
(Official transcripts must be submitted directly from Institution)

Name of Academic Institution:

Mailing Address:

City: State: Zip Code:

Degree Granted: Date Conferred:

Name of Academic Institution:

Mailing Address:

City: State: Zip Code:

Degree Granted: Date Conferred:

Previous and/or Intended Long Term Care Employment (if any)

Workplace Name: Position Held: Dates:

Mailing Address:

City: State: Zip Code:

Workplace Name: Position Held: Dates:

Mailing Address:

City: State: Zip Code:




Applicant’s Name:

Credentialing History

Do you hold or have you ever held a professional [ IYES [ ]NO
license/certification/registration in this or any other state/country?
If yes:

Profession License # State/Country Date Issued Expiration Date
Have you ever taken a long term care examination? [ JYES [ INO
If yes:

Exam Title: Location:

Date Taken: Select One:

[ ]Pass [ ]Fall
Disciplinary Information
Have you ever been excluded from participation in Medicare/Medicaid [ JYES [ ]NO

reimbursement?

If yes, please enclose a detailed explanation.

Affirmation

By my signature, | hereby certify that the information provided on this application is true and accurate
to the best of my knowledge and belief. By submitting this application, | affirm that the Office of
Professional and Occupational Regulation will rely upon this information for issuance of my license
and that this information is truthful and factual. | also understand that sanctions may be imposed
including denial, fines, suspension or revocation of my license if this information is found to be false.

| also understand, pursuant to 10 MRS 88003-G, | am to report to the Office, in writing, any change in
my name or address on file with the Office, any criminal conviction, any revocation, suspension or
other disciplinary action taken in this or any other jurisdiction against any occupational or professional
license | hold, or any material change set forth in this application within ten (10) days.

SIGNATURE: DATE:




STATE OF MAINE
DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL
AND FINANCIAL REGULATION
Nursing Home Administrators Licensing Board
35 STATE HOUSE STATION
AUGUSTA, MAINE
04333-0035

Paul R. LePage Anne L. Head
Governor Director

VERIFICATION OF LICENSURE FORM
Page 1 of 2

The applicant listed below is applying for licensure in the State of Maine. The Maine Nursing Home
Administrators Licensing Board requests written verification from each state that the applicant holds
or has held any certification, licensure, or credential. This is your authority to release any information
in your files, favorable or otherwise.

The section below is to be completed by the applicant and forwarded with page 2 to the licensing
or certifying authority. Any associated fees are the responsibility of the applicant. If verification
of licensure is needed for more than one (1) state, please copy the form as necessary.

Name:

Mailing Address:

City: State: Zip Code:
License Number: State: Date of Issue:
Signature of Applicant: Date:

Directions to State Board:
Complete the remaining portion of page 1 and page 2 and return both pages by mail or courier:

U.S.P.S. Mailing Address: Nursing Home Administrators Licensing Board, 35 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333
_Or_
Courier/Delivery Address: Nursing Home Administrators Licensing Board, 76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine 04345

Name of Licensee: Type of License:

License Number: Status of License: 0 Active O Inactive O Expired

Date Issued: Expiration Date:

@

PRINTED ON RECYCLED PAPER

TTY USERS CALL MAINE RELAY 711
OFFICE PHONE: (207)624-8626 OFFICES LOCATED AT: 76 NORTHERN AVENUE, FAX: (207)624-8637
GARDINER, MAINE



Applicant’s Name:

Maine Nursing Home Administrators Licensing Board
Verification of Licensure (Page 2 of 2)

Exam taken: State:

Date of Exam: Raw Score: Scaled Score:

If no examination was taken, how was licensure obtained?

U Grandfathered U Endorsement/Comity from which state:

U Certification through the American College of Health Care Administrators
U Other

Was an AlT/Practicum successfully completed? [ 1]Yes [ ]No
If yes, length of AlIT/Practicum:
[ ] Not applicable

Are there any pending complaints against this licensee? [ 1Yes [ ]No
If yes, please explain:

Have there been any other actions taken against this licensee? [ 1Yes [ ]No
If yes, please explain:

Is the licensee considered to be in good standing in your state? [ 1]Yes [ ]No
If no, please explain:

Signature:

Printed Name:

Title:

State: Phone Number

Date:

State Board Seal




STATE OF MAINE
DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL
AND FINANCIAL REGULATION

Nursing Home Administrators Licensing Board
35 STATE HOUSE STATION
AUGUSTA, MAINE
04333-0035

Paul R. LePage Anne L. Head
Governor Director

Educational Worksheet

Applicant’s Name: Applicant’s School(s):

INSTRUCTIONS: Please complete this worksheet by reporting a minimum of twelve (12) semester hours
(or its quarter hour equivalent) of undergraduate or graduate coursework from an accredited educational
institution in the chart below. Six (6) semester hours should be coursework related to health care/human
services. The remaining six (6) semester hours should be related to management. In order to expedite the
review of your application, you are also encouraged to submit descriptive information, such as a course
description or syllabus current at the time the course was taken, substantiating the content of each of the
courses listed on the worksheet. You may attach additional worksheets if necessary. Please note that
experience in the field and/or continuing education activities, such as workshops or in-service
training sessions, cannot be substituted for this educational requirement.

Course Credit Description or

Course Title Number | Hours Type Syllabus attached?

[ ] Health care [ ]YES [ ]NO
[ ] Management

[ ] Health care [ ]YES [ ]NO
[ ] Management

[ ] Health care [ ]YES [ ]NO
[ ] Management

[ ] Health care [ ]YES [ ]NO
[ ] Management

[ ] Health care [ ]YES [ ]NO
[ ] Management

[ ] Health care [ ]YES [ ]NO
[ ] Management

[ ] Health care [ ]YES [ ]NO
[ ] Management

oy |

J}i :

PRINTED O;\l RECYCLED PAPER
TTY USERS CALL MAINE RELAY 711
OFFICE PHONE: (207)624-8626 OFFICES LOCATED AT: 76 NORTHERN AVENUE, FAX: (207)624-8637
GARDINER, MAINE



STATE OF MAINE
DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL
AND FINANCIAL REGULATION

Nursing Home Administrators Licensing Board
35 STATE HOUSE STATION
AUGUSTA, MAINE
04333-0035
Paul R. LePage Anne L. Head
Governor Director

REQUEST FOR EXAMINATION

One of the pathways to licensure as a residential care administrator is successful
passage of the RC/AL Examination administered by the National Assoc. of Long
Term Care Administrator Boards (NAB). Should you choose to obtain licensure
using the examination pathway, this form must be submitted by mail or courier to
the Office with your application and other items as outlined in the Applicant
Information Guide. This form is to be submitted only if you choose to obtain
licensure via the examination pathway.

Once your application is reviewed and approved, you will be eligible to sit for the
examination.

Please note that you may obtain additional information regarding the examination,
including testing dates, locations and fees, and/or register for the examination by
contacting NAB directly: http://www.nabweb.org.

Check Appropriate Category

U RC/AL Examination

Applicant Information (please print)

Name of Applicant:

Mailing Address:

City: State: Zip Code:

Telephone: Fax Number:

oy |

J}i :

PRINTED O;\l RECYCLED PAPER
TTY USERS CALL MAINE RELAY 711
OFFICE PHONE: (207)624-8626 OFFICES LOCATED AT: 76 NORTHERN AVENUE, FAX: (207)624-8637
GARDINER, MAINE


http://www.nabweb.org/

CANDIDATE REQUEST FOR SPECIAL EXAMINATION ACCOMMODATIONS

If you have a disability covered by the Americans with Disabilities Act, please submit to Professional
Examination Service and the Board/Agency in the State in which you are seeking licensure (if
applicable) this completed form and attach the appropriate documentation as indicated in the
Candidate Handbook so your accommodations for testing can be processed efficiently. The
information you provide and any documentation regarding your disability and your need for
accommodation in testing will be treated with strict confidentiality.

Applicant Information

Last Name First Name Middle Name

Address (line 1)

Address (line 2)

City State Zip Code

Jurisdiction in which you have applied for licensure
Special Accommodations

| request special accommodations for the administration of the:
Please check each examination that applies to you.

0 Residential Care/Assisted Living Licensure & Entry-Level Competency Exam (RCAL)
0 State-Based Laws & Regulations Exam (NSBL)

Please provide (check all that apply):

Accessible testing site
Special seating

Large print test (specify point size)

Reader
Extended testing time (time and a half)
Separate testing area

Other special accommodations (please specify)

Send original documents to:
State Board/Agency in which you are making application for licensure

Send copies to:

Professional Examination Service
Attention: NAB Program Director
475 Riverside Drive, 6th Floor
New York, NY 10115-0089

19
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