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October 1, 2012
RE:  
Rural Medical Access Program:  July 1, 2011 – June 30, 2012 year


RESPONSE REQUIRED

Dear Physician,

The Rural Medical Access Program (“RMAP”) was created to promote prenatal services in underserved areas of the state.  24-A M.R.S.A. § 6302 states that every physician (practicing in Maine), hospital, and physician’s employer must participate in the RMAP.  Assessments are collected from Maine practicing physicians, hospitals, and physicians’ employers in order to fund the RMAP, which provides premium assistance to physicians who provide prenatal care in rural areas of the State and are deemed eligible per the RMAP statute.

Physicians and hospitals insured by an authorized insurer pay the yearly assessment as part of their billed premium.  You have not been reported by an insurance company as having paid the RMAP assessment.  Therefore, we assume that you were either self-insured, insured through an unauthorized insurer, or insured through a risk retention group and are therefore considered self-insured under this statute in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2012.  As such, you are required by state law to pay a yearly assessment to the RMAP fund.  

This is your notification to make your payment for the July 1, 2011 to June 30, 2012 policy year.  Enclosed is an assessment form to help you do so.  Please complete the assessment form and remit any assessment by November 30, 2012.  Even if you are not required to pay an assessment fee, the assessment form must still be completed and submitted in order to comply with the RMAP.  If you did not practice in Maine during this time period, simply indicate such on the form and send your response.

Instructions for the Calculation of Assessment Due:
1) Locate your appropriate specialty area, class code, and rate class on the attached “Class Group Table”.  Enter your class code and rate class on the assessment form.  For example, if you are a plastic surgeon, locate that specialty on the table and note the corresponding class code of 80156 and rate class of 8.

2) Using the attached “Annual Assessment Determination” table, locate your rate class on the left side and your number of years licensed in Maine along the top to determine your assessment.    For example, a plastic surgeon (rate class 8) licensed for 5 or more years, the assessment would be $216.  If you did not practice in Maine the entire year or you only practiced part-time, the assessment can be prorated.  For example, if you worked three months out of the year you would multiply the assessment by 3/12.  If the assessment is less than $5.00, the assessment is waived.

Please complete the enclosed assessment form and remit payment (make check payable to Rural Medical Access Program) to:




Medical Mutual Insurance Company

RMAP Assessment

One City Center

P.O. Box 15275

Portland, ME  04112-5275

The assessment form must be completed and payment (if required) must be received by November 30, 2012.  Failure to do so may result in civil action and fines up to $2,000 per Title 24-A, M.R.S.A. § 6304(2).  The assessment fee is required to be paid unless you did not practice in the State of Maine during the period of July 1, 2011 to June 30, 2012.

If you have questions, please contact Jane G. Lee at (207)624-8492 or preferably at jane.g.lee@maine.gov.  
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