
 

STATE OF MAINE  
DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL  

AND FINANCIAL REGULATION 
OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

REGULATION  
COMPANY APPLICATION  

Office Use Only: 
 

Check #_____________ 
Amount:_____________ 
Cash #______________ 
Lic.  #_______________ 
Issue Date___________ 
Exp.  Date___________ 

APPLICANT INFORMATION  (please print) 

FULL LEGAL NAME          
FEIN OR SSN 
PHYSICAL ADDRESS  
CITY                                                           STATE                          ZIP                          COUNTY 
MAILING ADDRESS  
CITY                                                           STATE                          ZIP                          COUNTY 
PHONE #  (       )                                        FAX #  (       )                                E-MAIL 

By my signature, I hereby certify that the information provided on this application is true and accurate to the best of my knowledge and belief.  
By submitting this application, I affirm that the Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation will rely upon this information for issuance 
of my license and that this information is truthful and factual.  I also understand that sanctions may be imposed including denial, fines, 
suspension or revocation of my license if this information is found to be false. 

SIGNATURE DATE 

PAYMENT OPTIONS:   
Make checks payable to “Maine State Treasurer” - If you wish to pay by Mastercard or Visa, fill out the following: 

NAME OF CARDHOLDER (please print)        FIRST                                  MIDDLE INITIAL                          LAST 

I authorize the Department of Professional and Financial Regulation, Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation to 

charge my                VISA                     MASTERCARD         the following amount:  $____________ 

   I understand that fees are non-refundable 

                      Card number:          XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX                                     Expiration Date    mm / yyyy 

SIGNATURE                                                                   DATE 

 
 

 
Maine Manufactured Housing Board 

Community License 
 

 
 

 
 
   

Office Use Only: 
 

MP43601422  
 

MP43601421 

  □ NEW COMMUNITY 
(new license #) 

 $50.00 plus $5.00/per site 
 Application fee $100.00 

  □ NEW OWNERSHIP  
(use existing license #) 

 $50.00 plus $5.00/per site 

  □ COMMUNITY EXPANSION  
(use existing license #) 

 $5.00/per new site 
 Application fee $100.00 



APPLICATION GUIDELINE  
 

Enclosed  are  all  relevant materials  for  licensing  a Manufactured Housing Community  license  in  the 
State of Maine.  If you have any quesƟons, you may contact the Manufactured Housing Board office at 
(207) 624‐8612 or (207) 624‐8618.  

APPLICATION DEADLINE  

All  applicaƟons must  be  received  by  the Manufactured Housing  Board  office  20  days  prior  to  the 
scheduled Board meeƟng date.  

LICENSING REQUIREMENTS  

To  apply  for  new  ownership  of  a manufactured  housing  community,  the  following must  be  sub‐
miƩed  

1.  ApplicaƟon for a Manufactured Housing Community License;   
 
2.  If applicant is not an individual, cerƟficate of good standing from the Secretary of State  

where the applicant is registered; 
 
3.  If the applicant is a foreign enƟty, documentaƟon of registraƟon with the Maine  

Secretary  of  State  CorporaƟon Division.    You may  contact  the  CorporaƟon Division  by  tele‐
phone at (207) 624‐7752 for exisƟng enƟƟes, and at (207) 624‐7740 for new enƟƟes; and 
  

4.    Appropriate license fee; 

To apply for an original license to operate a new manufactured housing community the fol‐
lowing must be submiƩed  

1.  ApplicaƟon for a Manufactured Housing Community License;  
 
2.  If applicant is not an individual, cerƟficate of good standing from the Secretary of State  

where the applicant is registered;  
 
3.  If the applicant  is a foreign enƟty, documentaƟon of registraƟon with the Maine Secretary of 
  State CorporaƟon Division.   You may contact  the CorporaƟon Division by  telephone at  (207) 
  624‐7752 for exisƟng enƟƟes, and at (207) 624‐7740 for new enƟƟes.  

 
4.  Appropriate license fee;  
 
5.  Planning and Design documents.  The applicaƟon shall include the following planning &  design 
  documents:   
 

A.   A copy of the deed, opƟon or other document showing the applicant’s right, Ɵtle or 
interest  in the tract of  land proposed for construcƟon and operaƟon of a manufac‐
tured housing community;  

 



B.   A copy of the deed showing the  locaƟon and  legal descripƟon of the tract of  land 
proposed  for  construcƟon and operaƟon of a manufactured housing  community; 
and   

C.   A site plan prepared by a registered engineer and/or professional land surveyor licensed 
to pracƟce in the State of Maine, with the required seal affixed to the plan.  The scale of 
the plan shall be no less detailed than 1″ = 100,′ provided that the board may in its dis‐
creƟon accept a  less detailed plan  if  the  less detailed plan allows  the board  to deter‐
mine whether the community meets the requirements of this chapter.   The plan shall 
have a dimension tolerance of no more than 1% (i.e., 1′ in 100′ or 1° in 100°).  The plan 
shall clearly show the dimensions and area of each site and the total area of the com‐
munity, road locaƟons and dimensions, sites, well and pump house locaƟons, waste dis‐
posal  systems, water and  sewer  lines,  streams,  culverts, and any addiƟonal detail  re‐
quired by the board.   The board may waive the filing of a site plan as described  in this 
paragraph in whole or in part, depending on the complexity of the applicaƟon, if other 
submissions of the applicant demonstrate that the community meets the requirements 
of this chapter.  

6.   Drinking Water Approval.  The applicaƟon shall include one of the following relaƟng to drinking 
water: 

A.   A  leƩer from a public water uƟlity that  it will be supplying drinking water to the 
manufactured housing  community.    For  the purpose of  these  rules, a manufac‐
tured housing community that submeters water to residents shall not be deemed 
a public water uƟlity;  

B.   Approval as a community water system by the Department of Human Services, Division 
of Health Engineering; or  

C.   A statement from the Maine Department of Human Services, Division of Health Engi‐
neering that the private water system meets the requirements of the Manufactured 
Housing Board contained in Appendix A to Chapter 850 of the board’s rules.  

7.   Wastewater Disposal.  The applicaƟon shall include one of the following relaƟng to wastewater 
disposal:  

A.   A  leƩer from a public sewage uƟlity that will be handling the wastewater disposal fro 
the manufactured housing community; or  

B.   Approval of a subsurface wastewater disposal design for the manufactured hous‐
ing community by the Department of Human Services, Division of Health Engineer‐
ing.  



To apply for an expansion of a manufactured housing community the following must be sub‐
miƩed:  

1.  ApplicaƟon for a Manufactured Housing Community License;  
 
2.  If applicant is not an individual, cerƟficate of good standing from the Secretary of State where 
  the applicant is registered;  

 
3.  If the applicant  is a foreign enƟty, documentaƟon of registraƟon with the Maine Secretary of 
  State CorporaƟon Division.   You may contact  the CorporaƟon Division by  telephone at  (207) 
  624‐7752 for exisƟng enƟƟes, and at (207) 624‐7740 for new enƟƟes;   

 
4.  Appropriate license fee for the addiƟonal sites only;   
 
5.  Planning and Design documents.  The applicaƟon shall include the following planning &  design 
  documents with respect to the proposed addiƟonal sites:  

A.  A copy of the deed, opƟon or other document showing the applicant’s right, Ɵtle or in‐
terest  in the tract of  land proposed for construcƟon and operaƟon of a manufactured 
housing community;  

 
B.  A copy of the deed showing the  locaƟon and  legal descripƟon of the tract of  land pro‐

posed for construcƟon and operaƟon of a manufactured housing community; and  
 

C.  A site plan prepared by a registered engineer and/or professional land surveyor licensed 
to pracƟce in the State of Maine, with the required seal affixed to the plan.  The scale of 
the plan shall be no less detailed than 1″ = 100,′ provided that the board may in its dis‐
creƟon accept a  less detailed plan  if  the  less detailed plan allows  the board  to deter‐
mine whether the community meets the requirements of this chapter.   The plan shall 
have a dimension tolerance of no more than 1% (i.e., 1′ in 100′ or 1° in 100°).  The plan 
shall clearly show the dimensions and area of each site and the total area of the com‐
munity, road locaƟons and dimensions, sites, well and pump house locaƟons, waste dis‐
posal  systems, water and  sewer  lines,  streams,  culverts, and any addiƟonal detail  re‐
quired by the board.   The board may waive the filing of a site plan as described  in this 
paragraph in whole or in part, depending on the complexity of the applicaƟon, if other 
submissions of the applicant demonstrate that the community meets the requirements 
of this chapter.  



6.     Drinking  Water  Approval.    The  applicaƟon  shall  include  one  of  the  following  relaƟng  to           
  drinking water with respect to the proposed addiƟonal sites:  
 
 

A.  A  leƩer from a public water uƟlity that  it will be supplying drinking water to the manu‐
factured housing community.   For the purpose of these rules, a manufactured housing 
community that submeters water to residents shall not be deemed a public water uƟlity;  

   
B.  Approval as a community water system by the Department of Human Services, Division 

of Health Engineering; or  
 

C.  A  statement  from  the Maine Department of Human  Services, Division of Health Engi‐
neering  that  the  private water  system meets  the  requirements  of  the Manufactured 
Housing Board contained in Appendix A to Chapter 850 of the board’s rules.  

 
7.      Wastewater  Disposal.    The  applicaƟon  shall  include  one  of  the  following  relaƟng  to waste
  water disposal with respect to the proposed addiƟonal sites:                                  
 

A.   A  leƩer from a public sewage uƟlity that will be handling the wastewater disposal for 
the manufactured housing community; or  

B.   Approval of a subsurface wastewater disposal design for the manufactured hous‐
ing community by the Department of Human Services, Division of Health Engineer‐
ing.  

FEE SCHEDULE: 

All  fees are non‐refundable and must accompany your  license applicaƟon.   Checks  should be made 
payable to: Treasurer State of Maine.  Fees will be charged for the following  

New CommuniƟes  

 $50.00 plus $5.00/per site  
 ApplicaƟon fee $100.00  

 
New Ownership  

 $50.00 plus $5.00/per site  

 
Community Expansion  

 $5.00/per new site  
 ApplicaƟon fee $100.00  



APPLICATION FOR A MANUFACTURED HOUSING COMMUNITY LICENSE 

  List Name(s) and addresses of Owner(s), Partners or Corporate Officers.  AƩach addiƟonal  
  Sheet(s) if necessary.   
 
  If applicant is not an individual, cerƟficate of good standing from the Secretary of State where the 
  Applicant is registered. 

 

   NAME & ADDRESS OF  OWNER(S)/PARTNERS/CORPORATE OFFIC‐
ERS 

TELEPHONE NUMBER 

Name       

Address    

Name       

Address    

Name       

Address    

            COMMUNITY INFORMATION  

 

Name of Community  Number of Sites 

Physical Address of Community    

Municipality of Township  County 

Name of Community Manager  Telephone Number 

Address    

For New Ownership Only  

List the name of the former owner, the name of the community under that owner, and license num‐
ber: _________________________________________________________________________ 

For Community Expansion Only  

 
ExisƟng licensed sites ________    Expansion sites ________    Total number of sites ________ 



For New Communities and Community Expansions  
 

1. How is the drinking water to be supplied to the site? 

 
   Off-site Public Utility 
 
  Community Water System 
 
  Private Water System.  List the number of wells currently in use _____.  List the 
  serial number of most recent analysis: _____________________.  Attach the re

2. How is the wastewater to be disposed of? 
 
  Individual septic system 
 
  Central on-site disposal with collection lines by applicant 
 

 Off-site public utility 

PLEASE READ THE STATEMENT BELOW AND SIGN AS YOUR TESTAMENT TO THE INFORMATION PRO‐
VIDED ON THIS APPLICATION 
  
BY MY  SINATURE,  I  AFFIRM  THAT  ALL  INFORMATION  PROVIDED  IN  CONNECTION WITH  THIS  APPLICATION  IS  TRUE  TO  THE  BEST  OF MY 
KNOWLEDGE AND BELIEF, WITH THE UNDERSTANDING THAT ANY OMISSIONS, INACCURACIES, OR FAILURE TO MAKE FULL DISCLOSURE MAY BE 
DEEMED SUFFICIENT REASON TO SUSPEND OR RECOMMEND REVOCATION OF A LICENSE ISSUED BY THE DEPARTMENT.  

Signature of Applicant _________________________________________ Date _________________  

Printed Name and Title _______________________________________________________________  



Before you seal the envelope, did you: 
 

 Complete every item on the application (incomplete applications may be returned) 
 Sign and date your application 
 Include correct amount (payable to Maine State Treasurer) or credit card information (plus signature) 
 Make a copy of your application to keep for your records 
 DO NOT SEND CASH. 

NOTICES 
 

BACKGROUND CHECK:  Pursuant to 5 M.R.S.A. §5301 - 5303, the State of Maine is granted the authority to take into consideration an 
applicant’s criminal history record.  The Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation requires a criminal history records check as part of 
the application process for all applicants. 
 

PUBLIC RECORD:  This application is a public record for purposes of the Maine Freedom of Access Law (1 MRSA §401 et seq).  Public 
records must be made available to any person upon request.  This application for licensure is a public record and information supplied as part 
of the application (other than social security number and credit card information) is public information.  Other licensing records to which this 
information may later be transferred will also be considered public records.  Names, license numbers and mailing addresses listed on or 
submitted as part of this application will be available to the public and may be posted on our website. 
 

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER: The following statement is made pursuant to the Privacy Act of 1974. Disclosure of your Social Security 
Number is mandatory. Solicitation of your Social Security Number is solely for tax administration purposes, pursuant to 36 MRS §175 as 
authorized by the Tax Reform Act of 1975 (42 USC §405(c)(2)(C)(i)). Your Social Security Number will be disclosed to the State Tax Assessor 
or an authorized agent for use in determining filing obligations and tax liability pursuant to Title 36 of the Maine Revised Statutes. No further 
use will be made of your Social Security Number and it shall be treated as confidential tax information pursuant to 36 MRS §191. 

Frequently Asked Questions: 
 
 

 Where do I send my application?  Our mailing address is 35 State House Station, Augusta, Maine  
04333-0035 
 

 Where are you located? 76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine. 
 

 What hours are you open? 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM weekdays 
 

 Can I come to Gardiner to drop off my application? Yes.  You will not leave with a license, though. 
 

 Can I come to Gardiner to pick up my license?  No.  Your license will be mailed to you. 
 

 How long does it take to process an application?  You can check our website: 
www.maine.gov/professionallicensing.  Your license will show up as PENDING at first; as soon as  
your status is ACTIVE you are authorized to practice. 
 

 How far back do I go answering the criminal question?  Any conviction, ever. 

MANUFACTURED HOUSING BOARD 
STATE OF MAINE    

DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL & FINANCIAL REGULATION -  
OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION 

Mailing Address:  35 State House Station, Augusta, Maine  04333  Courier/Delivery address:  76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine  
04345 

Phone:  (207) 624-8612    Fax:  (207) 624-8637   TTY users call Maine Relay 711  Web:  www.maine.gov/professionallicensing 


