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Maine Bureau of Insurance 
Form Filing Requirements Checklist 

QUALIFIED STAND ALONE DENTAL – GROUP (H10G.001) and INDIVIDUAL (H10I.001) 
Inside and Outside the Marketplace 

For Plans Issued On or After January 1, 2017 
 (Revised 3/25/2016) 

Confirm compliance and IDENTIFY the LOCATION (Page Number, Section, Paragraph, etc.) of the STANDARD in the last column. 
N/A: Check this box if a contract does not have to meet this requirement and EXPLAIN WHY in the last column. 

State Benefit/Provision 
and/or 

ACA Requirement 

State  
Law/Rule 

and/or  
Federal Law 

State Description of Requirement 
and/or 

ACA Description of Requirement 

N/A 
 

CONFIRM COMPLIANCE 
AND IDENTIFY LOCATION 
OF STANDARD IN FILING 

& EXPLAIN IF REQUIREMENT 
IS NOT APPLICABLE 

GENERAL SUBMISSION REQUIREMENTS 

Electronic (SERFF) 
Submission 
Requirements 

24-A M.R.S.A. 
§2412 (2) 

 
Bulletin 360 

All filings must be filed electronically, using the NAIC System 
for Electronic Rate and Form Filing (SERFF). See 
http://www.serff.com. 

☐  

FILING FEES 24-A M.R.S.A. 
§601(17) 

$20.00 for Rate filings, rating rules filings, insurance policy, 
forms, riders, endorsements and certificates. See General 
Instructions page in SERFF for additional information on filing 
fee structure. 
Filing fees must be submitted by EFT in SERFF at the time of 
submission of the filing. 
All filings require a filing fee unless specifically excluded per 24-
A M.R.S.A. §4222(1), and/or are a required annual report. 

☐  

Grounds for disapproval 24-A M.R.S.A. 
§2413 

Seven categories of the grounds for disapproving a filing. ☐  

Readability 24-A M.R.S.A. 
§2441 

Minimum of 50.  Riders, endorsements, applications all must be 
scored. They may be scored either individually or in conjunction 
with the policy/certificate to which they will be attached. 
Exceptions: Federally mandated forms/language, Groups > 1000, 

☐  
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Group Annuities as funding vehicles.  Scores must be entered on 
form schedule tab in SERFF. 

Variability of Language 24-A M.R.S.A. 
§2412  

 
 §2413  

Forms with variable bracketed information must include all the 
possible language that might be placed within the brackets. The 
use of too many variables will result in filing disapproval as 
Bureau staff may not be able to determine whether the filing is 
compliant with Maine laws and regulations. 

☐  

GENERAL POLICY PROVISIONS 

Free look period 
(Individual Only) 

24-A M.R.S.A. 
§2717 

10 day free look. ☐  

General format  24-A M.R.S.A. 
§2703 

Readability, term of policy described, cost disclosed, form 
number in bottom left corner. 

☐  

Grace Period  24-A M.R.S.A. 
§2809-A 

§2707 

Bulletin 288 

There shall be a provision that a grace period of 31 days will be 
granted for the payment of each premium falling due after the 
first premium, during which grace period the policy shall 
continue in force. 

☐  

Legal actions  24-A M.R.S.A. 
§2828 

§2715 

No action can be brought to recover on the policy prior to the 
expiration of sixty days after written proof of loss has been 
furnished in accordance with the requirements of the policy. No 
such action shall be brought after the expiration of 3 years (for 
individual plans) (2 years for group plans) after the time written 
proof of loss is required to be furnished.  

☐  

Notice of Rate Increase  24-A M.R.S.A. 
§2839 

 
§2735-A 

Requires that insurers provide a minimum of 60 days written 
notice to affected policyholders prior to a rate filing for 
individual health insurance or a rate increase for group health 
insurance. It specifies the requirements for the notice. See these 
sections for more details. Reasonable notice must be provided for 
other types of policies. 

☐  

Outline of Coverage – 
Dental Requirements 

Rule 755, Sec. 7(N) This subsection describes the required provisions and disclosures for the 
Outline of Coverage for Dental Coverage. ☐  

Outline of Coverage - 
General Requirements 

Rule 755, Sec. 7(B) This subsection contains general requirements and disclosures for 
Outlines of Coverage. 

☐  
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PPO Benefit level 
differential  

24-A M.R.S.A. 
§2677-A 

There cannot be more than a 20% differential in benefits between 
preferred and non-preferred providers. Superintendent can 
grant waiver for the 20%, in particular for designated 
providers for cost or quality.

☐  

Renewal provision  24-A M.R.S.A. 
§2820 

§2738 

Policy must contain the terms under which the policy can or 
cannot be renewed. 

☐  

Required disclosure 
statements on 
policies/certificates 

Rule 755, Sec. 
7(A)(22) 

All dental plan policies and certificates shall display prominently 
by type, stamp or other appropriate means on the first page of the 
policy or certificate, or attached to it, in either contrasting color 
or in boldface type at least equal to the size type used for 
headings or captions of sections in the [policy][certificate] the 
following: 

“Notice to Buyer: This [policy] [certificate] provides dental 
benefits only.” 

☐  

Third Party Notice, 
Cancellation and 
Reinstatement 

24-A M.R.S.A. 
§2847-C 

24-A M.R.S.A. 
§2707-A 

Rule 580 

Third party notice of cancellation and reinstatement for cognitive 
impairment or functional incapacity. 

☐  

Time for suits 
(Group Only) 

24-A M.R.S.A. 
§2828 

There shall be a provision that from the date of issue of a policy 
no misstatements, except fraudulent misstatements, made by the 
applicant in the application for such policy shall be used to void 
the policy or to deny a claim for loss incurred or disability, as 
defined in the policy, commencing after the expiration of such 3-
year period. 

☐  

Time limit on defenses 
(Individual Only) 

24-A M.R.S.A. 
§2706 

After 3 years from the date of issue of policy no misstatements, 
except fraudulent misstatements, made by the applicant in the 
application for such policy shall be used to void the policy or to 
deny a claim for loss incurred or disability, commencing after the 
expiration of such 3-year period. 

☐  
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ELIGIBILITY/ENROLLMENT 

Annual Open 
Enrollment/Special 
Enrollment Periods - 
INDIVIDUAL 

45 CFR §155.410 
 
 

45 CFR §155.420 

Must provide an annual open enrollment period that begins 
November 1, 2016 and extends through January 31, 2017.  

Must also provide a written annual open enrollment notification 
to each enrollee no earlier than September 1, and no later than 
September 30. 

Must provide special enrollment periods consistent with this 
section, during which qualified individuals may enroll.  A 
qualified individual or enrollee has 60 days for individuals from 
the date of a triggering event to select a plan. 

☐  

Annual Open 
Enrollment/Special 
Enrollment Periods - 
SHOP 

45 CFR §155.725 
 

45 CFR §155.725(g) 
 
 
 
 
 

Employer: 
 
Must permit a qualified employer to purchase coverage for its 
small group at any point during the year.  The employer’s plan 
year must consist of the 12-month period beginning with the 
qualified employer’s effective date of coverage. 
 
Must provide qualified employers with a period of no less than 
30 days prior to the completion of the employer’s plan year and 
before the annual employee open enrollment period, in which the 
qualified employer may change its participation in the SHOP for 
the next plan year. 
 
Must provide notification to a qualified employer of the annual 
election period in advance of such period. 
 
Employees: 
 
Must establish a standardized annual open enrollment period of 
no less than 30 days for qualified employees prior to the 
completion of the applicable qualified employer's plan year and 
after that employer's annual election period.  Must provide 
notification to a qualified employee of the annual open 

☐  
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enrollment period in advance of such period. 

Must provide special enrollment periods consistent with this 
section, during which qualified individuals may enroll.  A 
qualified individual or enrollee has 30 days for SHOP from the 
date of a triggering event to select a plan. 

Must provide notification to a qualified employee of the annual 
open enrollment period in advance of such period. 

Newly qualified employees. The SHOP must provide an 
employee who becomes a qualified employee outside of the 
initial or annual open enrollment period an enrollment period to 
seek coverage in a QHP beginning on the first day of becoming a 
qualified employee. 

Dependent Children - 
Offer 

24-A M.R.S.A. 
§2847-R 
§2766 

All group dental insurance policies, contracts and certificates that 
offer dependent coverage must offer the opportunity to enroll a 
dependent child in the dental insurance coverage during the 
following periods: 
A. From birth to 30 days of age; and 
B. Any open or annual enrollment period. 

☐  

Dependent Children Up 
to Age 25 

24-A M.R.S.A. 
§2833-B 

§2742-B 

An individual or group health maintenance organization contract 
that offers coverage for dependent children must offer such 
coverage until the dependent child is 25 years of age.  

☐  

Dependent children with 
mental or physical illness 
 
 
 
 
 
Dependent student on 
medically necessary 
leave of absence  
 

24-A M.R.S.A. 
§2742-A 

 
 
 
 
 

PHSA §2728 
(45 CFR §147.145) 

Requires health insurance policies to continue coverage for 
dependent children up to 24 years of age who are unable to 
maintain enrollment in college due to mental or physical illness if 
they would otherwise terminate coverage due to a requirement 
that dependent children of a specified age be enrolled in college 
to maintain eligibility. 
 
Issuer cannot terminate coverage of dependent student due to a 
medically necessary leave of absence before: 
 
 The date that is 1 year after the first day of the leave; or 

☐  
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 The date on which coverage would otherwise terminate under 
the terms of the coverage. 

 
“Medically necessary leave of absence” means: a leave of 
absence or change of enrollment of a dependent child from a 
post-secondary education institution that: 
 
1. Commences while the child is suffering from a serious illness 

or injury; 
2. Is medically necessary; and 
3. Causes the child to lose student status for purposes of 

coverage under the terms of coverage. 
 
Issuer must include with any notice regarding a requirement for 
certification of student status for coverage, a description of the 
terms for continued coverage during medically necessary leaves 
of absence. 

Extension of dependent 
coverage to age 26 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Dependent coverage 
must be available up to 
age 26 if policy offers 
dependent coverage.  

 

24-A M.R.S.A. 
§4320-B 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

PHSA §2714 
(75 Fed Reg 27122, 
45 CFR §147.120) 

 
 

A carrier offering a health plan subject to the requirements  
of the federal Affordable Care Act that provides dependent 
coverage of children shall continue to make such coverage 
available for an adult child until the child turns 26 years of 
age, consistent with the federal Affordable Care Act. 
 
An insurer shall provide notice to policyholders regarding the 
availability of dependent coverage under this section upon each 
renewal of coverage or at least once annually, whichever occurs 
more frequently.  Notice provided under this subsection must 
include information about enrolment periods and notice of the 
insurer’s definition of and benefit limitations for preexisting 
conditions. 
 
Eligible children are defined based on their relationship 
with the participant. Limiting eligibility is prohibited based 
on: financial dependency on primary subscriber, residency,  
student status, employment, eligibility for other coverage, marital 
status. 

☐  
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Terms of the policy for dependent coverage cannot vary based on 
the age of a child. 

Pediatric Services 45 CFR 
§156.115(a)(6) 

Coverage for pediatric services should continue until the end of 
the plan year in which the enrollee turns 19 years of age.  Issuers 
are encouraged to cover services under the pediatric services 
EHB category beyond the 19th birthday month if non-coverage of 
those services after that time would negatively affect care. 

☐  

CLAIMS 

Assignment of Benefits  §2827-A 

24-A M.R.S.A. 
§2755 

Permits insureds to assign benefits directly to their provider of 
care.  Applies to medical and dental expense incurred plans. Does 
not include indemnity plans.   

☐  

Calculation of health 
benefits based on actual 
cost 

24-A M.R.S.A. 
§2185 

All health insurance policies, health maintenance organization 
plans and subscriber contracts or certificates of nonprofit hospital 
or medical service organizations with respect to which the insurer 
or organization has negotiated discounts with providers must 
provide for the calculation of all covered health benefits, 
including without limitation all coinsurance, deductibles and 
lifetime maximum benefits, on the basis of the net negotiated cost 
and must fully reflect any discounts or differentials from charges 
otherwise applicable to the services provided. With respect to 
policies or plans involving risk-sharing compensation 
arrangements, net negotiated costs may be calculated at the time 
services are rendered on the basis of reasonably anticipated 
compensation levels and are not subject to retrospective 
adjustment at the time a cost settlement between a provider and 
the insurer or organization is finalized. 

☐  

Claim forms 
(Individual Only) 

24-A M.R.S.A. 
§2710 

The insurer will furnish claim forms to the claimant. If such 
forms are not furnished within 15 days after the giving of such 
notice the claimant shall be deemed to have complied with the 
requirements of this policy for filing of claim forms.  

☐  

Coordination of Benefits 
and Evidence of 

24-A 
M.R.S.A.§2844 

Lists items that are required to be placed in an Evidence of 
Coverage.  Also §9 states:  

☐  
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Coverage  
§2723-A 

 
Rule 191(§9-A and 

§9-D)  
Rule 790 

Evidences of coverage may contain a provision for coordination 
of benefits, provided that such provision shall not relieve an  
HMO of its duty to provide or arrange for a covered health care 
service to an enrollee solely because the enrollee is entitled to 
coverage under any other contract, policy or plan, including 
coverage provided under government programs. 

Forms for proof of loss 
(Group Only) 

24-A M.R.S.A. 
§2825 

There shall be a provision that the insurer will furnish to the 
policyholder such forms as are usually furnished by it for filing 
proof of loss. If such forms are not furnished before the 
expiration of 15 days after the insurer received notice of any 
claim under the policy, the person making such claim shall be 
deemed to have complied with the requirements of the policy as 
to proof of loss upon submitting within the time fixed in the 
policy for filing proof of loss, written proof covering the 
occurrence, character and extent of the loss for which claim is 
made. 

☐  

Lifetime Limits and 
Annual Aggregate Dollar 
Limits Prohibited 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Lifetime or annual limits 
on the dollar value of 
Essential Health Benefits 
(EHB): 
 
 
 

24-A M.R.S.A. 
§4318 

 

 

 

 

 
 
 

 PHSA §2711 
(75 Fed Reg 37188, 
45 CFR §147.126); 
45 §155.1065(a)(2) 

 
 
 

An individual or group health plan may not include a provision in 
a policy, contract, certificate or agreement that purports to 
terminate payment of any additional claims for coverage of 
health care services after a defined maximum aggregate dollar 
amount of claims for coverage of health care services on an 
annual, lifetime or other basis has been paid under the health plan 
for coverage of an insured individual, family or group. 

A carrier may however offer a health plan that limits benefits 
under the health plan for specified health care services on an 
annual basis. 

 
Stand-alone dental plans must cover at least the pediatric dental 
EHB.   Issuers are not prohibited from using lifetime limits for 
specific covered benefits that are not EHB; issuers are not 
prohibited from excluding all benefits for a non-covered 
condition for all covered people, but if any benefits are provided 
for a condition, then no lifetime limit requirements apply. 
 

☐  
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Cost Sharing Limitations 
 
*2017 Plan Year 
Limits:   
 
One Child: $350 
Two or More Children: 
$700 
 

45 CFR § 156.150(a) A stand-alone dental plan covering the pediatric dental EHB must 
demonstrate that it has a reasonable annual limitation on cost-
sharing as determined by the Exchange. Such annual limit is 
calculated without regard to EHBs provided by the QHP and 
without regard to out-of-network services.  “Reasonable” to mean 
any annual limit on cost sharing that is at or below $350 for a 
plan with one child enrollee or $700 for a plan with two or more 
child enrollees. 

Limits on priority 
liens/Subrogation 

24-A M.R.S.A. 
§2836 

§2729-A 

Does this policy have subrogation provisions?  If yes, see 
provisions below: 

Subrogation requires prior written approval of the insured and 
allows such payments only on a just and equitable basis and not 
on the basis of a priority lien. 

☐  

Notice of claim  24-A M.R.S.A. 
§2823 

§2709 

There shall be a provision that written notice of sickness or of 
injury must be given to the insurer within 20 days (30 days for 
group) after the date when such sickness or injury occurred. 
Failure to give notice within such time shall not invalidate nor 
reduce any claim, if it shall be shown not to have been reasonably 
possible to give such notice and that notice was given as soon as 
was reasonably possible.  

☐  

Payment of Claims 24-A M.R.S.A. 
§2436 

A claim for payment of benefits under a policy or certificate of 
insurance delivered or issued for delivery in this State is payable 
within 30 days after proof of loss is received by the insurer. 

☐  

GRIEVANCES & APPEALS 

Grievance procedure  24-A M.R.S.A. 
§2816 (non-ERISA 
group plans only) 

The policy must contain the procedure to follow if an insured 
wishes to file a grievance regarding policy provisions or denial of 
benefits. 

☐  

PROVIDERS/NETWORKS 
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Dental hygiene therapist 24-A MRSA 
§2847-U 

  
 

24-A MRSA 
 §2765-A 

 
 
 
 

1.  An insurer that issues individual dental insurance or health 
insurance that includes coverage for dental services shall provide 
coverage for dental services performed by a dental hygiene 
therapist licensed under Title 32, chapter 16, subchapter 3-C 
when those services are covered services under the contract and 
when they are within the lawful scope of practice of the dental 
hygiene therapist. 
 
2.  Limits; coinsurance; deductibles.    A contract that provides 
coverage for the services required by this section may contain 
provisions for maximum benefits and coinsurance and reasonable 
limitations, deductibles and exclusions to the extent that these 
provisions are not inconsistent with the requirements of this 
section. 
 
 3.  Coordination of benefits with dental insurance.     If an 
enrollee eligible for coverage under this section is eligible for 
coverage under a dental insurance policy or contract and a health 
insurance policy or contract, the insurer providing dental 
insurance is the primary payer responsible for charges under 
subsection 1 and the insurer providing individual health 
insurance is the secondary payer. 
 
 4.  Application.     The requirements of this section apply to all 
policies, contracts and certificates executed, delivered, issued for 
delivery, continued or renewed on or after January 1, 2015 in this 
State. For purposes of this section, all contracts are deemed to be 
renewed no later than the next yearly anniversary of the contract 
date. 

☐  

Independent Practice 
Dental Hygienists 

24-A M.R.S.A. 
§2847-Q 

 
§2765 

 

Coverage must be provided for dental services performed by a 
licensed independent practice dental hygienist when those 
services are covered services under the contract and when they 
are within the lawful scope of practice of the independent 
practice dental hygienist. 

☐  

Network approval  24-A M.R.S.A. All managed care arrangements except MEWAs must be filed for 
adequacy & compliance with Rule 850 & Rule 360 access 

☐  
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§2673-A, Rule 360 

Rule 850  

standards. 

GENERAL DENTAL SERVICES/COVERAGE 

Emergency services   24-A M.R.S.A. 
§2847-A 

§2749-A 

No prior authorization can be required for emergency services. ☐  

Pediatric Dental PHSA §2707 
 

45 CFR §155.1065 
(a)(3) 

Stand-Alone dental plans are only required to provide coverage 
for pediatric dental essential health benefits. 
 
Please demonstrate compliance with dental benefits pursuant to 
the FEDVIP plan by completing the Benchmark Pediatric Dental 
checklist using the FEDVIP Benchmark Plan Benefits Chart for 
specific coverage information. 

☐  


