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NOTICE TO SCOTT SHAPIRO:

Effective as of February 23r 2015, your Maine non-resident insurance producer license
will be REVOKED without further formal proceedings unless you request a hearing as

specified below.

The reasons for license revocation are as follows:

On September 25,2013, the Commonwealth of Virginia revoked your non-
resident producer license for "failing to make records available promptly upon
request for examination" by the Department. The Virginia revocation constitutes
grounds for revocation of your Maine license under 24-A M.R.S. $ 1420-K(lXB),
for violating insurance laws, and $ 1420-K(1)(I), for having an insurance
producer license, or its equivalent, denied, suspended, or revoked in any other
state, province, district, or territory.

On November 4,2013, the Commonwealth of Kentucky revoked your non-
resident producer license for (i) intentional misrepresentation of an actual or
proposed insurance contract; (ii) using fraudulent, coercive, or dishonest
practices; or demonstrating incompetence, untrustworthiness, or fi nancial
irresponsibility; or being a source of injury or loss to the public in the conduct of
business; and (iii) failure to respond to any of the Department's attempts to
contact you. The Kentucky revocation constitutes grourtds for revocation of your
Maine license under 24-A M.R.S. $ 1420-K(1XB), for violating insurance laws,
and $ 1420-K(1XI), for having an insurance producer license, or its equivalent,
denied, suspended, or revoked in any other state, province, district, or territory.

On May 9,2014, the State of South Dakota revoked your non-resident producer
license for failing to make timely responses to the Department's inquiries to you.
The South Dakota revocation constitutes grounds for revocation of your Maine
license under 24-A M.R.S. $ 1420-K(1XB), for violating insurance laws, and $
1420-K(1XI), for having an insurance producer license, or its equivalent, denied,
suspended, or revoked in any other state, province, district, or territory.
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4. On July I1,2014, the State of Wyoming revoked your non-resident producer
license based upon the Kentucky and Virginia administrative actions. The
Wyoming revocation constitutes grounds for revocation of your Maine license
under $ 1420-K(l)(I), for having an insurance producer license, or its equivalent,
denied, suspended, or revoked in any other state, province, district, or territory.

5. You failed to timely report any of the four administrative actions taken against
you described hereinabove to the Maine Superintendent of Insurance as required
by 24-A M.R.S. $ 1420-P(l), which also constitutes grounds for revocation of
your Maine license under 24-A M.R.S. $ 1420-K(l)(B), for violating insurance
laws.

Therefore, based upon the above grounds, your Maine insurance producer license is
revoked as of February 230 2015, pursuant to24-A M.R.S. $$1417 and 1420-K, subject
to your right to request a hearing.

Under the Maine Insurance Code, specifically 24-A M.R.S. $f4f7 and $1420-K, you
have the right to a hearing before the Superintendent or his designee. If you request
a hearing, you will have the right to present evidence and arguments in your
defense, and the staff of the Bureau of Insurance will bear the burden of proving
each violation by a preponderance of evidence.

If you request a hearingn you will receive further communication regarding
scheduling. The matters to be determined through the hearing process are whether
you committed one or more of the violations listed aboveo and if soo the appropriate
sanctions for those violations. The sanctions imposed after a hearing can include
any available remedy under applicable laws, including the payment of civil
penalties.

To request a hearing, you must notiff the Bureau of Insurance in writing no later
than February 23,2015. If you do not file a written request for a hearing within 30
days from the time you knew or reasonably should have known of the revocation of
your license through this Notice and Order, you will lose your right to request a

hearing on this license revocation Notice and Order.



Any request for a hearing, as well as all other communications regarding this Notice,
Order, and Opportunity for Hearing must be addressed to Bureau Licensing Attorney
Kristina M. Balbo, Bureau of Insurance,#34 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333-
0034 (for US Postal Service deliveries) or 76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine 04345
(for private carrier deliveries, such as FedEx or UPS). You may also reach Attorney
Balbo by e-mail at kristina.m.balbo@maine.gov or by telephone at (207) 624-8429.

January 16,2015


