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OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION

Director’s Policy Statement

Limited Barbering #1/2012

(February 2, 2012)

2011 Public Law Chapter 286, which took effect on September 27, 2011, establishes a new license
category for individuals seeking a limited barber license without authority to offer chemical service
applications. The Director issues this policy statement and guidelines to allow licensed barbering and
cosmetology schools in the State to offer and teach the limited barber course, in advance of final adoption

of licensing rules.

The following is a preliminary guideline for the 800-hour limited barber curriculum course work in a
Maine licensed barbering and cosmetology school.

Limited Barber curriculum course work:

1. Limited Barbering course w.ork shall consist of 800 hours in not leés than 5 months. The

course work shall consist of theory, practice lab, and client-based clinic practice in the following
subject areas:

A

ATTEQEEUOW

Anatomy, Hygiene, Bacteriology, Infection Control, Disinfecting, Sterilization and
Sanitation

Barbering implements, tools and equipment
Shampooing ,

Scalp and skin disorders

Haircutting

Hairstyling

Hairpiece fitting, styling and care

Shaving, trimming beards and mustaches

Thermal Styling, Curling & Blow Dry Styling

Facials

Salon Management; State Laws; Rules and Regulations

2. The following schedule of course subjects and hours is recommended as a guideline for
an appropriate course of study.

SUBJECT HOURS

Bacteriology; hygiene, principles and practices of infection prevention and

control, exposure to blood and bodily fluids, sterilization, sanitation,
universal precautions; and benefits and differences of cleaning,
sanitation and StEMlZING .....ccccovvimrireiir et 65

Business and salon/shop management: Maine Barbering and Cosmetology

laws and applicable rules, unassigned to be applied to: study of theory,
subjects in which an individual student may be deficient,
elective barbering subJects, MISC....c.cvrivrermiira e reesrerreses e sraeree e 75



Director’s Policy Statement on Limited Barbering — February 2, 2012 — Page 2

Barbering Practice Equipment, Tools, Implements, Devices, including but is not
limited to: styling, facial and scalp treatment equipment, scissors,
razors, clippers, trimmers, devices, dryers, thermal and other irons
their use, safety, sanitation, sterilization and precautions.........c..ccoevvevervuerenenn. 75
General sciences, including but is not limited to: hygiene; anatomy and
physiology; skin structure, growth, nutrition, disorders and diseases;
nail structure, growth, disorders and diseases; properties of the hair

and scalp; and basics of chemistry and electriCity ........cccccvivrevrrrrrrcienivirenineens 85
Haircutting, including but is not limited to: basic principles ........ccoccevcenverimreersceriennnens 275
Hairstyling, cutting, arranging and styling, blow-dry styling, and comb

OUL LECHIIGUES....ceverterirreeeereriee e eeesreetere s re e ssesses e sssesreseesnrensensesanereessnns 115
Shampooing, conditioning, SCAIP CATE........ccccevrvrrrerriirsierreesesiereeeerrereesressessesesssesssens 30
Barbering Facial, including but is not limited to: hair removal, trimming

and shaving, and facial and scalp treatments ............cceccviveriveereerennennieenieennns 60

Hair Replacement Systems using human and/or synthetic hair; wigs,
hairpieces and toupees; measuring; molding; fitting; cleaning,
€O0loring and SEYLINE; ..cvcvvervivrireirrinirerereresiresieeseeseesrrereeeseasnresasrsesonsessaessnne 20

3. Prior to performing limited barbering services on clients in the clinic setting, the limited barber
student shall complete a minimum of one hundred (100) hours of introductory limited barbering course
instruction in theory and practice lab experiment. Introductory instruction shall be in areas that will
sufficiently prepare the limited barber student to work safely on clients and have a solid understanding of
practice safety, sanitation, infection control and precautionary measures. Also, prior to performing
limited barbering services on clients in the clinic setting, the student shall have completed at least twenty
(20) percent of the recommended hours of instruction in the service to be performed.

4. A licensed barbering and cosmetology school may submit, in writing, a request for
provisional approval of a limited barber course. At a minimum, the request shall include the
following components:

» Orientation materials and review of all subjects taught in the limited barber
course of study;

Daily lesson plans;

Testing and assessments;

Teaching aids; and

The name of the licensed instructor who will teach the course.

A licensed barber instructor or a licensed cosmetologist instructor may teach the barber
or limited barber course. This applies to any school that may currently be approved to
teach the 1,500 hour barber course.

Note: Final rules will be adopted in accordance with Title 5, chapter 375, subchapter 2-4 of the Maine
Administrative Procedures Act. The final rules may differ somewhat from this policy statement, but the
Department will work with any schools that move forward prior to adoption to address any issues arising
from those differences.
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