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STATE OF MAINE
DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL AND FINANCIAL REGULATION
BUREAU OF INSURANCE

In re: |

| LICENSE REVOCATION
Christopher Kopatz | NOTICE, ORDER,

| and
National Producer No. 8077943 | OPPORTUNITY FOR
Maine License No. PRN212596 | HEARING

|

Docket No. INS-15-203

NOTICE TO CHRISTOPHER KOPATZ:

Effective as of March 24, 2015, your Maine nonresident insurance producer license will
be REVOKED without further formal proceedings unless you request a hearing as
specified below.

The reasons for license revocation are as follows:

1. On September 13, 2013, the State of California issued an Order of Denial of
Unrestricted License and for Issuance of Restricted License, based on your 2010
conviction for operating under the influence.

2. On April 14, 2014, the Commonwealth of Virginia revoked your non-resident
producer license because you failed to report the California action. The Virginia
revocation constitutes grounds for revocation of your Maine license under 24-A
M.R.S. § 1420-K(1)(B), for violating insurance laws, and § 1420-K(1)(I), for
having an insurance producer license, or its equivalent, denied, suspended, or
revoked in any other state, province, district, or territory.

3. On September 4, 2014, the State of lowa revoked your non-resident producer
license and imposed a fine of $1,000 against you for your failure to report the
Virginia action and failure to notify the Division of an address change. The Iowa
revocation and fine constitute grounds for revocation of your Maine license under
24-A M.R.S. § 1420-K(1)(B), for violating insurance laws, and § 1420-K(1)(I),
for having an insurance producer license, or its equivalent, denied, suspended, or
revoked in any other state, province, district, or territory.

4. On June 24, 2014, the State of Arkansas revoked your non-resident producer
license for your failure to report the Virginia action. The Arkansas revocation
constitutes grounds for revocation of your Maine license under 24-A M.R.S. §
1420-K(1)(B), for violating insurance laws, and § 1420-K(1)(I), for having an
insurance producer license, or its equivalent, denied, suspended, or revoked in any
other state, province, district, or territory.
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5. On July 11, 2014, the State of Utah imposed an administrative forfeiture of $500
against you because you failed to submit a timely response to an inquiry from the
Commissioner. The Utah penalty constitutes grounds for revocation of your
Maine license under 24-A M.R.S. § 1420-K(1)(B), for violating insurance laws.

6. On December 16, 2014, the State of Kansas revoked your non-resident producer
license for (i) providing false or incomplete information on your license
application; (i1) the license revocations in other jurisdictions: and (iii) your failure
to report the administrative actions taken against you in other states. The Kansas
revocation constitutes grounds for revocation of your Maine license under 24-A
M.R.S. § 1420-K(1)(B), for violating insurance laws, and § 1420-K(1)(), for
having an insurance producer license, or its equivalent, denied, suspended, or
revoked in any other state, province, district, or territory.

7. You failed to timely report any of the six administrative actions taken against you
described hereinabove to the Maine Superintendent of Insurance as required by
24-A ML.R.S. § 1420-P(1), which also constitutes grounds for revocation of your
Maine license under 24-A M.R.S. § 1420-K(1)(B), for violating insurance laws.

Therefore, based upon the above grounds, your Maine insurance producer license is
revoked as of March 24, 2015, pursuant to 24-A M.R.S. §§1417 and 1420-K, subject to
your right to request a hearing.

Under the Maine Insurance Code, specifically 24-A ML.R.S. §1417 and §1420-K| you
have the right to a hearing before the Superintendent or his designee. If you request
a hearing, you will have the right to present evidence and arguments in your
defense, and the staff of the Bureau of Insurance will bear the burden of proving
each violation by a preponderance of evidence.

If you request a hearing, you will receive further communication regarding
scheduling. The matters to be determined through the hearing process are whether
you committed one or more of the violations listed above, and if so, the appropriate
sanctions for those violations. The sanctions imposed after a hearing can include
any available remedy under applicable laws, including the payment of civil
penalties.

To request a hearing, you must notify the Bureau of Insurance in writing no later
than March 24, 2015. If you do not file a written request for a hearing within 30
days from the time you knew or reasonably should have knovwn of the revocation of
your license through this Notice and Order, you will lose your right to request a
hearing on this license revocation Notice and Order.
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Any request for a hearing, as well as all other communications regarding this Notice,
Order, and Opportunity for Hearing must be addressed to Bureau Licensing Attorney
Kristina M. Balbo, Bureau of Insurance, #34 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333-
0034 (for US Postal Service deliveries) or 76 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine 04345
(for private carrier deliveries, such as FedEx or UPS). You may also reach Attorney
Balbo by e-mail at kristina.m.balbo@maine.gov or by telephone at (207) 624-8429.

February 17, 2015




