
ANNUAL ELEVATOR 
INSPECTION CERTIFICATE  

APPLICATION 
 
 

 
 
 
 

Department of Professional and Financial Regulation 
Office of Professional & Occupational Regulation 

 
ELEVATOR AND TRAMWAY SAFETY PROGRAM 

 
35 State House Station 

Augusta, ME   04333-0035 
 

Office Telephone: (207) 624-8672 
Website:  www.maine.gov/professionallicensing   

 
Office located at: 76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine 



 
APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS 

ELEVATOR INSPECTION CERTIFICATE 
 
COMPLETING THE APPLICATION FORM – Return the following to this 
office: 
 

• Completed Application Form (PER UNIT) 
• Inspection Certificate Fee of $70.00 due 30 days prior to certificate 

expiration date.  $50.00 late fee if not submitted 30 days prior to 
expiration 

• Inspection Report 
 
Incomplete applications will be returned. 
 
As the owner of an elevator, you are required to arrange for your elevator’s 
annual inspection by contacting a licensed private elevator inspector.  
 
Once inspected, you must submit the inspection report to this office with 
the attached application and certificate fee of $70.00 30 days prior to the 
certificate expiration date.  Your new certificate will expire in the same 
month each year unless you petition the office for a change. 
 
If you do not file the inspection report, annual application and $70.00 
certificate fee 30 days prior to the certificate expiration date, you must 
submit a late filing fee of $50.00 in addition to the regular certificate fee of 
$70.00. 
 
It is a Class E crime to operate an elevator in Maine without a current and 
valid inspection certificate (32 M.R.S.A. § 15223).  As the owner of an 
elevator, you are legally responsible for the safety and maintenance of the 
elevator.  If you allow your elevator to be used without a current certificate, 
your elevator may be taken out of service by a state elevator inspector and 
you may be subject to administrative discipline, fines or criminal 
prosecution for allowing your elevator to be operated without a current 
inspection certificate. 
 



ELEVATOR CERTIFICATE RENEWAL APPLICATION 
Date Received  

STATE OF MAINE 
DEPT. OF PROFESSIONAL & FINANCIAL REGULATION 

ELEVATOR & TRAMWAY SAFETY PROGRAM 
35 STATE HOUSE STATION 

AUGUSTA, ME  04333 
TEL: (207) 624-8672     FAX: (207) 624-8636 

MAINE RELAY:  711 (TTY) 
 

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY 
. 
 

CK # _________________ 
 
AMT _________________ 
 
CN ___________________ 
CODE     4530/1908 

 
AMOUNT DUE:  $70.00 

 
 Please Note:  If you do not file the annual renewal application, inspection report, and $70 
certificate fee 30 days prior to certificate expiration date, you must submit a late filing fee 
of $50 in addition to the certificate renewal fee of $70.  Your new certificate will expire in 

the same month each year unless you request a change of expiration.  The expiration 
date cannot be extended beyond the current expiration date. 

 
UNIT INFORMATION 

 Elevator Registration #: 

 

Name of Building: 

Building Location:________________________________________________________________________ 
                                                                  Street                                                             City                                                                Zip Code 

Location of Unit in Building (ie; lobby, gym, wing, etc.): 

Certificate Expiration Date: 
 
 

Change Certificate Expiration Date to: 

 

 
OWNER INFORMATION 

Name of Owner:  

Mailing Address: 

City: State: Zip: County: 

Contact Person:  Phone Number: 
 

PAYMENT OPTIONS:   
Make checks payable to “Maine State Treasurer” - If you wish to pay by Mastercard or Visa, fill out the 

following: 
NAME OF CARDHOLDER (please print)      
 FIRST                                                      MIDDLE INITIAL                          LAST 

I authorize the Department of Professional and Financial Regulation, Office of Professional & Occupational 
Regulation to charge my  □ VISA   □ MASTERCARD  the following amount:  $____________ 

             Card number:          XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX                                       Expiration Date    mm / yyyy 

      (check here)  □  I understand that fees are non-refundable 
  
SIGNATURE                                                                   DATE 


