
ANNUAL TRAMWAY 
INSPECTION CERTIFICATE  

APPLICATION 

 
 

 
 
 
 

Department of Professional and Financial Regulation 
Office of Professional & Occupational Regulation 

 
BOARD OF ELEVATOR AND TRAMWAY SAFETY 

 
35 State House Station 

Augusta, ME   04333-0035 
 

Office Telephone: (207)624-8672 
Hearing Impaired: 1-888-577-6690 

Website:  www.maine.gov/professionallicensing  
 

Office located at: 76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine 



 

APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS 
TRAMWAY INSPECTION CERTIFICATE 

 
COMPLETING THE APPLICATION FORM – Return the following to this office: 
 

• Completed Application Form (PER UNIT) 
• Inspection Certificate Fee of $70.00 due 30 days prior to certificate expiration date.  

$50.00 late fee if not submitted 30 days prior to expiration 
• Inspection Report/Wire Rope Inspection 

 
Incomplete applications will be returned. 
 
As the owner of a tramway, you are required to arrange for your tramway’s certificate inspection 
by contacting a licensed private tramway inspector, as well as a licensed wire rope inspector, if 
the tramway is equipped with wire rope. 
 
Once inspected, you must submit the following prior to November 30. 

• Inspection report.  Inspection when the weather permits to allow for a complete 
inspection of all stationary and moving parts and all safety devices. 

• Wire rope inspection report, if the tramway is equipped with a wire rope. 
• Satisfactory written evidence that any noted deficiencies or required repairs have 

been made. 
• Attached annual tramway inspection certificate application. 
• Certificate fee of $70.00. 

 
If you do not file the inspection report, annual application and $70.00 certificate fee 30 days 
prior to the certificate expiration date, you must submit a late filing fee of $50.00 in addition to 
the regular certificate fee of $70.00. 
 
It is a Class E crime to operate a tramway in Maine without a current and valid inspection 
certificate (32 M.R.S.A. § 15223).  As the owner of a tramway, you are legally responsible for 
the safety and maintenance of the tramway.  If you allow your tramway to be used without a 
current certificate, your tramway may be taken out of service by a state tramway inspector and 
you may be subject to administrative discipline, fines or criminal prosecution for allowing your 
tramway to be operated without a current inspection certificate. 
 
PLEASE NOTE:  Ski Season Operational Inspection.  Tramways must be inspected by a 
licensed private tramway inspector or the Chief Inspector not later than 30 days after the 
tramway begins operation for the ski season.  You are required to file with the Chief Inspector 
the operational inspection report and written evidence that any noted deficiencies or required 
repairs have been made. 
 
Off-Season Operational Inspection  When a tramway is operational for public use outside 
of the customary skiing season, the owner shall have the tramway inspected by a 
licensed private tramway inspector or the Chief Inspector during the time of off-season 
operation.  The owner shall file with the Chief Inspector the off-season operational 
inspection report and written evidence that any noted deficiencies or required repairs 
have been made.  The owner must inform the Board on the application below whether the 
tramway will be used for off-season operation. 
 
ACCIDENT REPORTING:  1-888-580-5754  24 hrs a day, 7 days a week 
 



TRAMWAY CERTIFICATE RENEWAL APPLICATION 
Date Received STATE OF MAINE 

DEPT. OF PROFESSIONAL & FINANCIAL REGULATION 
BOARD OF ELEVATOR & TRAMWAY SAFETY 

35 STATE HOUSE STATION 
AUGUSTA, ME  04333 

TEL: (207)624-8672     FAX: (207)624-8636 
HEARING IMPAIRED:  1-888-577-6690 

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY 
Do not write in this box. 

 
CK # _________________ 
 
AMT _________________ 
 
CN ___________________ 
CODE     4530/1908 

 

AMOUNT DUE:  $70.00 
Plus $50.00 LATE FEE if application not received 30 days prior to expiration date. 

 
A COMPLETED APPLICATION MUST BE SUBMITTED PER UNIT.  DUPLICATE FORM AS NECESSARY 

PLEASE NOTE:  You must enclose, with this application, the inspection report and $70.00 certificate fee 30 
days prior to the certificate expiration date.  If you do not file the annual application, inspection report, wire 
rope inspection, if applicable, and $70.00 certificate fee 30 days prior to the certificate expiration date, you 
must submit a late filing fee of $50.00 in addition to the regular certificate fee of $70.00.  Your new certificate 
will expire in the same month each year unless you request a change of expiration date.  The expiration 
date cannot be extended beyond the current expiration date. 

 

PAYMENT OPTIONS:  Check or Money Order Payable to “Treasurer State of Maine”.  Write certificate number 
on check. 

  Credit Card:  MasterCard or VISA Only.  Complete the following: 
I authorize the State of Maine, Department of Professional & Financial Regulation, Office of Professional & Occupational 

Regulation to charge my MasterCard/VISA  -  -  -    

Exp. Date ________/________ 
 

in the amount of $____________________ .  Required Signature: _________________________________ 
 

UNIT INFORMATION 

Tramway Registration #: 

 

Building Name: 

Building Location:________________________________________________________________________ 
                                                                  Street                                                             City                                                                Zip Code 

Location of Unit in Building(ie; lobby, gym, wing, etc.): 

Certificate Expiration Date: 
 
 

Change Certificate Expiration Date to: 

 

The expiration date cannot be extended beyond the current expiration 
date. 

 
OWNER INFORMATION 

Name of Owner:  

Mailing Address: 

City: State: Zip: County: 

Contact Person:  Phone Number: 

 


