
 

 

The following endorsement changes your policy. 
Please read this document carefully and keep it with your policy. 

Maine 
Uninsured Motorists Insurance <En> Coverage SS 
<En> ACR192 
General Statement Of Coverage 
We will pay damages which an insured person is legally entitled to recover 
from the owner or operator of an uninsured or underinsured auto because of 
bodily injury sustained by an insured person. The bodily injury must be 
caused by an accident and arise out of the ownership, maintenance or use of an 
uninsured or underinsured auto. 

The right to receive any damages and the amount of damages will be decided by 
agreement between the insured person and us. If the insured person and we 
do not agree, then the disagreement will be resolved in a court of competent 
jurisdiction. Costs, including attorney fees, are to be paid by the party incurring 
them. 

If an insured person sues a person believed responsible for the accident 
without our written consent, we are not bound by any resulting judgment. 

An Uninsured auto Is: 
1. a motor vehicle which has no bodily injury liability bond or insurance 

policy in effect at the time of the accident. 

2. a motor vehicle covered by a bond or insurance policy which does not 
provide at least the minimum financial security requirements of the state 
in which your insured auto is principally garaged. 

3. a motor vehicle for which the insurer denies coverage, or the insurer 
becomes insolvent. 

4. a hit-and-run motor vehicle which causes bodily injury to an insured 
person. The identity of the operator and the owner of the vehicle must be 
unknown. The accident must be reported within 24 hours to the proper 
authorities. We must be notified within 30 days. If the insured person 
was occupying a vehicle at the time of the accident, we have a right to 
inspect it. 

5. an underinsured motor vehicle which has liability protection equal to or 
greater than the amounts specified for bodily injury by the financial 
responsibility laws of Maine in effect and applicable at the time of the 
accident but in an amount less than the applicable limit of liability for this 
coverage shown on the Policy Declarations. 

An Uninsured auto Is Not: 
1. a motor vehicle that is lawfully self-insured. 

2. a motor vehicle insured under Part 1<Em>Automobile Liability 
Insurance of this policy. 

Additional Definitions for Uninsured Motorists Insurance 
1. Insured auto means an auto you own which is described on the Policy 

Declarations and for which a premium is shown for Uninsured Motorists 
Insurance. This also includes: 
a)   its replacement auto;  
b)   an additional auto;  
c)   a substitute auto; or 
d)   a non-owned auto. 

2. Insured person(s) means: 
a) you and any resident relative. 
b) any person while in, on, getting into or out of, or getting on or off of, 

an insured auto with your permission. 
c) any other person who is legally entitled to recover because of bodily 

injury to you, a resident relative, or an occupant of your insured 
auto with your permission. 

3. Motor Vehicle means a land motor vehicle, trailer or travel-trailer other 
than: 
a) a vehicle or other equipment designed for use off public roads, while 

not on public roads; 
b) a vehicle operated on rails or crawler treads; or 
c) a vehicle while used as a residence or premises. 

Exclusions<Em>What Is Not Covered 
We will not pay any damages an insured person is legally entitled to recover 
because of: 
1. bodily injury to any person who makes a settlement without our written 

consent. 

2. bodily injury sustained while: 
a) in; 
b) on; 
c) getting into or out of; or 
d) when struck by;  

a vehicle owned by you or a resident relative which is not insured for this 
coverage. 

3. bodily injury sustained while: 
a) in; 
b) on; or 
c) getting into or out of;  

a vehicle you own which is insured for this coverage under another policy. 

4. bodily injury, if the payment would directly or indirectly benefit any 
workers’ compensation or disability benefits insurer. This includes a self 
insurer. 

5. bodily injury arising out of the participation in any prearranged, 
organized, or spontaneous: 
a) racing contest; 
b) speed contest; or 
c) use of an auto at a track or course designed or used for racing or 

high performance driving;  
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or in practice or preparation for any contest or use of this type. 

6. bodily injury arising out of the use of: 
a) an insured auto while used by an insured person to carry persons, 

products or property for any form of compensation, including but not 
limited to fees, delivery charges or wages generally; or  

b) any auto an insured person is driving while available for hire by the 
public.  

This exclusion does not apply to shared-expense car pools. 

7. bodily injury arising out of the use of your insured auto while it is rented 
to, leased to, or loaned for a charge to, any person or organization by or 
with the permission of an insured person.  

Limit Of Liability 
The Uninsured Motorists Insurance coverage limit shown on the Policy 
Declarations for: 
1. “each person” is the maximum we will pay for damages arising out of 

bodily injury to one person in any one motor vehicle accident, including 
damages sustained by anyone else as a result of that bodily injury. 

2. “each accident” is the maximum we will pay for damages arising out of 
bodily injury to two or more persons in any one motor vehicle accident. 
This limit is subject to the limit for “each person.” 

These limits are the maximum we will pay for any one motor vehicle accident 
regardless of the number of: 
1. claims made; 
2. vehicles or persons shown on the Policy Declarations; or 
3. vehicles involved in the accident. 

The Uninsured Motorists Insurance limits apply to each insured motor 
vehicle as shown on the Policy Declarations. 

Damages payable will be reduced by: 
1. all amounts paid by the owner or operator of the uninsured auto or anyone 

else responsible. This includes all sums paid under the bodily injury liability 
coverage of this or any other auto policy. 

2. all amounts payable under: 
a) any workers’ compensation law; 
b) disability benefits law, or similar law; and 
c) Automobile Medical Payments, or any similar automobile medical 

payments coverage. 

We are not obligated to make any payment for bodily injury under this 
coverage which arises out of the use of an underinsured motor vehicle until 
after all limits of liability protection have been exhausted by payment of 
judgments or settlements. This applies to all liability protection in effect and 
applicable at the time of the accident. 

If There Is Other Insurance 
If the insured person was in, on, getting into or out of a vehicle you do not own 
which is insured for this coverage under another policy, this coverage will be 
excess. 

If more than one policy applies to the accident on a primary basis, we will bear 
our proportionate share with other uninsured motorists benefits. This applies no 
matter how many autos or auto policies may be involved whether written by us 
or another company. 

Trust Agreement 
When we pay any person under this coverage: 
1. we are entitled to repayment of amounts paid by us and related collection 

expenses out of the proceeds of any settlement or judgment that person 
recovers from any uninsured or underinsured motorist. 

2. all rights of recovery against any uninsured or underinsured motorist must 
be maintained and preserved for our benefit. 

3. insured persons, if we ask, must take proper action in their name to 
recover damages from any uninsured or underinsured motorist. We will 
select the attorney. We will pay all related costs and fees. 

We will not ask the insured person to sue the insured of an insolvent insurer. 

Subrogation Rights: Additional Duties 
If a loss arises from the ownership, maintenance or use of an underinsured 
motor vehicle, our right of subrogation applies only if we pay the insured 
person an amount equal to any tentative agreement between the injured person 
and the responsible party or insurer within 60 days of written notice by certified 
mail to us of the tentative settlement. 

Our Payment Of Loss 
Any amount due is payable to the insured person, to the parent or guardian of 
an injured minor, or to the spouse of any insured person who dies. However, 
we may pay any other person or estate lawfully entitled to recover the damages. 

Action Against Us 
No one may bring an action against us in any way related to the existence or 
amount of coverage, or the amount of loss for which coverage is sought, under 
Uninsured Motorists Insurance, unless there is full compliance with all policy 
terms and, except as provided below, such action is commenced within six years 
after the date we deny coverage or otherwise fail to meet the insured person’s 
demand.   

If an insured person commences a timely action against the owner or operator 
of an uninsured auto to recover damages for loss arising out of the accident and 
gives us written notice of such action within 30 days after such action is 
commenced, an action against us related to the existence or amount of 
coverage, or the amount of loss for which coverage is sought, must be brought 
within six years after the date we deny coverage or otherwise fail to meet the 
insured person’s demand. 

If any insured person sues a person believed responsible for the accident 
without our written consent, we are not bound by any resulting judgment. 

If We Cannot Agree 
If the insured person or we do not agree on that person’s right to receive any 
damages or the amount, then upon the mutual consent of both parties, the 
disagreement will be settled by arbitration. Arbitration will take place under the 
rules of the American Arbitration Association unless either party objects. 
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If either party objects, the following method of arbitration will be used instead. 
The insured person will select one arbitrator. We will select another. The two 
arbitrators will select a third. If they cannot agree on a third arbitrator within 30 
days, the judge of the court of record in the county of jurisdiction where 
arbitration is pending will appoint the third arbitrator. The written decision of 
any two arbitrators will determine the issues. The insured person will pay the 
arbitrator that person selects. We will pay the one we select. The expense of 
the third arbitrator and all other expenses of arbitration will be shared equally. 
However, attorney fees and fees paid to medical and other expert witnesses are 
not considered arbitration expenses. These costs will be paid by the party 
incurring them. Regardless of the method of arbitration, any award not 
exceeding the limits of the Financial Responsibility law of Maine, will be binding 
and may be entered as a judgment in a proper court. 

Regardless of the method of arbitration, when any arbitration award exceeds 
the Financial Responsibility limits in the State of Maine, either party has a right 
to trial on all issues in a court of competent jurisdiction. This right must be 
exercised within 60 days of the award. Costs, including attorney fees, are to be 
paid by the party incurring them. 

No one may pursue arbitration under Uninsured Motorists Insurance unless 
there is a full compliance with all policy terms. No one may pursue arbitration 
under Uninsured Motorists Insurance unless the demand for arbitration is 
made within six years after the date we deny coverage or otherwise fail to meet 
the insured person’s demand. 

However, if an insured person commences a timely action against the owner or 
operator of an uninsured vehicle to recover damages for loss out of the accident 
and gives us written notice of such action within 30 days after such action is 
commenced, the insured person or we must demand arbitration within six 
years after the date we deny coverage or otherwise fail to meet the insured 
person’s demand. 

No arbitrator shall have the authority to award punitive damages or attorney’s 
fees. Neither of the parties shall be entitled to arbitrate any claims in a 
representative capacity or as a member of a class. No arbitrator shall have the 
authority, without mutual consent of the parties, to consolidate claims in 
arbitration. 

All other policy terms and conditions apply. 
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